We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Western heritage” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Autry National Center

Autry National Center
4700 Western Heritage Way, Griffith Park, Los Angeles, CA 90027-1462
323-667-2000
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Special Offer
$70*
and up
Go Los Angeles Card
Ranked #19 of 310 Attractions in Los Angeles
Type: Museums, History Museums, Specialty Museums, Cultural
Activities: Shopping, Dining
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The Autry National Center is a museum dedicated to exploring and sharing the stories, experiences, and perceptions of the diverse peoples of the American West, connecting the past to the present to inspire our shared future. It presents a wide range of exhibitions and public programs, including lectures, film, theater, festivals, family events, and music. Located in Griffith Park, the Autry’s collection of more than 500,000 pieces of art and artifacts, which includes the collection of the Southwest Museum of the American Indian, is one of the largest and most significant in the United States. Come see historical and contemporary exhibits, participate in engaging programs and family activities, and enjoy all the Autry has to offer.
Palmdale, California
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Western heritage”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

What used to be a museum primarily about the life and career of Gene Autry has evolved into a fascinating presentation of western culture and heritage especially as captured and portrayed in the movies. Great experience for all ages.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    138
    75
    9
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Murrieta, California
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

My daughter took as there as she had been very impressed. Inded it was. At the time her daughter and my grandson were both studying American history in school, the missions etc. Not only were we fasinated, but so were the kids. A great showing of American history, loved it!

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burbank, California
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Very beautiful with so much to see and enjoy. Loved the old filming western set and Michael Jacksons outfits. Recommend Highly.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Cowboys & Country Western Nostalgia”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

I visited during the Hank Williams exhibit. I'm a fan and the exhibit was fascinating. It included Williams' handwritten letters to friends, family & associates. They were unintentionally funny.
Have seen numerous exhibits here. All were excellent

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Effingham, Illinois
Top Contributor
161 reviews 161 reviews
88 attraction reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
135 helpful votes 135 helpful votes
“Historical trove of America's Western Heritage”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We visited the Autry Museum of Western Heritage in November. It is an historical trove of memorabilia with interesting information about the western movie era, and the stars of that era.
There was an exhibit of Indian rugs and Kachina dolls also. America's rodeo heritage was also well represented. We spent a full day here and enjoyed it very much. There was an exhibit of the Chinese influence on the western heritage, which was made even more interesting because I had recently read a book about the Chinese family that was represented in the exhibit.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Autry National Center also viewed

 

Been to Autry National Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Autry National Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.