We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent All Round” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jerry's Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Jerry's Motel to your Saves list
Jerry's Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   285 Lucas Avenue, Los Angeles, CA 90026 (Central L.A)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
20% OFF @ JerrysMotel.com
Ranked #12 of 339 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Excellent All Round”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012 via mobile

As mentioned in all other reviews, this place is fantastic! The room was very clean (and I'm very pedantic) and the service from staff was outstanding. Having just arrived in L.A. our answers on anything were answered... from atm locations to train stops. They even arranged a taxi for us and provided us with a complimentary snack and drinks bag. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

555 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    313
    200
    32
    9
    1
See reviews for
49
252
84
50
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Taupo, Waikato, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

The host was quite friendly and gave me a snack bag when I checked in, which is great.
The location of this motel is close to downtown, which may not be the most tourist-friendly area because of the parking issue. However, if you are planning to see the whole LA rather than just Sonta Monica-Beverly HIll Areas, downtown is the central location.

Well, the motel's got everything I need, and I had a good sleep, so not complaining at all.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Captiva Island, Florida
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012 via mobile

Great location just close to all LA areas....and a clean room,if you re searching to just have a good place to sleep and close to everything I highly recommend it.in addition of that the person that checked us in was so friendly she just gave us everything we need without asking(a bottle of water,a map,some recommendations,and some cookies...)

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kassel, Germany
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

We have spent the night of 08 on 09/12/2012 at Jerry's Motel and were really excited. The room was very clean and equipped with microwave, safe, refrigerator, HDTV and free Wi-Fi, parking is also free. As a welcome we received a small "survival kit" with drinks and sweets. The next morning we got some more help for attractions and appropriate parking (everything works great), and even for the meters we were given a handful of quarters! In summary, we felt in this small family business in good hands. If you don`t need the great luxury and you are looking for a cheap and good way to stay in LA, this is the place for you.

Thank you Jerry's Motel!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinner, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

This is a small motel not a hotel in a fairly grotty part of LA. The rooms are basic but very clean and frankly has everything you need and free parking was a big plus. The staff were very pleasant and helpful and we received a welcome pack when we arrived which was a nice touch. The best thing about this place is the price, for what we got it was very good value. The location is the worst part. We prefer to stay somewhere where we can walk to a couple of nice restaurants. There was nothing around other than a couple of very grotty convenience stores. It would have been a great place for just one night but we were there for 3 so disappointed. Realistically, we wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

rooms are clean no doubt owners friendly and all but kind priceyf for the area. its a motel not a hotel but then again service was nice rooms were new and i liked it... but i wouldnt give it a 5 rating.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anywhere in the world
Top Contributor
206 reviews 206 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
229 helpful votes 229 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

Okay, so we picked this place cos of trip advisor ratings. And overall, it lives up to them with bells on!!! Awesome!!! For this price, it is not heaven on earth of course. Let's be real. But a great stay and great value. Let me start with the drawbacks.

It is very close to downtown, but it is not downtown. It's kinda in the middle of nowhere. There is nothing of note nearby if you don't have a car. It's not a dangerous district, we felt perfectly safe, rather it's a dead district. There are no places to eat within 800m (at least, that you would want to eat at). But you can get buses to downtown nearby, so its isn't a real issue. The walk to downtown is not out of the question either, for people who like to stroll.

That said, let's get on to why I gave it a 5.

#1 It is very close to downtown LA.
#2 Very, very nice rooms, recently renovated. Very homely. My wife just loved the room!
#3 Nice bathrooms, all new, and with useful/nice products provided (a nice surprise).
#4 Free parking (useful if you rent a car, and as costs are very low in LA, I suggest you do that)
#5 Free wifi (not the fastest, but it worked)
#6 Jerry is so nice, so polite, so helpful, it was a pleasure to stay at his place. Thanks, Jerry!

Bottom line is this. If you dont have a car, then long term this place is not for you. The public transport system in LA is crap (though as I said, you can connect to downtown LA fairly easily from here), But then, my logic is this. If I book this place, and rent a car, the daily cost is still half of the cost of other places in this location.

So my advice for LA is simple. Rent a car and stay at Jerry's.

TIP1: what we did is this. Landed at LAX. Took the Flyaway bus from LAX to Union Station (cheap). Picked up the pre-booked car from Union Station (also cheap) and drove to Jerry's (5 mins). The reason we didn't hire from LAX is that we were not leaving LA via LAX. But if you are in and out of LAX, just book it from the airport (tho a longer drive of course).

Tip2: If you rent a car, then either rent the GPS with it or use your own GPS (I didn't rent one, I just added the relevant maps to my nokia beforehand and used that as GPS). But note also that I use an external GPS bluetooth unit rather than the internal nokia GPS, which is much slower and less accurate.

Room Tip: Its a small place, I think any/all rooms are going to be fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Jerry's Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jerry's Motel

Address: 285 Lucas Avenue, Los Angeles, CA 90026
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Central L.A
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#13 Best Value Hotel in Los Angeles
#15 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#62 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Jerry's Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jerry's Motel is less than a 5 minute drive to major attractions like the Los Angeles Convention Center, Walt Disney Concert Hall, LA Live, Staples Center, Grammy Museum and much more. We are also nearby major public transportation hubs and a short 15 minute commute to tourist hot spots like Hollywood, Beverly Hills and the Citadel shopping outlets.Guests at Jerry's Motel in Los Angeles CA will enjoy a great place to wind down after a day out on the town with over 100 satellite television channels. Business travelers will also appreciate access to Copy, Fax and Wireless Internet Services. Jerry's Motel in Los Angeles, CA provides a great location and price that is perfect for those who have meetings in Downtown or at the Convention Center and don't want to pay $200 or more at a major hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Jerry's Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jerry`s Hotel Los Angeles

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jerry's Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.