We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A stylish hotel but it misses on the little things” 3 of 5 stars
Review of W Hollywood

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added W Hollywood to your Saves list
W Hollywood
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6250 Hollywood Blvd, Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA 90028   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #71 of 324 Hotels in Los Angeles
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“A stylish hotel but it misses on the little things”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013 via mobile

Like any W, the hotel feels hip and stylish and the place to be. The public space is nice, comfortable and plentiful. The rooms, while on the small size, are clean, comfortable and nicely decorated. The hotel staff is very friendly. But the hotel misses on the small things -- the the small things are often the difference between good and very good. Poor quality towels, low water pressure, sometime a lot of rings on the phone before anyone picks up, and a maintenance worker who knocked on my door at 2:30am thinking I had called to have a leak fixed. Also, they charge for wifi at a time when hotels are increasingly including it for free.

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brad_Wulff, Guest Relations Manager at W Hollywood, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Thank you for staying with us on your recent visit to Hollywood! I am glad to see you enjoyed the design of the property and your room.

I do apologize for the inconvenience with Engineering, I will be sure to share your feedback. We do offer complimentary high speed wireless internet in our Living Room for all of our guests, as well as offering it as an welcome amenity for our SPG Platinum guests.

I hope you think of us again on your next visit to Hollywood.
Sincerely,
Brad W
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    479
    314
    174
    87
    69
See reviews for
143
346
97
239
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
cleveland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Hotel is in a fabulous location on Hollywood and Vine. If you want the Hollywood people watching and tourism experience this place is it.

Got the hotel on priceline so I only paid $149 with tax. Got a great room with two beds on fifth floor and with of the famous window seats. Did not hear noise from street or nightclub. (If you use priceline call in advance to request the room you want.)

Hotel is massive complex with Bliss spa, blo pro blow dry bar, residences and several restaurants. Vegas aesthetic with hollywood glitz.

From the moment we arrived service was amazing. Bags were automatically taken to our room while we went off to Bliss. We arrived back in the room to a wave machine running. They bend over backwards to help you.

Gym is good. Free coffee in morning in front of gift shop in lobby. And pay for the hotel parking. It is a little steep but worth every penny for convenience and safety.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brad_Wulff, Guest Relations Manager at W Hollywood, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Thanks for the review! I am glad to see you loved the location as much as we do! It is really exciting being right in the middle of the action, especially during this amazing transitional period for Hollywood.

I am glad to see you experienced so many of the features of the property, including Bliss Spa!

I hope to welcome you back to Hollywood again soon,

Brad W
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Agreed with most reviewers, you need to have the right mood and attitude to stay in this hotel. Did not get to enjoy the swimming pool as I was there during the colder December month. Also, it is like a nightclub almost every night. During the weekend, in-house guests can't even get access to the rooftop pool as it was transformed into a bar and club where you have to pay to get up there.

Stayed on a SPG Titanium status and got upgraded to a suite. I believe is the Marvellous suite. Nice ambience, nice bed, spacious room and living area plus a large bathroom which is a plus side. But the only down side is it overlooks the side of the hotel overlooking a large public carpark. A suite or room facing Hollywood side would be ideal.

Overall, it is a good stay but not WOW yet. Breakfast service was fine but not great, SPG Titanium status gets free Wifi and daily Fiji water too which is a plus.

Will probably stay at Beverly Hills the next trip to LA.

Room Tip: Book a room / suite overlooking Hollywood side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brad_Wulff, Guest Relations Manager at W Hollywood, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us in Hollywood. We do our best to set guest expectation for the type of property W Hollywood is.

We do our best to provide access to Drai’s to our guests, however access depends on capacity. In addition, we do have reserved lounge chairs at WET for hotel guests during the days as well.
I do hope next time you are looking for a Hollywood experience you think of us!

Sincerely,
Brad W
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cool
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
75 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
137 helpful votes 137 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

This is part of a continuing series of my impressions and experiences staying at various hotels and resorts while traveling to attend concerts worldwide. This review is for the W Hollywood.

Property: W Hollywood
Location: Hollywood, California
Address: 6250 Hollywood Blvd., Hollywood, California 90028
Phone: (323) 798-1300
Website: www.whollywoodhotel.com
Room Type/Class: King Room (Room #1120)
Date: January 31-February 1, 2013
Booking Source: Hotwire
Overall Rating: 4/5 [Note: Score is totally subjective based on price, location, and comparison to "like" properties within same area and price range]

I choose this property due to it's proximity to the Hollywood Palladium, as I was covering a concert there and it is about two blocks away, so a short walk.

This was my first stay at one of the properties in the "W Hotels" collection by Starwood, which are designed to be more trendy/contemporary/luxurious, and geared toward a more... youthful lifestyle.

The property is valet-only at $35 per night.

Check-in was smooth and the staff was excellent.

The room was very clean, and overall pretty impressive. A lot of places for storage of clothes and more.

It definitely caters to the "party" type of guest, with maybe not so kid-friendly flourishes offered on a pay per use basis (alcohol, condoms... oxygen?), as well as high priced snacks. There is an octopus-looking electronics piece on the desk that offers chargers for a number of different brands of cell phone.

The view of my room was okay - inward-looking mostly at other sides of the building.

The bed is comfortable but strangely really, really low to the floor.

I did have after hours room service during the one night of my stay, which was pricey, but good.

I was there just for the concert down the street, so didn't really take advantage to any of the other things the property had to offer.

The location is great for a lot of the Hollywood attractions. I would stay again.

However, I was sent a revised bill after checking out, with an additional $18 in charges which I found to be in error - I wrote back noting this in an e-mail to the address provided and it bounced back in three attempts as an invalid e-mail address.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Fairly new property. Trendy, stylish, clean, great customer service, near subway, reasonably priced for location. Would prefer if WiFi was included in the price of the room. I would not hesitate to stay again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brad_Wulff, Guest Relations Manager at W Hollywood, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Thanks for leaving a review of your recent stay with us! I am glad to see you enjoyed your time with us, and hope to welcome you back again soon.

For next time, we do offer complimentary high speed wireless internet in our Living Room for all of our guests.

Thanks,
Brad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
283 helpful votes 283 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Great location if you want to be in Hollywood. Dark halls, dark elevator. Club vibe everywhere. Felt like I was actually staying IN a club. Cool lighting throughout. Instead of doors in some places, they have curtains. Very interesting. Party people everywhere. Helped a super friendly guy in the elevator because he could not press his floor as he had a drink in each hand! (This was a Thursday night)

When I arrived at 4pm, the hall had what looked like breakfast room service trays rotting in the halls. Gross. But otherwise, the place seemed really clean.

Rooms were, well, Hollywood. Almost like sleeping in a gift shop. The amount of alcohol for sale on the counters in the room was pretty enticing, especially if you want to spend 5x the actual cost. One shelf was filled with lots of tasty, expensive snacks.

If you are the type who loves to pay $5 for a bottle of water, this is your place! They are everywhere in the room. Everywhere. They do give you a free bottle of the cheap water though, hidden behind one of the $5 ones. If you do not like paying extra for water, maybe you want to pay extra for oxygen. They have oxygen you can buy. It’s true. It is mixed in with the snacks. No joke.

$500 hold on my credit card? Nobody told me they were going to do that. That is sort of steep. I suppose sleeping in the middle of a gift shop, they want to be sure you don’t skip town without paying for that $45 bottle of Makers you tried to take a sip of and put the top back on? $500 is too high a hold.

Great coffee maker in the room! Kidding, they don’t have one in the room. I have stayed at countless hotels and this is the first time I have not had a coffee maker in the room!

TWITTER ALERT: I posted that it was LAME not to have a coffee maker in the room at the W, Hollywood. To my surprise, 15 minutes later, I received a phone call from the front desk asking me if I wanted them to bring up a coffee maker. That was cool! (I said no because I was embarrassed). I then posted on Twitter that I would like $1,000,000 and they sent me a shout out, on Twitter, telling me that was not going to happen. Seriously. I am not making this up.

Super clean room. AWESOME, comfy, low to the floor bed.

Shower was THE BEST! The shower-head was HUGE and I was very impressed. Loved the shower products and lotion enough to take them home for the wife. Wish they had a bathtub in the room as well. Not the SHOWER/BATH thing, just a separate bath. Very good towels. Thick.

If you ever wanted to have someone watch you take a shower, this is the place! There is pretty much a body window in the shower, so if you are sharing the room, be prepared.

**Walk down the street to Blue Palms Brewhouse if you like beer and good food. Tell Brian I sent you.

I did not park a car here, but I can imagine the parking fee to be somewhere around $400/night?Or maybe $45.

I would for SURE stay here again for $118/night. For $200+ no. Maybe if I was single and trying to impress a female, I would pay over $200/night.

I also would not stay here with my family. Not a family type place, unless you want your kids to grow up thinking clubbing is cool at 40.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Great hotel, great loction. As all W hotels, glitzy, flashy and loud. You really need to be in right mood to stay here otherwise, atmosphere and attitude of ppl around will seriousely put you off...
We stayed for one night. Enough... apart of the Weels and bell service, we got snooty attitude from the rest of staff and were looked up and down before any interaction.
Room was great as always, just not sure about the white on white decor? But loved window seat and bathroom.
Make sure you take a walk across the bridge all the way to the top of the grand staircase, pretty impressive and with amazing view of the lobby.
Hotel is in walking distance to all attractions, with rooftop pool and the bar which looks like you need a month in advance reservation and platinum card to be allowed to.

Room Tip: Not to close to the top, unless you love to party till 5am.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brad_Wulff, Guest Relations Manager at W Hollywood, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Hello, and thank you for the review! We appreciate any chance for feedback we can receive from our guests. You are absolutely correct, and we do our best to let our guests know that W Hollywood is indeed a very high energy and adult experience.

I am sorry to see that you felt anything but graciousness from our Talent, we do our best to provide amazing service to each person who arrives.

I hope next time you are looking for a truly Hollywood experience you think of us!

Sincerely,
Brad W
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to W Hollywood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W Hollywood

Address: 6250 Hollywood Blvd, Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA 90028
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Los Angeles
#23 Luxury Hotel in Los Angeles
#53 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#59 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — W Hollywood 4*
Number of rooms: 305
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The W Hollywood Hotel is always ready for its close-up at the entertainment capital of the world's epicenter, where glitz, glamour, power shopping, vibrant dining, and cutting-edge style meet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Amex, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your W Hollywood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w Hollywood Hotel Los Angeles

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage W Hollywood, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.