We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spend money on meals/fun- Sleep CHEAP” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jerry's Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Jerry's Motel to your Saves list
Jerry's Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   285 Lucas Avenue, Los Angeles, CA 90026 (Central L.A)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
20% OFF @ JerrysMotel.com
Ranked #9 of 327 Hotels in Los Angeles
Towson, MD
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Spend money on meals/fun- Sleep CHEAP”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I trust TA when hunting a night's sleep. This hotel was ranked higher when I made the reservation and I hope they regain their position.
We had driven from Las Vegas that morning, had lunch at Universal City and went on the VIP Warner Brothers Tour before checking into the hotel.
We approached after dark to a well lit parking lot and check in area. We were greeted by a polite and cheerful young man who offered us a welcome gift bag of snacks, maps and recommendations. We checked into Room #2 (a pair of twin beds and an accessible room) to find it clean and fresh smelling. The bath was accessible with a fold down shower chair. The toiletries were as pleasant as higher priced hotels.
We were eating that evening at The Perch on Pershing Square and Jerry's staff called us a cab.
We returned to the hotel after dinner and watched some TV and slept well. There was the sound of helicopter around midnight, but I'm from Baltimore and used to gunshots with sirens.
I wouldn't hesitate to go back any time I am doing something in L.A.

Room Tip: It's a small hotel, book as soon as you know you are heading to LA
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

524 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    296
    190
    30
    7
    1
See reviews for
45
232
81
49
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nanuet, New York
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Hotel room was clean and a nice size and staff was extremely helpful and accommodating. They give out a list of local attractions as well as a list of local restaurants, stores, pharmacies, etc., with their addresses and hours.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Most reviews are spot on -- this is a good basic motel near downtown LA. We were in a room upstairs (#10) away from the street (Lucas) and it was reasonably quiet. It helps that the motel is one building removed from busier 3rd St. Room was not miniscule, clean, with a comfortable bed. Never turned on the TV but the frig worked well but the free wi-fi not so well. (Received assurance from management that this problem is being addressed.) Good shower in a renovated bathroom with a small sink and basic storage for toiletries (an old medicine cabnet). Helpfulness of staff, availability of free parking, convenient location on a direct route between downtown and Farmers' Market, plus easy access to Hwy 110 and 101. Upper downtown is, indeed, an easy walk but quite a bit harder coming back up the hills. In many ways, this motel is quite comparable to the Dolphin in San Diego. We will happily stay there again, when we return to LA.

Room Tip: Upstairs and away from street may be quieter. Note: No elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Here you will save good money and have a clean and peaceful stay. Obviously you will encounter a simple motel, but well located, and USA-like motel. There is a free park at the motel (few places), and it is a 20 min walk to the LA centre. So this is a moneysaver option if you are not looking for luxury.

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Nothing fancy, just the basics. But clean, affordable, and the location was perfect for our stay (we saw Cat Stevens at the Nokia Theater). Bed was comfortable and it was quiet at night. And free parking! And a free snack bag/water! Highly recommended if you need a clean, affordable place to stay in downtown LA.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

For our 4-night LA stay, we picked Jerry's Motel based on the great reviews, low cost and also relatively central location. Since we had a vehicle, a clean, comfortable motel with free parking made the most sense. Upon arriving there after a very long flight, we were happy to find a very easy check-in process (complete with a bag of free snacks in the room!) and a clean & quiet room in a safe, central location. With tax, we paid about USD 90 per night, which was an absolute deal, if you factor in the free Wifi & parking as well. No complaints or criticisms, but recommended more for those who will be driving, as it's not within walking distance to the most touristic LA attractions.

Room Tip: Upper (2nd) floor rooms are probably quieter, not being on the ground floor near the parking area...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I picked this location based on all the wonderful reviews, and I'm so glad we did! My husband and I felt so comfortable here and really enjoyed our stay. It was nice to finally arrive after a long drive and receive a bag of snacks checking in! We definitely will stay here again if we plan another LA trip :).

  • Stayed December 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Jerry's Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jerry's Motel

Address: 285 Lucas Avenue, Los Angeles, CA 90026
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Central L.A , Downtown
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#9 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#16 Best Value Hotel in Los Angeles
#60 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Jerry's Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jerry's Motel is less than a 5 minute drive to major attractions like the Los Angeles Convention Center, Walt Disney Concert Hall, LA Live, Staples Center, Grammy Museum and much more. We are also nearby major public transportation hubs and a short 15 minute commute to tourist hot spots like Hollywood, Beverly Hills and the Citadel shopping outlets.Guests at Jerry's Motel in Los Angeles CA will enjoy a great place to wind down after a day out on the town with over 100 satellite television channels. Business travelers will also appreciate access to Copy, Fax and Wireless Internet Services. Jerry's Motel in Los Angeles, CA provides a great location and price that is perfect for those who have meetings in Downtown or at the Convention Center and don't want to pay $200 or more at a major hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Jerry's Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jerry`s Hotel Los Angeles

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jerry's Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.