We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“COWBOYS & INDIANS. YEE-HA!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Autry National Center

Autry National Center
4700 Western Heritage Way, Griffith Park, Los Angeles, CA 90027-1462
323-667-2000
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Autry National Center like an insider
Special Offer
$77*
and up
Go Los Angeles Card
Ranked #28 of 703 things to do in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Activities: Shopping, Dining
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The Autry National Center is a museum dedicated to exploring and sharing the stories, experiences, and perceptions of the diverse peoples of the American West, connecting the past to the present to inspire our shared future. It presents a wide range of exhibitions and public programs, including lectures, film, theater, festivals, family events, and music. Located in Griffith Park, the Autry’s collection of more than 500,000 pieces of art and artifacts, which includes the collection of the Southwest Museum of the American Indian, is one of the largest and most significant in the United States. Come see historical and contemporary exhibits, participate in engaging programs and family activities, and enjoy all the Autry has to offer.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“COWBOYS & INDIANS. YEE-HA!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

A combination of classic American art of the West and movie history as it relates to the Cowboy & Indian genre, the Autrey Museum in Glendale should be a must-see for your out-of-state visitors. Their lovely, intimate theater often presents plays performed by NAFTA, the Native American actors company. This museum complex offers a unique experience for Angelenos and foreigners alike, beautifully presented.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tborden, Public Relations Manager at Autry National Center, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Hi Kris W,
We're glad to see you enjoyed the exhibits in the Imagination gallery and in our downstairs gallery, and that you've seen some of what Native Voices at the Autry, the country's leading Native American theatre company in the country, has to offer. Hope you can catch our First Look readings in September and October!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    160
    81
    11
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
SooooCal
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
38 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Pays Homage to Westerns, Native American History, and More”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

We hadn't been in years, and decided to take the inlaws. Amid school groups learning about animals and cowboys in the wild west is an amazing museum for all ages. A current exhibit shares the Jewish contributions to Los Angeles in the last 150 years. Other exhibits explain the Western movie experience. A beautiful collection of revolvers--from simply serviceable revolvers to high end bejeweled items.

Parking is free, and AAA discounts are available. There is plenty of interactive areas for smaller kids, It's right across from the LA Zoo, so get to Griffith Park early and try to do both.

There is a Farmer's Market on site every Saturday, so we'll definitely be back for that as well.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tborden, Public Relations Manager at Autry National Center, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Hi halobb,
It's good to see you came back to visit after many years. We've certainly been on the move this year, and there are a lot of changes afoot! The "Jews in the Los Angeles Mosaic" exhibition has certainly been very popular. I'm also happy to see you like the Farmers Market. I know they are planning family-friendly activities, so stay tuned!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
“Autry National Center”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

The traveling exhibit about the Chinese coming through Angel Island near San Francisco and the reading done by Native Americans.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burley, Idaho
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Well worth your time if you loe the old west!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

The Gene Autry Museum far outreaches expectations. The layout, exhibits and displays are exceptional. This is the next best thing to the Buffalo Bill Historical Museum in Cody, Wyoming.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester Point
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Not what it use to be”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

Gene Autry would not be happy, I think. As a western movie fan, I am not. When it opened, it was a great museum. Then they merged and today, the movies are lost and it is almost all high brow culture. The exhibit in the big room was dedicated to Hopi Dolls. The movie section has been downsized and even in this downsized area, there are chunks vacant where they are getting ready to add a section on art. The gift shop is pretty much like the museum - little movie stuff and a bunch of other stuff. Will not be going back.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tborden, Public Relations Manager at Autry National Center, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Hi wff5,
I'm sorry you did not enjoy your last visit to the Autry. Yes, things are changing, but we haven't strayed from Gene's vision of an evolving American West. There's still much for fans of the West of legend to see, including the "What is a Western?" movie series, the yearly Day of the Cowboy and Cowgirl festival, and the celebration this month of Gene's birthday. Also, when you visited, our "Western Frontiers: Stories of Fact and Fiction" exhibition had not yet opened. I hope you change your mind and come check it out. I think you will like it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Autry National Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Autry National Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.