We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Aesthetically wonderful - good food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bottega Louie

Bottega Louie
700 S. Grand Ave., Los Angeles, CA 90017 (Downtown)
(213) 802-1470
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #39 of 7,999 Restaurants in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $100
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, Contemporary, Bistro, Brasserie, Hungarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Dessert, Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Coffee & Tea, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Neighborhood: Downtown
Springfield, Missouri
Level Contributor
49 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Aesthetically wonderful - good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

It's hip, it's beautifully simplistic, it's trendy and fun. It's a place to be seen and certainly somewhere to try. The sweets counter is exquisite and I wanted to get one of everything. We arrived for a late lunch and found that is was just as crowded at 2 p.m. as it would be at noon. Food was good (nothing spectacular) and our server was gracious and attentive. We had our kids with us and be warned that even though there's no specific menu for them (why would there be), there are plenty of items on the menu that will suite their palatte.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

835 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    412
    313
    77
    26
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Yummy and Beautiful Sweets”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

I visited Bottega Louie in mid June to checkout their beautiful cakes and macaroons. I was not disappointed, their cakes are beautifully displayed with a number of them with fresh fruits on them. I tried the salted caramel macaroon which was lovely. I agree that within the restaurant its quite noisy, but does have a open kitchen and dining area which adds to a nice atmosphere. Busy and buzzing on a Saturday but was worth the visit when in Downtown LA.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
95 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“great space and meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

The bar scene is packed every night. Food is fantastic, from appetizer to entree to dessert. Although the space is elegant, I did not feel out of place in jeans. The crowd was a nice mix of styles and personalities. The pasta and pizzas are delish. Perfect dinner before a show at the Ahmanson. Take a box of dessert to go, and eat it in front of the Ahmanson fountain = PERFECT! Service is very friendly.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Cucamonga, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“The "cool" aspect is lost on kids.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Took the wife and kids for Father's Day. The hip and trendy aspect of the place was lost on the kids. The food is good. Not amazing. The service is really good. And it's priced right for that style of restaurant. It is very loud. The highlight is the sweets and treats. These are outstanding and very good.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Take ME Back to Italia!!! Loved it!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Having been to italy, this food definitely took me back. It's simplistic, yet sophisticated, yet incredible flavors. I was not dissapointed. I went with a few friends on Saturday night and was told the wait was an hour but we were seated in less than 1/2 an hour. We tried their Burrata pizza, Trenne pasta, Modena salad, ceviche, truffled mashed potatos and finished it up with a CHOCOLATE SOUFFLÉ! everything was magnificient. Alot of people say it's just hype but honestly, it's not in my opinion. It's a crowded place, with great food, so if people weren't loving the food and drinks, I doubt this place would still be in business. This is definitely one of my favorite dining places in LA.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bottega Louie also viewed

 
Los Angeles, CA
 

Been to Bottega Louie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bottega Louie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.