We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous, Hip Property in Amazing Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of W Hollywood

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added W Hollywood to your Saves list
W Hollywood
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6250 Hollywood Blvd, Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA 90028   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #71 of 324 Hotels in Los Angeles
Southern California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Gorgeous, Hip Property in Amazing Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2010

I stayed at the W for a birthday weekend in a Marvelous suite that was "MARVELOUS!" It was sleek and modern, but comfortable. There was ample space, and the bed was sumptuous. The bathroom was large and well-appointed. If you want a taste of the fast-paced world that is Hollywood, this is the place for you!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    479
    315
    174
    87
    69
See reviews for
143
346
97
239
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2010

The hotel does not own the pool here- it is run by drai's nightclub. As a result the pool is jammed early every day with partiers who are not hotel guests but pay for admission. Seating by the pool is impossible to come by unless one shows up at the crack of dawn or is willing to pay $500 minimum for a poolside cabana. Unacceptable and quite depressing on a beautiful summer day. The pool should have separate seating reserved for hotel guests only.

Also, the rooms are the smallest I've seen in any of the newer W properties. They are not even close to what one gets for similar money at the W westwood or SLS hotels. I'll be back at my previous favorites next time I visit LA.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2010

I came here to have a great time and ended up having one of those memories I will never forget. I came mainly to party at the pool on Memorial Day weekend. I was treated like VIP from the moment I arrived with my girlfriend and the rest of the experience was one for the record books. This hotel transports you to a different mind set, one that will have you forget all your worries and elevate your mood to an out of body experience. The ambiance and atmosphere of this hotel is that of a James Bond movie meets lifestyles of the rich and famous. Basically the story goes like this...we arrived, took private elevator with host to pool...entered a world of excitement and fun (aka the pool area)...went straight to the top balcony...hung out next to great people while listening to LMFAO.... partied with LMFAO...then had another celebrity in the cabana next to us. Basically if you want to experience something extraordinary and out of the ordinary I would recommend trying the W Hollywood. If you do you will most definitely want to come back soon. I know I do.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2010

W Hollywood has everything you need in the hotel. You basically never have to leave. The pool area is amazing, the food is great, the bars are all unique and the service is amazing.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2010

-Didn't find the staff particularly friendly or helpful
-Room wasn't ready until about 45minutes after check in time, but they did store our luggage in the meantime
-The women at the concierge desk wasn't helpful at all when I asked about transportation to Disneyland, acted as if it wasn't worth her time to help us
-Location is great, about a 10 minute walk to the Grauman's Chinese Theater & Kodak Theater. On the way there are souvenir shops & restaurants. There are some weird people around that talk to themselves or shout things at you, but I guess it's expected in bigger cities. A little convenience store on the same block as the hotel, great for grabbing a bottle of water for $3.00 verses the $9.00 bottle in the room
-About a $20 cab ride to Universal City
-They had a line up for the pool party but it was off to the side, did not an issue to get back into the hotel at night, they do have the velvet rope and people letting you in or out
-Rooms were fine, the day bed a nice touch, the see through part from the shower into the room is frosted so you just see the persons silhouette, loved the ipod desk and the phone chargers (they have several types in the room, didn't have to get mine out of the suitcase)
-Loved whoever cleaned our room, they lined up all our make-up and hair products, everything was neat and orderly
My overall experience was Ok ... nothing amazing or too horrible about it

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alyskie, General Manager at W Hollywood, responded to this review, June 9, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to write such a succint review. I do apologize you did not leave with a "WOW", however. Clearly not everyone performed optimally on your viist. Be assured I will use your comments as a training tool. I am glad you noticed our ladies in "Style" who serviced your room. They are the backbone of the property and your note is sure to bring some smiles to their faces during our morning line up today. Meantime, I wish you safe travels and hope you'll come see us again. WIth best regards -

Jim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2010 via mobile

Staff here are some of the BEST in the country. Great rooms, great location, great service, and a specatular roof top pool with one of the best views in Los Angeles.....What more could you ask for???? Did I mention the great staff??? We will be back next time we are in LA for sure!

  • Stayed May 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alyskie, Manager at W Hollywood, responded to this review, June 7, 2010
Well hello there Oofc!

We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your W Hollywood experience and that you were well taken care of by our talent!

We will look forward to welcoming you again soon!

Warmest Wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york, ny
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2010

words cannot describe how wonderful a time i had at the w hotel in hollywood. this hotel, being new, obviously had the aesthetics, and i was pleasantly surprised to see that the service matched. the staff was incredible.

i personally loved the "welcome beverage." let me tell you, it's all about the small things!

our suite was ridiculously nice. i felt like a celebrity. was skeptical to stay at a newer hotel, but i honestly wouldn't have known based on how attentive the staff was.

dying to go back. maybe later this year...

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to W Hollywood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W Hollywood

Address: 6250 Hollywood Blvd, Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA 90028
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Los Angeles
#23 Luxury Hotel in Los Angeles
#53 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#59 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — W Hollywood 4*
Number of rooms: 305
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The W Hollywood Hotel is always ready for its close-up at the entertainment capital of the world's epicenter, where glitz, glamour, power shopping, vibrant dining, and cutting-edge style meet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Amex, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your W Hollywood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w Hollywood Hotel Los Angeles

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage W Hollywood, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.