We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So beautiful and comfortable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Los Angeles

Save Saved
You added The Ritz-Carlton, Los Angeles to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Los Angeles
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   900 West Olympic Blvd., Los Angeles, CA 90015 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Experience LA in Style
Ranked #8 of 323 hotels in Los Angeles
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“So beautiful and comfortable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Loved our room! It was a standard room and was just perfect. Nice bathroom and I especially like the blue glass separating the bathroom from the bedroom. The rooftop pool is gorgeous and would definitely recommend checking it out during your stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    169
    40
    23
    8
    5
See reviews for
53
80
22
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Irvine, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

We booked the hotel because of all the excellent review on the tripadvisor, plus our past experience with Ritz-Carlton. Unfortunately, this is not a Ritz-Carlton standard of service. This Ritz is located on the higher levels of JW Marriott, not sure if they rotate their staff. We have never experienced such a bad service at Ritz.
The only good part is their spa service, I got a prenatal massage, and the service and technique was excellent!
The hotel room was well decorated, but lack of modern technology. For a hotel build in 2010, the electronics they used are outdated. The shower temperature control was loose, so we have to keep on adjusting the water temperature while shower.
We also tried the WP24- overprice Chinese Food. The food quality was terrible because everything was over cooked. The dessert was great!! If you really want to enjoy the view, I would suggest you to sit at their bar area, and order the Yuzu Cheesecake. It was delicious!
In room breakfast was not good, but LA Market breakfast was even worst with bad service. I think going to IHOP will have a better breakfast than eating in the hotel.
When we checked out, I was waiting for the front desk to ask how was our stay, so I can tell him all about our experience. He did not even ask, and he also made a mistake on our final bill.
There are many more nicer hotels in Los Angeles area, this one is just not up to Ritz's standard.
I would not recommend anyone to stay there.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, MO
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
76 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

There is nothing wrong with this hotel but there is also nothing that really wows you about it either. And I guess that's the problem. When I am staying at a Ritz I am looking for that wow experience. For starters there is really no lobby to this hotel. The Ritz takes up floors 22-25 of the Marriott hotel at LA Live. If you want anything you expect to find in a lobby you need to go to the Marriott lobby which is connected to the Ritz "lobby" via a hallway. I had to go to the Marriott for the ATM, for a drink at the bar, and for an appetizer before heading out to dinner. None of this is available at the Ritz. I became so accustomed to going to the Marriott for everything I even started using their concierges even though the Ritz does have a concierge available. The room itself was pretty standard in terms of furnishings, size, and amenities. I just didn't feel it was of 5 star quality. So again, there is nothing wrong with the place but don't go expecting to be blown away. I wish I would have kept my 100,000 points for my two nights stay and got more bang for my points buck elsewhere.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Very nice luxury rooms to the fullest cant beat the ritz we are marriott reward members and really love there hotels especially this one the staff was friendly and helpful when checking in the only thing was the room service was very good our order was not correct. Other than that nice comfy beds and a beautiful view over looking the city and we loved the steam shower bath tub.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

I just called the Ritz for my buddy who will be staying at the hotel with his family, 3 rooms in August. My buddy want me to explore the different options he has because he didn't make the reservation and it's a special, they are celebrating their 20 year anniversary with the family. I want to say that the attitude that I just received from Mike in reservation was not one that I'm not used to as a ritz carlton client/guest! I explain to him that's it will be his 20 anniversary and they want it to be special wanted to know a few things about the hotel and different room options a, my concerns that's its a Marriott , he didn't care!!! I'm speechless ! I'm the one that told him he can't go wrong with the Ritz, wow , I'm going to tell him what just happened and have him reconsider his stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County, California
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

We were lucky enough to stay at the Ritz at LA Live for the third time for a company event. As with our prior two stays, the hotel was excellent. (Check out my prior reviews of the hotel for lots of details.)

If you take nothing else away from the reviews, take the advice of adding Club Lounge access to your stay. It is definitely worth it to have such a wonderful place to hang out during down time, not to mention the food and drinks.

This trip, we were able to take advantage of the spa and it was also fabulous.

My only incredibly small criticism is that we didn't like the shower head - not enough water pressure!

But other than that, we loved the hotel yet again and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyvale, California
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Anytime you stay at a Ritz you already walk in with very very high expectations. Yet you still find yourself saying WOW during your stay and our trip to the Ritz in LA was no different. The check in desk is very unassuming. A simple counter with two people. A quick ride up the elevator to the club level on the 23rd floor and the room is amazing. Great views comfortable beds and great showers .the club lounge is a must at every Ritz. At every turn someone is there to answer questions and get anything you need. There is no huge lobby with gift shops and bars so if that is what you want you might want to stay at the JW next door. Much of the building are residences so its rather Lis profile.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for club access!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Los Angeles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Los Angeles

Address: 900 West Olympic Blvd., Los Angeles, CA 90015
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
#4 Luxury Hotel in Los Angeles
#4 Spa Hotel in Los Angeles
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Los Angeles
#9 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#15 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Los Angeles 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Marriott, Orbitz, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Los Angeles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton, Los Angeles Hotel Los Angeles

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ritz-Carlton, Los Angeles, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.