We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Motel in LA” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jerry's Motel

Save Saved
You added Jerry's Motel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Jerry's Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   285 Lucas Avenue, Los Angeles, CA 90026 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
20% OFF @ JerrysMotel.com
Ranked #10 of 322 hotels in Los Angeles
Gothenburg, Sweden
1 review
“Best Motel in LA”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

best motel we stayed at! wonderful service from the staff and easy to find. very neat and clean rooms and good price! can warmly recommend to stay at Jerry's if you are going to Los Angeles. I will stay at Jerry's if i am going to Los Angeles again!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

468 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    259
    172
    29
    7
    1
See reviews for
40
202
73
46
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Luckily, we stayed for only one night. I don't think I could stay for another night in the room whihc was claimed to be non-smoking but was soaked in smoke. Not fresh cigarette smoke but the type that you would get from long period of smokinf that was soaked into the furniture and carpet. We had our child with us which they charged and didn't provide any extra bedding. I wouldn't recommedn this place for families with little kids.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JerrysMotel, Manager at Jerry's Motel, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
We are sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay with us. We take all feedback seriously and after inspecting your room after check out, we were unable to find the smell of smoke in your room.

All of our rooms are non-smoking and we have a zero tolerance policy for smoking in any of our rooms. Smoking inside a room results in a $250 or more cleaning charge. Luckily, our guests have been respectful of our strict no smoking policy and we have not had to charge this fee in more than 1 year.

Although you did not request a change of room, we wish we could have accommodated you in a different room if you felt uncomfortable. Unfortunately, this was not possible since we were sold out. But rest assured that our carpets and furniture are deep cleaned on a regular basis to keep our rooms as fresh as possible. From time to time, if you leave your door or window open for too long and there is a strong breeze, you might end up with outdoor smells inside your room. This is easily resolvable by turning on either the A/C or fan.

Additionally, as mentioned during check in, all of our rooms have only either 1 Queen Bed or 2 Twin Beds and can only accommodate a maximum of 2 people per room. Since you arrived with 2 adults plus 1 older child, the room you reserved with two small twin/single beds could not comfortably accommodate all of you. We do not offer nor advertise the availability of rollaway beds. Typically, under no circumstances is a third person allowed to stay in a room. But as a courtesy we allowed you to keep your reservation with an extra person charge – a fee that is standard in the hotel industry. Please note this policy is strictly enforced along with our no smoking policy.

We are sorry we do not provide any rooms that fit the needs of 3 people in 1 room. We always recommend our guests do plenty of research on where they are staying to make sure we will be able to provide everything they need to make their stay comfortable and enjoyable.

If you have any additional questions, feel free to contact us directly. Thank you for staying and take care!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013 via mobile

Stayed one night at Jerry's Motel. I'm a single female traveling alone on her way to meet friends. The staff at Jerry's helped me around the clock with directions in Los Angeles. They were always just a phone call away. They stored my luggage after I checked out freeing me to see the sights. Hands down the nicest people. Fabulous value for the money. Exceptional customer service. The neighborhood is not nice...but you will feel safe at Jerry's.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Morang
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Jerry's Motel is clean, well maintained and run by two lovely people who go out of their way to be helpful. Having no local knowledge, we had many questions of the owners, who went the extra mile to find out stuff for us. The bed was smaller than we expected but comfortable and the bathroom was spotless. Possibly not in the best location, but we felt comfortable travelling on the 16/316 buses into town and even walked home one night feeling quite safe. They even minded our bags for us when we had a full day to fill in as our plane didn't leave until 11.30pm.
All in all we are quite happy to recommend this motel to anyone who wants great value with fantastic staff.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

We stayed at Jerry's for three nights in March. The other Trip Advisor reviews are pretty spot on. The rooms are clean and the bathroom in particular seemed brand new. The staff are super helpful - we called several times when the front desk was closed and they were more than happy to come up to our room with print outs of directions or whatever we needed. The little bags of snacks on check in are a nice touch too. The only downside is the location - it's not in the best neighbourhood and we weren't too keen on walking back to it after dark. Bus drivers don't really seem to know the location, but the 16/316 buses do go to the corner of Lucas and 3rd if you have have a chat to the drivers. There's always the option of catching a cab too. The biggest selling point though is the cost - we couldn't find anything in LA for this price that wasn't a dump. Overall, great rooms, great staff and great value.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chico, California
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Jerry’s Motel is a great example on how a business should be run. The motel itself is a small 10-unit place that on its own would probably get a three star rating. It’s very clean, but basic. However, the location (right downtown, about a mile from LA Live) combined with a great price raise it to a four star level. But I rated Jerry’s a five star, why? Because of the friendly staff! They go above and beyond to make your stay a special one. When checking in they start out by giving you a little goody bag of snacks. I stayed there while running the LA Marathon. After the race I was getting some ice and mentioned I had just finished the marathon and I had my best race ever. When we got back from dinner that night there was a bottle of champagne and two glasses sitting on our night stand, along with a note from the “staff of Jerry’s Motel” congratulating me on my marathon and getting my best time ever. Wow! Talk about the special attention to details. Between the staff, location, price and cleanliness, I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queenstown, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Myself and my boyfriend stayed at Jerry's for 3 nights in February. After a very long flight, we arrived late at night and were welcomed by an extremely friendly and accommodating member of staff, who was on hand for advice whenever we needed him. The room was very clean, modern and had everything we needed for our stay, including some nibbles and water to tide us over until the morning. This place got our trip off to a fantastic start, and we would recommend it to anyone looking for a great value, comfortable stay in LA.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Jerry's Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jerry's Motel

Address: 285 Lucas Avenue, Los Angeles, CA 90026
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Downtown
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#11 Best Value Hotel in Los Angeles
#12 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#79 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Jerry's Motel 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jerry's Motel is less than a 5 minute drive to major attractions like the Los Angeles Convention Center, Walt Disney Concert Hall, LA Live, Staples Center, Grammy Museum and much more. We are also nearby major public transportation hubs and a short 15 minute commute to tourist hot spots like Hollywood, Beverly Hills and the Citadel shopping outlets.Guests at Jerry's Motel in Los Angeles CA will enjoy a great place to wind down after a day out on the town with over 100 satellite television channels. Business travelers will also appreciate access to Copy, Fax and Wireless Internet Services. Jerry's Motel in Los Angeles, CA provides a great location and price that is perfect for those who have meetings in Downtown or at the Convention Center and don't want to pay $200 or more at a major hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Venere and Tingo so you can book your Jerry's Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jerry`s Hotel Los Angeles

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jerry's Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.