We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, safe, friendly and inexpensive” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Jerry's Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Jerry's Motel to your Saves list
Jerry's Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   285 Lucas Avenue, Los Angeles, CA 90026 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
20% OFF @ JerrysMotel.com
Ranked #9 of 324 Hotels in Los Angeles
1 review
“Clean, safe, friendly and inexpensive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Stayed for 4 nights at the beginning of March. Would definitely recommend! Family owned and operated. Super friendly and helpful. We were met with a bag of snacks at check in which was a nice surprise. Rooms have fridge and microwave.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

514 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    292
    184
    30
    7
    1
See reviews for
43
228
80
49
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

I agree with the rest of the reviews. I got the dates wrong due to the international date line and I'm not very clever. We arrived late by a day. I would have expected to have to pay for that day but they wavered the cost. Totally unexpected and a nice welcome to the States.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paulden, Arizona, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

When we pulled up to the motel, we thought we may have made a mistake. The neighborhood looked a little bit sketchy, but it turned out to be fine. The building is older, but the owners are doing things to upgrade and they keep this place CLEAN! It was very nice. We were in room #2 (handicapped room) and it is tucked in the corner. This may have been the reason, but it was very quiet in our room. The parking lot is small and I would not recommend you try to bring an F250 and try to park it! (That's what we did). You can do it, but only if you're a patient and very experienced driver. The people were very helpful (we didn't know the area) and the ADA stuff was great. Big shower that you could roll right into, etc. Don't expect luxury, but if you stay here, you CAN expect, a good value and a relaxing and CLEAN place to sleep!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

All reviews are absolutely true, this is a great deal! Smooth i-pad check-in, very soon after check in they email your receipt. I was so happy with the giftbag which contained lots of small snacks. Room was new, clean and smelled superfresh, WiFi worked fine, didn't try the tv but it was a new flatscreen. I loved the fact there was a handsoap dispenser instead of the usual hotelsoap.
Check out is superfast too as you can leave the roomkey inside the room.
There is just one luggage rack so leave the stuff you don't need in the car. In the room there is a map with directions to everything you might need. Location is perfect, close to Hollywood and downtown. I only stayed for one night, but I stay here you won't regret it!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

Super friendly owners who showed us on a map all the places to see in la. Check in was a breeze and they used an iPad to do it. That's a first for me. We even left our iPad charger at our previous hotel and they let us borrow one. The rooms are nice and clean. Bathrooms seem updated and the tv was great with satellite. Free car park and wi-fi to boot. Not a fancy hotel from the outside but a pleasant surprise inside. Definitely easy place to recommend to friends and family coming to LA!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, Beijing, China
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Dear all,

I have to say this is the best motel I have ever stayed.

The owner is a young couple. They are very nice and friendly. The most important, they are very helpful. They will listen to your needs and try to meet your needs. I have to say I travel alone and really need these help.

The room is very clean and new. And the location is close to the downtown. They are always out there for you if you need them.

They also gave me some snacks and drinks while I am checking in. It was so helpful since I don't have time to buy these staff since when I am checking in is around 10pm.

You will feel the family caring and the warm. It is a really good stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JerrysMotel, General Manager at Jerry's Motel, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
It was a true pleasure having you as a guest and assisting you with your trip as much as possible. We want all of our guests to enjoy their trips, and do everything we can to be of assistance. Hope to see you again when you are back in Los Angeles!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasanton, CA
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

I recently had to take a trip to Los Angeles to attend a conference. The conference was in Downtown Los Angeles, so I thought it would be nice to stay local, so I could cut down on the driving traffic. All the downtown hotels and motels seem to have off-site parking, where they charge additional fees just to park your car. Jerry's Motel happened to be six blocks walking distance from where I needed to be, plus they had their own private parking lot on the premises, which I liked very much, plus their rate was such a bargain!

Using the GPS in my car, the motel was easy to find, albeit the parking lot is very small. I arrived half an hour early, but they were very nice and let me check in early nonetheless. The room was small and cozy, but very clean- no weird odors, no mildew. The bathroom looked as if it had been recently renovated with its stone-tiled shower and modern fixtures. The bed was very comfortable and I had no problem falling asleep.

Since the motel is located downtown, there is a fair amount of traffic. I had a Friday overnight stay and cars and buses were still driving by till late in the evening. But after that, the noise just died and all was quiet until morning.

All in all, for the price, the security of your car, and the cleanliness of the accommodations, Jerry's Motel can't be beat! Next time I have another conference in the area, I'll be staying with them again!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JerrysMotel, General Manager at Jerry's Motel, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Thank you very much for staying with us and taking the time to share your feedback. We are very happy to hear that our location worked out very well for your conference. You are correct, our bathrooms were recently updated to help provide an even more comfortable experience to our guests. Hope to see you again during your next conference in the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Jerry's Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jerry's Motel

Address: 285 Lucas Avenue, Los Angeles, CA 90026
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Downtown
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#11 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#14 Best Value Hotel in Los Angeles
#53 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Jerry's Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jerry's Motel is less than a 5 minute drive to major attractions like the Los Angeles Convention Center, Walt Disney Concert Hall, LA Live, Staples Center, Grammy Museum and much more. We are also nearby major public transportation hubs and a short 15 minute commute to tourist hot spots like Hollywood, Beverly Hills and the Citadel shopping outlets.Guests at Jerry's Motel in Los Angeles CA will enjoy a great place to wind down after a day out on the town with over 100 satellite television channels. Business travelers will also appreciate access to Copy, Fax and Wireless Internet Services. Jerry's Motel in Los Angeles, CA provides a great location and price that is perfect for those who have meetings in Downtown or at the Convention Center and don't want to pay $200 or more at a major hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Jerry's Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jerry`s Hotel Los Angeles

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jerry's Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.