We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“COCKROACHES” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Value Inn

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Value Inn to your Saves list
Value Inn
2.0 of 5 Inn   |   5200 W. Sunset Blvd, Los Angeles, CA 90027 (Hollywood)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 85 Los Angeles B&B and Inns
1 review
“COCKROACHES”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2015

This place has the bare minimum, no microwave (minifridge available). Towels are dirty and place is filled with dust. most importantly there are cockroaches!!!!!!! Spend a few more dollars or travel a bit farther for a better night's stay.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    4
    3
    5
    2
See reviews for
3
4
2
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2015

This Motel is directly in Little Armenia at the Sunset Blvd., only a few minutes by car to the Griffith Observatory. This area is very busy, bars, Restaurants and Shops Close by. the staff was very friendly and helpful. I was allowed to decide in which room i wanted to stay by myself. I took a Smoking room, because it was on the ground floor and it didn't smell after smoke. Free Wi-Fi and free parking in the inner courtyard was included. the rooms were nice and clean, coffee machine, fridge and microwave available. the very busy Sunset Blvd. couldn't be heard in my room.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2015

My review may be a little skewed having stayed mainly in budget hostels up until now, but I actually found this place really good value for money.

Okay, firstly, do not try walking here from the airport as I did (it's a hellish and long, straight walk with no discernible scenic views apart from an ugly multilane LA highway). Best to find a bus, which I struggled to, or an overpriced taxi.

The motel itself is as you'd expect on the outside, nothing close to fancy, and the reception/dining area a bit ugly, but the room was very clean, with very comfy beds, air con and a big flat screen with a number of channels, perfect for a nights stop off between flights.

You also get the complimentary coffee and tea with kettle, a mini fridge, and the bathroom was big, clean and as good as to be expected. There's the breakfast buffet too - no frills, but does the job.

Overall pretty terrible location (nowt around to do, you'll need a taxi to get to anywhere interesting), but as far as one off stop offs between A and B go, I found this to be a nice, relaxing motel.

Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2014

There's nothing wrong with dive hotels. They're cool, they're old and they're usually cheap. This place definitely ticked all the dive hotel boxes....and we liked it. The parking was free, the AC blew cold and the water was hot. What's more, the location is great, there was free parking, a refrigerator in the room and High-def programming on the TV! That's right, a flat screen TV with high definition programming in a dive motel! There are hotels that cost 3 times that with a heck of a lot more stars that don't offer high definition programming. I like to watch TV when I travel, and that was a huge plus. The negatives? The towels weren't any good and the only outlet we could readily plug into was in the bathroom. My fiance said she'd bring her own pillow next time, but that's it.

This place is what you think it is. If you keep that in mind, you won't only be satisfied with your stay, but you'll enjoy it. That's why I am giving it an EXCELLENT rating.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

I stayed at this hotel for a couple of nights back in June, I stayed in around 25 hotels during my trip to America and I would say this was the second worst hotel we stayed at.

The reception people didn't speak English very well, the hotel itself was in a good location I'd say as we managed to see everything we wanted to and was all short drives.

The room was small, and my Dad says he saw bugs in the room, it was pretty dirty and there were parts of the matresses under the bed.

If I was going back to LA, I would maybe think about paying a bit more and staying somewhere a little better than this hotel

Room Tip: I don't think the rooms will vary much differently, we had one at the top of the steps but it wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

I stayed there with my husband for a couple of days. We asked for a non-smoking room, yet the room stink so much of cigarette smoke that it was almost unbearable for a non smoker. We were really tired so we decided to stay anyway. The carpet in the room looked really dirty and there was even some chewed gun on the floor behind the bed. The bedding looked old but clean. The room had a small fridge, no microwave or coffee maker. The bathroom looked clean. We only saw one cockroach, not very big and only once. They do have parking for guests, free wi-fi and A/C.

Room Tip: Do not book if afraid of cockroaches.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverly Hills, California
Top Contributor
322 reviews 322 reviews
123 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
498 helpful votes 498 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2011

i stayed just 1 day,and even this was hardly bearable. first of all a weird guy at a reception which was a window in a private apartment where all sorts of strange curry smells would come out from.then,horrible stinking rooms,which i had to change 3 times. then 60 us with coupon haha for a room which should be free,such hideous and stinking it ewas. dirty and really shabby. anything positive? yes, the metrostation sunset and vermont to run away from this freaky place. dont ever go there. you will regret it !!!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Value Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Value Inn

Address: 5200 W. Sunset Blvd, Los Angeles, CA 90027
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Hollywood , Central L.A
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 85 B&Bs / Inns in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Value Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Value Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Value Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.