We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It does for budget, but nothing else” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Value Inn

Save Saved
You added Value Inn to your Saves list
No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Value Inn
2.0 of 5 Inn   |   5200 W. Sunset Blvd, Los Angeles, CA 90027 (Central L.A)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #40 of 77 Los Angeles B&B and Inns
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“It does for budget, but nothing else”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed at this hotel for a couple of nights back in June, I stayed in around 25 hotels during my trip to America and I would say this was the second worst hotel we stayed at.

The reception people didn't speak English very well, the hotel itself was in a good location I'd say as we managed to see everything we wanted to and was all short drives.

The room was small, and my Dad says he saw bugs in the room, it was pretty dirty and there were parts of the matresses under the bed.

If I was going back to LA, I would maybe think about paying a bit more and staying somewhere a little better than this hotel

Room Tip: I don't think the rooms will vary much differently, we had one at the top of the steps but it wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    0
    1
    2
    2
    2
See reviews for
1
2
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

I stayed there with my husband for a couple of days. We asked for a non-smoking room, yet the room stink so much of cigarette smoke that it was almost unbearable for a non smoker. We were really tired so we decided to stay anyway. The carpet in the room looked really dirty and there was even some chewed gun on the floor behind the bed. The bedding looked old but clean. The room had a small fridge, no microwave or coffee maker. The bathroom looked clean. We only saw one cockroach, not very big and only once. They do have parking for guests, free wi-fi and A/C.

Room Tip: Do not book if afraid of cockroaches.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverly Hills, California
Top Contributor
308 reviews 308 reviews
111 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
431 helpful votes 431 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2011

i stayed just 1 day,and even this was hardly bearable. first of all a weird guy at a reception which was a window in a private apartment where all sorts of strange curry smells would come out from.then,horrible stinking rooms,which i had to change 3 times. then 60 us with coupon haha for a room which should be free,such hideous and stinking it ewas. dirty and really shabby. anything positive? yes, the metrostation sunset and vermont to run away from this freaky place. dont ever go there. you will regret it !!!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2010

This hotel is good for a one or two night stay. When I first walked in to the room, it was really smelly. I checked my other friend's room and his was smelly also....I checked for nasty stains, bugs, and anything on the bed and bathroom. The bed sheets seem clean, the pillows were okay, the blanked sucked but so do most hotel blankets. The bathroom was nothing special, just had it's necessities.

This hotel isn't good for kids, just letting some people know. The TV has A LOT of porn channels so just in case you have children be careful!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Value Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Value Inn

Address: 5200 W. Sunset Blvd, Los Angeles, CA 90027
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Central L.A
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Value Inn 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Value Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Value Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.