We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Third stay, still nice.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jerry's Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Jerry's Motel to your Saves list
Jerry's Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   285 Lucas Avenue, Los Angeles, CA 90026 (Central L.A)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
20% OFF @ JerrysMotel.com
Ranked #11 of 336 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Third stay, still nice.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We had room 6 this time. It didn't have an outlet where I needed it, but management brought me an extension cord and all was well. Starting to learn the neighborhood. The bakery I mentioned in the other review is still there, coffee is still good. I said before it is Mexican. I should have said Hispanic, because I'm not sure. South to the corner, west to the bottom of the hill.

Five minutes to Dorothy Chandler Pavilion, 25 minutes to Huntington Library and Gardens. What else could you want to know?

Wifi was good, but internet was spotty for awhile this time. Book early.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

551 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    312
    198
    31
    9
    1
See reviews for
49
249
84
50
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW via mobile

Everything was awesome here. Perfectly situated 1 mile from downtown (to USBank Tower). Nice family neighborhood. Free WiFi and lots of Direct Tv channels.

The desk attendant was super nice! Already booked again. Perfect for 1-3 night stays.

Stayed April 2015, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stafford
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here based on TA reviews being so good and it had free parking in a centralish (for huge LA!) location.

On arrival we were quite unimpressed as the furniture seemed dated and even though the paint was fresh, the carpet was old and the bathroom felt a bit dingy. Also the first night we found it difficult to sleep as the traffic noise was so loud and the room was hot but the air con was too noisy to have on.

However this motel really grew on use and we miss staying there now! We slept ridiculously well after the first night and the bed was so comfy (although the pillows weren't great). The room was clean and adequate for what we needed and seemed pretty central to the typical tourist hotspots. Also it was cleaned daily. The bathroom was basic but clean and the shower was good. Also we had a fridge and kettle with some snacks on the first night. Overall we enjoyed our stay at Jerry's.

Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
219 reviews 219 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Like others have said, this is a great little motel for when you're visiting LA on a budget. The rooms are basic and no frills but have everything you need if you're just using the hotel for a base.

We only spoke with one member of staff who was the lady who checked us in but she was extremely friendly and gave us a helpful map and pointed out some local sights and restaurants. The welcome bag of snacks is a nice touch.

The parking is great and free which I believe is pretty tricky to come by in LA so this was really handy. Each room has a guaranteed spot.

The location is super handy for downtown LA. We visited the Bradbury building, Grand Central Market and Japantown on foot from Jerry's. It felt like quite a safe area too and it's easy to get to everywhere in LA from here.

The room itself was very basic but clean and has a TV with plenty of channels and the bed is very comfortable. We were on the second floor and slept very well. There's a fridge in the room and they provide muffins everyday. On the downside, some of the furnishing was a bit tatty, the shower was a bit dark and the shower curtain was a bit of a pain. Also there was a window that didn't have a blind and when a light came on a night, it woke us up as it was very bright but we learnt after the first night to cover it or wear an eye mask. However, these are just a few things that could be improved and don't detract from our overall stay.

Thank you Jerry's for a great stay!

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JerrysMotel, Manager at Jerry's Motel, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Hi Germione,

Thank you very much for your review. We're happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and that you thought our location and free parking were convenient for exploring Los Angeles.

Great job exploring downtown! The Bradbury Building is definitely our favorite building in Downtown LA, Grand Central Market is a great place to grab lunch or dinner, and Little Tokyo is the perfect place to grab a bite or buy Japanese trinkets.

Thanks for staying and we hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Upon arrival we were 1hour early, the front desk wasnt open but they had a operator phone to contact someone if checking in. We drive from central valley and just wanted our room to settle in already, he was so kind he actually took us in half an hour early. Gave us a map of all the places to visit and local restaurants and fast food places near buy. They even give goodie bags with awesome little snacks. The room is small, cozy and very clean. Me and my husband loved it....the bed was super comgy and extra sturdy to have some fun. The bonus was free parking!!! We would diff book at jerrys next time we are in town

Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JerrysMotel, Manager at Jerry's Motel, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Hi jadeA20,

Thanks for your feedback! Glad you enjoyed your stay during your mini-trip down to LA. We hope to see you again next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Our jaws almost dropped when we found out how inexpensive this hotel is, and it is well worth it. The rooms are very no-frills, but they provide you with a basket of snacks and are very accommodating (we needed to leave our suitcases after checking out, they were very helpful). It was also extremely convenient to drive from there to anywhere else we needed to go across the entire city of Los Angeles, and I would absolutely stay there again!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JerrysMotel, Manager at Jerry's Motel, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Hi Laura V,

Thanks for your review! Glad our location worked our great for your travels and made it easy for you to get around Los Angeles. LA is huge, but downtown is definitely a good hub for the rest of the city when planning on visiting several different areas.

Thanks again for staying and we hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Champaign, IL
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My daughter and I were visiting FIDM in downtown LA. We stayed with friends in West Hills for 3 nights but wanted one night close to the school for activities Friday and then a housing tour on Saturday. (we stayed Friday the 20th of March) We chose Jerry's after seeing the reviews on TA. We are not needy and just wanted a clean place to lay our head for the night.
The check in process was super fast and friendly. I rang on the phone and he was there to greet us immediately with maps, a bag of snacks/water and also gave us a list of nearby food options or delivery options and the wifi passwords.
The rooms are basic but the bed & pillows were SO COMFORTABLE like memory foam. The linens were crispy white and clean and the TV large with DirectTV. We were in room 5 on the lower level with parking right there in front of our room.
My rating of excellent is based on the type of property you are booking. Remember, this is a motel/budget property and is meant for a certain type of traveler.
Thank you Jerry's, we will definitely be back!

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JerrysMotel, Manager at Jerry's Motel, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Hi grunthumb,

Thanks for sharing your feedback! It's great to hear you really enjoyed your stay and found our rooms to be comfortable. Although small, our staff works hard to keep them as clean and comfortable as possible.

Hope you had a fruitful visit at FIDM that will help your daughter make a decision. Good luck to her in her next endeavor and thank you so much for staying with us. We hope to see you again next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Jerry's Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jerry's Motel

Address: 285 Lucas Avenue, Los Angeles, CA 90026
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Central L.A
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#13 Best Value Hotel in Los Angeles
#13 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#59 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Jerry's Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jerry's Motel is less than a 5 minute drive to major attractions like the Los Angeles Convention Center, Walt Disney Concert Hall, LA Live, Staples Center, Grammy Museum and much more. We are also nearby major public transportation hubs and a short 15 minute commute to tourist hot spots like Hollywood, Beverly Hills and the Citadel shopping outlets.Guests at Jerry's Motel in Los Angeles CA will enjoy a great place to wind down after a day out on the town with over 100 satellite television channels. Business travelers will also appreciate access to Copy, Fax and Wireless Internet Services. Jerry's Motel in Los Angeles, CA provides a great location and price that is perfect for those who have meetings in Downtown or at the Convention Center and don't want to pay $200 or more at a major hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Jerry's Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jerry`s Hotel Los Angeles

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jerry's Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.