We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place at a great value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Shelter Hotels Los Angeles

Save Saved
You added Shelter Hotels Los Angeles to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Shelter Hotels Los Angeles
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   457 S. Mariposa Ave., Los Angeles, CA 90020   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #161 of 322 hotels in Los Angeles
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great place at a great value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

Big room with a big clean bed, nice TV, air conditioning. Clean bathroom w/ nice shower and sink plus hot water. Nice, friendly staff. Within walking distance to good food, some shopping and the subway. Not far from freeways, LAX is 45 minutes on surface streets. Definitely going back when visiting the LA area, for business or fun.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    40
    87
    54
    25
    14
See reviews for
10
98
22
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I would go back. Would never send my mom here.
More like staying in a friend's guestroom than a hotel. The rooms (we had 2 on the 3rd floor) are comfortable, decorated west elm sparse. Yes, it's a cheap quick remodel, so the paint is quite scuffed. Wood floors, no evidence of bedbugs, ac unit in each room, windows open, blackout curtains over blinds that let light in which operate separately. The only noise I experienced was neighbors on balcony across the way when I mistakenly left the window open before sleep. The areas that count and the linens were very clean. I saw some dust in the corner behind the bathroom door but otherwise saw no dead bugs and prob the dirty walls someone else referred to were scuffs.
Neighborhood a bit downscale, but safe. Garage and gate to elevator (ground level) were locked late night/early am with phone number to call desk, which is on 1st floor, aka 2nd floor up.
They had iron & board and hair dryer at request, single cup coffee maker in-room, free bottled water in lobby. Only staff are the front desk person (24 hr) and one or maybe 2 housekeeping in the mornings.

My only gripe is the lack of in-room safe and the 'front desk' obviously had no secure area.
During day and evening, the garage and building is easy access from open door/gate on street. Not sure I'd stay here as a woman alone until they get the security situation more sorted (room key operated gate and door would fix it).

Pros: price, free parking, very central location, laid back atmosphere (dogs, smoking, flexible with late checkout), eventually will have a usable pool, staff mostly very nice, comfortable (king size) bed and pillows (allergic side-sleeper), Free bottled water at front desk (eco suggestion - get dispenser/deliveries and give each room a sealable jug).
Cons: No safes in-room or at desk, not secure during day, Not a "real" hotel if that's what you're looking for - no room service, 10 mins walk to cafe in morning, limited staff.

Room Tip: for more quiet and privacy, get one with window facing the street rather than next door neighbor'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013 via mobile

Unlike pix on the web, place is a dump. I am not one to complain much but this hotel one of the worst I stayed in. I travel a lot and have stayed in some bad places. Specifics: 1. Like many review earlier, hotel room is empty, 2. Room is very loud (paper thin walls and door, I was waken up by alarm from next door), 3. No security and one staff person who is a just a kid with no hotel experience (I would say the kid never stayed in a decent hotel in his life). This hotel is a 2 star at best but more like 1.5. Not worth the money.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OR
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

After reading the other reviews I have to wonder where they stayed.

Pros:
- Location close to downtown
- Comfortable Bed
- Free parking
- No carpeting, laminate
- Nice tub and sink

Cons:
- Dirty walls, Dried dead bugs smashed on walls along with something incredibly distasteful stuck to the wall
- Bathroom had rotting moulding around floor, wall is rotting around tub then poorly patched, then painted. Moulding was filthy, floor needed a good scrubbing.
- View of roof
- Remote did not work
- Poor lighting
- No real lobby or marking to indicate where you check in
- Only 1 washcloth, 1 face towel and 2 towels
- Floor rug had turned up corners which was a trip hazard
- Flooring was badly worn
- No space to set down bathroom items

I absolutely would not recommend this hotel for anyone.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

The hotel is conveniently located to just about everything in that part of LA. It's in a residential neighborhood but I walked to Starbucks every morning on Wilshire before I left for meetings. The parking is right under the building. This is not like a national chain, other then someone to check you in and out (who were both very nice) there did not seem to be any other staff. The room was a decent size. There were scrapes on the walls and there was limited furniture but the bed was comfortable and the sheets were clean. The bathroom walls needed to be wiped down but the sink was new and very clean. I've traveled all over the world and stayed in every type of hotel. If you are staying in LA and you want a hotel at a very good price with limited amenities, that is clean and is close to everything then this is your hotel. Did I mention free parking! In LA that mean something. I will most likely stay there again.

Room Tip: I had a room that faced the side street and it was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Al Muharraq, Bahrain
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

The hotel is good for a few nights stay and the staff were very helpful at all times. It's location was very good for us. You get free parking which is very important in LA if you are driving a car. The neighborhood was quite.

Room Tip: I suggest to have your bed sheets changed regularly. I got a few bites when I woke up but I can'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

The rare hotel where the advertised rate you see online is actually the total that you'll pay upon checkout-- no resort fee, no internet fee, no parking fee. An apartment building turned into a hotel in a residential neighborhood, staff is lowkey and proficient. If you are a high maintenance traveller, probably not for you. But if you are in need of an affordable room in LA that doesn't have polyester floral bedspreads and generic beige bathrooms, this place works great.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Shelter Hotels Los Angeles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shelter Hotels Los Angeles

Address: 457 S. Mariposa Ave., Los Angeles, CA 90020
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #161 of 322 hotels in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Shelter Hotels Los Angeles 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of Los Angeles, two blocks from Wilshire Boulevard, Shelter Los Angeles is a 48-room boutique hotel filled with spacious, comfortable, and soothing rooms. Designed by Lisa Strong, the hotel features contemporary interiors, luxurious bedding, dark hardwood floors, and stylish bathrooms. AMENITIES Welcome Gifts/ Hardwood Floors/ 32” LCD Flat Screen Televisions/ Complimentary High Speed Internet/ Individual High-Definition Receivers with over 100 Television Channels/ I-Home I-Pod Docking Stations ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Shelter Hotels Los Angeles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shelter Hotels Los Angeles Hotel Los Angeles

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shelter Hotels Los Angeles, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.