We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Felt like they'd shot an x rated movie in my room the night before” 3 of 5 stars
Review of W Hollywood

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added W Hollywood to your Saves list
W Hollywood
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6250 Hollywood Blvd, Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA 90028   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #71 of 324 Hotels in Los Angeles
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Felt like they'd shot an x rated movie in my room the night before”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

Having stayed at the W in Sydney and heard rave reviews about W New York, I was looking forward to my 4 night business stay at this reputed hip and trendy hotel. Unfortunately my stay lived up to that moniker with nothing more. I tried out 3 different rooms before I settled on one I thought I could put up with (I.e vaguely clean, an outlook other than a brick wall / air conditioning unit, no cigarette burns in the faux leather furniture, some natural light). The room was not at all the purported old school Hollywood glamour but more porn star tack. The staff however were quite attentive and the food surprisingly good. Private parties on 3 out of the 4 nights precluded me from enjoying the hotels best assets - the pool bar and club, and the unsafe locale left me feeling a little imprisoned. I'm returning to LA in a couple of months and I absolutely wouldn't come back.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
w_hollywood_10, General Manager at W Hollywood, responded to this review, June 14, 2011
I am so sorry that you did not enjoy the room decor. The inspiration was drawn from a famous photograph taken of Jean Harlow back in the 20s, along with a nod to the rat pack of the 60s. Design, as you are aware, is always subjective and while we have had rave reviews from many people on our interiors, I do respect those that feel it is not for them. That being said - please do give us another shot at WOWing you - if you contact me directly I will assure you that you will leave with a very different impression. I'm very committed to guest service and wish to turn this around for you.

Warmly,

Jim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    479
    315
    174
    87
    69
See reviews for
143
346
97
239
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2011

This hotel was our last stop before coming home. It was the most expensive and hence supposed to be the best! I was travelling with my wife and my mother visiting our extended family in the US. We were booked (and double checked) months in advance to be in a double Queen room. Instead we were sent up to our "King" single room!! No apology, no offer to change rooms. My options were simply "sleep between my mother and my wife!" (not a pleasant thought!) or "sleep on the window sill or floor"!!!
For the most expensive hotel it was without doubt the WORST experience ever and I would certainly advise anyone wanting to spend their money on a nice hotel to look elsewhere!

Room Tip: don't go here at all!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
w_hollywood_10, General Manager at W Hollywood, responded to this review, June 14, 2011
First off, let me begin by apologizing for what appears to be a really uncomfortable night. I am certainly apalled that we could not offer better accommodation. Second, I would love to speak with you personally - at times with tour companies this past year reservations simply do not match up to what the guest expects and what the hotel has on record. Clearly, this puts everyone in an less than ideal situation. That being said, we are very committed to service here and I hope we have the opportunity to turn this around for you.

Warm regards -

Jim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, AZ
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2011

Stayed at the W on a Sunday night for a quick girlfriends getaway. We had heard the W was THEE place to stay in Hollywood. We were also told the service could be very snotty but decided to book there anyways. Thankfully all the employees we encountered were very friendly and happy to give suggestions on where to go etc. (Anthony, our bell captain who helped us with loads of luggage was especially welcoming). Our room was small and despite being on the 11th floor the view wasn't good, it overlooked a rooftop. For $300+ a night I guess I was expecting a little more from the room. It was very stark, cramped and typical (although the beds were wonderful). Anyways, after checking in we were excited to put on our suits and head up to the pool. But, then found out they were charging $20 per person cover charge to use the pool, yes, even for hotel guests. That's just crazy and had we known ahead of time we probably would have booked elsewhere. There was also no lounges available so our visions of lounging poolside, reading magazines and drinking girly cocktails were crushed and we just headed out to explore instead. Parking at the hotel is $35 (plus tax) and maybe that's the going rate for Hollywood but it seemed like the hotel was trying to nickel and dime every chance it got (even a charge for wi-fi). That night the lobby bar was going strong and had an amazing jazz group playing. They were cabaret style and super fun. We checked out the following morning and headed to the beach where we could actually catch some rays. So long story short, If you're ever in Hollywood on a Sunday night I highly recommend you head to the W for the jazz performance. But if lounging by the pool is part of your plans you may want to stay elsewhere.

P.S. Had an amazing dinner at Cleo across the street and there is also an irish pub across the street with $3 (premium) pints all day and night.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neuilly sur Seine
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2011

...unless you watt to go party every night from Thursday to Sunday. This is The Hangover, meets Spring Break. Watch your step on Saturday night when you want to go back to tour room : you may encounter very easy young girls or walk in disgusting substances on the floor. Saturday afternoon on the top floor with swimming pool is just a sort of MTV beach party with a DJ and girls dancing around. That is a real social experience of some American way of living I guess.

Hotel is very noisy as you can imagine. Room service is just terrible : they just cannot get the right order. 3 times wrong out of 5 .
Car valet ... Nice guys but amateurs. They need more than 15 minutes to bring one car. One advise, call from your room in advance !
You have to pay for wi-fi in your room. Water bottles are not complementary either.

I doubt I would go back there again.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
w_hollywood_10, General Manager at W Hollywood, responded to this review, June 10, 2011
Please accept my most sincere apology! Your experience is not the norm here, I assure you, and I've already fired off an e-mail to all requisite personnel. A good nights sleep, cleaniliness, and getting the room service order right the first time are just the basics. Please contact me directly as I truly want to make this up to you.

Best -

Jim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2011 via mobile

What can I say, this hotel came at the end of a wonderful Highway 1 road trip for my wife and I. We got a great deal on price, but having stayed in hotels of this (apparent) standard before, we had certain expectations. Many of these were not met, so here's a summary of them.

Location: a hotel of this standard would be expected to be in a nice location. Don't be misled, the W is not in the cleaner, nicer West Hollywood area, but in the run down area of Hollywood Blvd, about a mile from the main Hollywood bustle. If you're into smoke shops, 'adult' shops and tattoo parlors, this is for you. If not, you may not (like us) enjoy the area so much. Surprising therefore that a 'designer' hotel would be located in this part of the city...in fact, we did not like the atmosphere outside of the hotel complex after dark.

The hotel complex: nice restaurants and bar areas (if you're happy to pay $15 upwards for a drink) but full of wannabe types and those who reckon it looks good to be seen in this place. We were unimpressed by this. Compared to hotels such as the Gamercy Park in New York this one seemed to try too hard to be something it wasn't.

Rooms: nice room, not massive, but had a nice look and feel, retro-futuristic design. We really liked the room. We had a courtyard view, which was nicer than the view onto a parking lot or the rather run down hollywood and vine area. Also this aspect meant it was quiet at night,so we got good sleep.

Cleanliness: we couldn't honestly say whether our room was actually serviced or not. If it was, it was certainly a rushed job!

Overall, nice rooms, wrong location, a hotel which attracts wanabe A-listers, but tries too hard to be something the location won't allow it to be. A good 3-star hotel at best, with some good price deals at the moment. Just don't expect the same feel as Sunset Blvd or West hollywood here!

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
w_hollywood_10, General Manager at W Hollywood, responded to this review, June 15, 2011
I truly apologize that you did not leave feeling this was a quality experience. We work very hard on the WOW factor for all our guests and it is dissapointing to see that not reflected in your comments. I do wish to point out that our location is in a very up and coming part of Los Angeles - in fact, we were featured in this weekend's New York TIimes travel section! It feels much more like a true city experience here, and we boast some of the best clubs, restaurants, and entertainment venues in LA. The surrounding area is rich in history, from the Walk of Fame right outside our front door, to the Palladium Theater, just down the street, where a young singer named Frank Sinatra sang in 1941, and of course the famous Hollywood sign itself overlooking it all. LA is definitely a town of "see and be seen" and your observation about the people watching made me smile - I think everyone just wants to have a good time here and candidly, perhaps some do try a bit too hard. That being said, I do hope you'll give us a second chance - W Hollywood can be a lot of fun, and I reall would like the opportunity to prove that to you.

Warm regards -

Jim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2011

Needed a break but couldn't get out of town.
Decided to spend a night at the W Hollywood.
This is one of the premier hotel properties in Los Angeles.
The minute you leave your car at the Valet you are whisked away in the W lifestyle.
The staff is helpful and professional.
Smiles abound.
Wish I could have stayed for a month.
Check out the food at Drais on the roof.
Everything was fresh and interesting.
And if you want to stay later you can play when Drais turns into a nightclub post 10pm.
From the spa to the rooftop pool I am sure you will be delighted with your stay.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2011

The W Hollywood is Wonderful. In particular, its General Manager is receptive and helpful. Also, the management and staff for Drais (which is an amazing pool party) are professional and hospitable. A truly enjoyable experience all around. I highly recommend checking out and staying at this Hollywood-cool hotel and its superb facilities and staff.

Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
w_hollywood_10, General Manager at W Hollywood, responded to this review, June 8, 2011
Thank you for your kind comments! We love what we do here and it is always nice to have the work acknowledged. Be sure to come back again - we have quite a line up of DJs for the Wet Deck this summer, and you have to try the new menu there, too. Amazing!! Safe travels whereever you may be going -

Warmly,

Jim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to W Hollywood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W Hollywood

Address: 6250 Hollywood Blvd, Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA 90028
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Los Angeles
#23 Luxury Hotel in Los Angeles
#53 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#59 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — W Hollywood 4*
Number of rooms: 305
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The W Hollywood Hotel is always ready for its close-up at the entertainment capital of the world's epicenter, where glitz, glamour, power shopping, vibrant dining, and cutting-edge style meet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Amex, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your W Hollywood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w Hollywood Hotel Los Angeles

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage W Hollywood, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.