We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool place - walking distance to the Wiltern” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Shelter Hotels Los Angeles

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Shelter Hotels Los Angeles to your Saves list
Shelter Hotels Los Angeles
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   457 S. Mariposa Ave., Los Angeles, CA 90020   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #138 of 324 Hotels in Los Angeles
wleasure
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Cool place - walking distance to the Wiltern”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

Came for a concert at the Wiltern on a Friday night. Hotel appears to have been an old apartment complex, but was in a cool little area. No frills, but clean and safe. Plus, free parking and no stupid resort fees. Probably 7 blocks from the Wiltern. Would recommend.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    78
    45
    22
    12
See reviews for
12
107
22
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013 via mobile

We booked a room here to attend a L.A. Kings hockey game as it is only 2.6 miles from Staples Center. What a bargain! For starters, the location is great. Upon arrival ... wait for it ... FREE AND SAFE UNDERGROUND PARKING!! That is a rarity in itself in L.A. The hotel management staff (Jason and Jessica) are super helpful and offered "anything you need just phone us by dialing '0' " and they meant it (ice, hair dryer, extra towels). Our room was large with a huge bed, bathrooms were great with nice bath/shower and new updated sinks. TV had Direct TV with hundreds of channels which was awesome. Easy walk to stores, shops and restaurants, an the LA. subway system but we had the front desk just call us a cab which showed up within 5 minutes. Overall I would rate this hotel a thumb up and will def stay here again. It's not a full service pamper you kind of hotel, but I don't need that and don't need to pay the high price for it. This is a nice, safe, friendly, clean place to stay and that is what is important to me.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

With a name like "Shelter" I was a little hesitant to book our stay here.

We were travelling on a weekend where hotels were booked solid and those that were available were running three times as much. The Shelter Hotel offered a great location and extremely affordable room rate with free parking and WiFi...a rarity anywhere you travel!

Check-in was a breeze. The hotel itself is a no-frills, no-thrills place. Our room (as all rooms) was recently renovated and offered the most basic of amenities. Room was clean, bathroom was clean, and though there was only a standalone dresser/closet, it served its purpose since it's not a long-stay hotel. Turn-down service was available, though we didn't use it, and there was always someone available to run up extra towels, etc. when needed. When we did interact with the staff they were more than accommodating and not overbearing. We really appreciated the vibe of the staff and their help when locked our key in the room or just need suggestions on places in the area to eat.

Location was key. In the heart of K-town we had the luxury of going out and stopping back before heading out again.

In a nutshell, would stay here again!

Room Tip: Elevators were a tad slow but since this isn't a high-rise hotel, the stair well was a piece of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

Big room with a big clean bed, nice TV, air conditioning. Clean bathroom w/ nice shower and sink plus hot water. Nice, friendly staff. Within walking distance to good food, some shopping and the subway. Not far from freeways, LAX is 45 minutes on surface streets. Definitely going back when visiting the LA area, for business or fun.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I would go back. Would never send my mom here.
More like staying in a friend's guestroom than a hotel. The rooms (we had 2 on the 3rd floor) are comfortable, decorated west elm sparse. Yes, it's a cheap quick remodel, so the paint is quite scuffed. Wood floors, no evidence of bedbugs, ac unit in each room, windows open, blackout curtains over blinds that let light in which operate separately. The only noise I experienced was neighbors on balcony across the way when I mistakenly left the window open before sleep. The areas that count and the linens were very clean. I saw some dust in the corner behind the bathroom door but otherwise saw no dead bugs and prob the dirty walls someone else referred to were scuffs.
Neighborhood a bit downscale, but safe. Garage and gate to elevator (ground level) were locked late night/early am with phone number to call desk, which is on 1st floor, aka 2nd floor up.
They had iron & board and hair dryer at request, single cup coffee maker in-room, free bottled water in lobby. Only staff are the front desk person (24 hr) and one or maybe 2 housekeeping in the mornings.

My only gripe is the lack of in-room safe and the 'front desk' obviously had no secure area.
During day and evening, the garage and building is easy access from open door/gate on street. Not sure I'd stay here as a woman alone until they get the security situation more sorted (room key operated gate and door would fix it).

Pros: price, free parking, very central location, laid back atmosphere (dogs, smoking, flexible with late checkout), eventually will have a usable pool, staff mostly very nice, comfortable (king size) bed and pillows (allergic side-sleeper), Free bottled water at front desk (eco suggestion - get dispenser/deliveries and give each room a sealable jug).
Cons: No safes in-room or at desk, not secure during day, Not a "real" hotel if that's what you're looking for - no room service, 10 mins walk to cafe in morning, limited staff.

Room Tip: for more quiet and privacy, get one with window facing the street rather than next door neighbor'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013 via mobile

Unlike pix on the web, place is a dump. I am not one to complain much but this hotel one of the worst I stayed in. I travel a lot and have stayed in some bad places. Specifics: 1. Like many review earlier, hotel room is empty, 2. Room is very loud (paper thin walls and door, I was waken up by alarm from next door), 3. No security and one staff person who is a just a kid with no hotel experience (I would say the kid never stayed in a decent hotel in his life). This hotel is a 2 star at best but more like 1.5. Not worth the money.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OR
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

After reading the other reviews I have to wonder where they stayed.

Pros:
- Location close to downtown
- Comfortable Bed
- Free parking
- No carpeting, laminate
- Nice tub and sink

Cons:
- Dirty walls, Dried dead bugs smashed on walls along with something incredibly distasteful stuck to the wall
- Bathroom had rotting moulding around floor, wall is rotting around tub then poorly patched, then painted. Moulding was filthy, floor needed a good scrubbing.
- View of roof
- Remote did not work
- Poor lighting
- No real lobby or marking to indicate where you check in
- Only 1 washcloth, 1 face towel and 2 towels
- Floor rug had turned up corners which was a trip hazard
- Flooring was badly worn
- No space to set down bathroom items

I absolutely would not recommend this hotel for anyone.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shelter Hotels Los Angeles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shelter Hotels Los Angeles

Address: 457 S. Mariposa Ave., Los Angeles, CA 90020
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Best Value Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Shelter Hotels Los Angeles 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of Los Angeles, two blocks from Wilshire Boulevard, Shelter Los Angeles is a 48-room boutique hotel filled with spacious, comfortable, and soothing rooms. Designed by Lisa Strong, the hotel features contemporary interiors, luxurious bedding, dark hardwood floors, and stylish bathrooms. AMENITIES Welcome Gifts/ Hardwood Floors/ 32” LCD Flat Screen Televisions/ Complimentary High Speed Internet/ Individual High-Definition Receivers with over 100 Television Channels/ I-Home I-Pod Docking Stations ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Shelter Hotels Los Angeles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shelter Hotels Los Angeles Hotel Los Angeles

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shelter Hotels Los Angeles, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.