We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great and luxurious hotel. Not great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Los Angeles

Save Saved
You added The Ritz-Carlton, Los Angeles to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Los Angeles
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   900 West Olympic Blvd., Los Angeles, CA 90015 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Experience LA in Style
Ranked #8 of 323 hotels in Los Angeles
Florida
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Great and luxurious hotel. Not great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

This hotel has ver ample an equisitely decorated room. Very comfortable beds.
Incredible marble bathroom. Incredible price value. The service was excellent.
We came to this hotel because we decided to extend our stay in the intercontineltal in century city, which is also very nice but not comparable. The ritz in more modern styled, everything looked and even smelled new.

The only disadvantage is the location.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    169
    40
    23
    8
    5
See reviews for
53
80
22
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chesterfield, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

The facility was marvelous, service was immaculate. The room were nice and spacious, updated furniture and appliances. The customer service was impeccable, and very helpful with helping to plan other activities around the area. It was in a good location close to other activities within walking distance ex. ESPN, Staples center, outdoor skating rink, Lopez nightclub Ralph's grocery store). It was great place to feel special and very comfortable. The only problem I had I could not get my laptop to work while in the room, but it worked outside of the room. Loved the Robe provided in the room.

Room Tip: corner rooms have more space and set up different than the other rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

When the children are away the parents must play....
This place is top notch. The attention to detail was great and the customer service was impeccable.
What beautiful getaway for a night on the town. A great place to take your wife to feel special.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

The service of The Ritz Carlton in Los Angeles is great, from the minute you walk in to the moment you leave. The rooms are nice and spacious, the bed in comfortable and the bathroom is OK. The gym is great, modern with a great view of LA. What this hotel needs is a Lobby. When you walk inn it is a very small lobby, like the size of an apartment lobby. It feels they built a Marriott Andes an after thought, they decided to have a side entrance to their luxury brand hotel.(Ritz Carlton).

Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

When I travel for business Ritz never lets me down. Although this is my second time at this hotel this is my first time reviewing it. I did not get an upgraded room which I have come to expect from RItz but due to the convention in town it was understandable. Hopefully next time it will be different. My stay was awesome, bed was super comfortable and even though it was a basic room it was well appointed and not to small. I did stay on the Club level and the lounge was the top of the top. Food was excellent and the service was excellent. I told one person my name when I entered and then every staff member used my name to address me thereon in and same thing in the morning when I returned for breakfast. If get a club level room, do not miss Breakfast. Great selection of food and deserts!

Room Tip: Basic rooms are ok, but highly recommend the club level rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Room decor is very bright and modern. Shower and bathroom are top notch.

Only complaint is that the bed seemed kinda cheap, although maybe this was because I stayed in a room with 2 beds. The bed felt very springy and they tried to cover this up by using thick padding over the mattress.

Gym is very well equipped.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Encinitas, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

Although I have been to LA many times, I have only been to downtown a couple of times. My Mom and I were traveling to our vacation house in the central coast area and I decided to go up on the train to LA for the night and have her pick me up the next day.

I looked at other hotels in west LA, but I decided those were too far from the train station and I wanted to see downtown. I was in a very bad mood as the campaign I worked so hard on....lost. I wanted an escape.

I got the executive king club level....and the club level is not like your usual one. The food is varied, amazing and the selection is huge as is the selection for drinks. I don't drink alcohol that much, so often times I'm bored with what there is to drink. But they had some really rare/special ginger ale that was amazing.

I arrived on a drizzly/brisk/ugly day and so was unable to use the rooftop pool, which I wanted to do. I saw it the following day after the storm blew through and it was one of those rare LA days where you could see forever.

From the club lounge, you could see the hollywood sign, the mountains and the surrounding area. The exercise room had a similarly great view and the gym itself was immaculate with great equipment and well stocked with everything (even headphones with each treadmill...a nice touch, given that some people might not have them).

The room itself was fantastic. I had high expectations for the executive king room on the club level at the Ritz in LA....the room is nicely sized, but the bathroom is killer with a large marble shower and a huge bathtub and it was great. The club level was beyond worth it and the breakfast the next morning was great and it was just a nice place to come down to relax. I talked with a nice couple there and I was in there multiple times both days and the staff was fantastic.

I came in looking like a mess because my credit card didn't work at first and finally I got up there and basically ate dinner and the staff was great. Getting me drinks, offering me whatever I wanted. The staff in general was so helpful and I didn't look like a "ritz traveler" and look quite young, yet they treated me great. room service at 2am was fantastic as can be expected.

and a big hat tip to the woman who sits at the desk in the small lobby ( concierge ?) and she got me in to the new james bond movie at 8 when she said everyone was going to see it at midnight. it was so nice of her.

The stay was too short, but the Ritz lived up to its high expectations and the staff is really what sets this hotel apart. The management should be especially proud of its club level staff, who were polite, professional and helpful.

A fantastic stay and although I don't really have a reason to be in downtown LA again, I highly recommend this hotel to anyone staying in downtown. And you can be sure that the Ritz is always at the top of the list when it comes to hotels!

The one in LA is no exception.

Room Tip: club level is great
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Los Angeles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Los Angeles

Address: 900 West Olympic Blvd., Los Angeles, CA 90015
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Los Angeles
#4 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
#4 Spa Hotel in Los Angeles
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Los Angeles
#9 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#15 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Los Angeles 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Marriott, Orbitz, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Los Angeles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton, Los Angeles Hotel Los Angeles

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ritz-Carlton, Los Angeles, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.