We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another WOW experience!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Los Angeles

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Ritz-Carlton, Los Angeles to your Saves list
The Ritz-Carlton, Los Angeles
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   900 West Olympic Blvd., Los Angeles, CA 90015 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary Breakfast
Ranked #8 of 328 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sunnyvale, California
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Another WOW experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Anytime you stay at a Ritz you already walk in with very very high expectations. Yet you still find yourself saying WOW during your stay and our trip to the Ritz in LA was no different. The check in desk is very unassuming. A simple counter with two people. A quick ride up the elevator to the club level on the 23rd floor and the room is amazing. Great views comfortable beds and great showers .the club lounge is a must at every Ritz. At every turn someone is there to answer questions and get anything you need. There is no huge lobby with gift shops and bars so if that is what you want you might want to stay at the JW next door. Much of the building are residences so its rather Lis profile.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for club access!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    200
    54
    25
    9
    6
See reviews for
65
92
29
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orange, California
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
227 helpful votes 227 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Needed a respite from our hectic, work intensive, not enough fun life, and the Ritz was the perfect antidote. Spent a night on the club level Memorial Day weekend just to recharge and the Ritz let us do exactly that.

Club level is wonderful; excellent food presentations throughout the day (best at breakfast and lunch), along with good wine offerings and cocktails in the evening. Service was exceptional. Obviously servers on the Ritz club level are the best of the best. Just a fantastic experience.

Rooms are beautiful, our standard club king room was sleek and gorgeous, with a beautiful bathroom...
Beds are comfortable, rooms quiet and tranquil. Excellent housekeeping.

Would absolutely return. Of the other 5 star hotels in LA I've stayed at (Peninsula, Beverly Hills Hotel...), Ritz (on the club level) is my favorite.

Hope to return...

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harvard, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Overall experience is you feel at comfort from the time you walk in the lobby and then your beautiful room.
The Ritz offers the best of everything for your stay, I truly did not want to leave the hotel to go to my meetings for work.
Treated myself to a afternoon at the spa which was truly relaxing .
Everyone needs to experience a Ritz-Carlton !!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

I love Ritz Carlton hotels. However, this is a different type of hotel. This Ritz Carlton doesn't feel like a Ritz Carlton in a traditional sense. It seems like a few floors of a Ritz Carlton on top of a very large JW Marriott and residential building, which I'm sure are Ritz Carlton residences. The lobby is very small, with one person at the front desk and then a separate small desk and chair for someone else. There is no lobby, per se, like in traditional hotels. But, if you walk through a small coridor, you are then in the beautiful and immense lobby of the JW Marriott. Lot's of stuff going on there! The room itself is nice, but certainly different. There really is a bath room. Yes, two words, because it is a large room and in it the bath and shower. Great bath, great shower. Very comfortable bed. Desk not against the wall, but more free form in the room with a bankette against the window. Check in service was very good. We didn't interact with many other service personnel. Room service was only fair quality- but the entire hotel was packed from a large event going on at the JW Marriott and I sense room service was slammed late at night. If you're looking for a true Ritz Carlton 5 star property with services and ammenties galore, I would have to suggest this isn't the property for you. I think the JW Marriott attached to the Ritz Carlton would be a great option for that type of experience. There was nothing wrong with this property, it's just not the traditional Ritz Carlton.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Champaign, Illinois
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013 via mobile

We just spent two nights here. This s a beautiful hotel with a great location at LA Live. Service is outstanding. The rooms are spacious with a wonderful contemporary feel. The club level lounge is awesome with great service and food options. We will definitely return on our next trip to LA.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

The huge space of the Ritz and Marriott Lobby is so wonderfully welcoming and relaxing. Just stop in for a coffee or a drink with your friends and you'll know what I mean.

The rooms at the Ritz are out of this world. Celebrated my 35th bday there and it was a blast. Great Wolfgang place at the top with wonderful, romantic seating and yummy asian take on food tapas. The suite was about $400. Huge! Everything out of this world. Furniture, decor, food, service was World Class obviously. So close to all the things downtown LA.
I'd stay here again and again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

We spent a week in the Los Angeles area, and I was adamant that I wanted to find somewhere "centrally" located to everywhere we needed to go. Downtown was the only place that fit the bill. I had initially booked the JW Marriott, but I changed to the Ritz Carlton at the last minute, and I'm glad I did.

When we arrived extremely late, they were waiting on us and knew who we are. We did park our car across the street in a surface lot because my boyfriend hates waiting for valet. Our room was standard with views of the Hollywood sign in the distance. The room was inviting, well appointed, and they had left chocolate covered strawberries in anticipation of our arrival. We didn't hear any noise from surrounding rooms or other guests.

The bathroom was large with separate toilet room, a stand up rain shower, and a large soaking tub. I love Ritz Carlton tubs. The rain shower was nice, too. I prefer the smaller enclosed showers, but it had good water pressure and temperature control.

Housekeeping was efficient and our room was always serviced by the time we returned. Turndown service was always done promptly while we were away, too. We didn't order room service, but we did visit the club lounge for breakfast every morning and dessert every evening. They had plenty of food and a staff member always willing to help out with destination recommendations.

I only visited the spa shop, but they were friendly. Love the bath bombs in the gigantic tub. We did enjoy the rooftop pool, and it was deserted every evening. They brought out robes and towels for us and even kept the bubbles going in the hot tub. The work out room was huge and well appointed, too. They keep it stocked with cold water, earphones and towels.

We walked over to the JW one night looking for a gift shop (neither hotel has one), and it was so much more bustling. Definitely a conference hotel and a younger vibe. I'm glad we went with the Ritz, just because I definitely needed some R&R. The area around the Staples Center is bustling in the evenings - well lit. We even walked down to a grocery store one evening and felt pretty safe. There are plenty of restaurants and a movie theater within walking distance.

Overall, this hotel delivered exactly what I would have expected - unobtrusive service, comfortable rooms, and a peaceful respite. The location was great, too. We were able to get everywhere from the Inland Empire to Ventura without any issues - just have to time it just right, as with any trip in the LA area.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Los Angeles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Los Angeles

Address: 900 West Olympic Blvd., Los Angeles, CA 90015
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Los Angeles
#4 Spa Hotel in Los Angeles
#4 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
#7 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#10 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Los Angeles 5*
Number of rooms: 123
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Travelocity, Hotel.de, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Los Angeles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton, Los Angeles Hotel Los Angeles

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ritz-Carlton, Los Angeles, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.