We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What can I say, except "full marks"!!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jerry's Motel

Save Saved
You added Jerry's Motel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Jerry's Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   285 Lucas Avenue, Los Angeles, CA 90026 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
20% OFF @ JerrysMotel.com
Ranked #10 of 323 hotels in Los Angeles
anywhere in the world
Top Contributor
165 reviews 165 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
166 helpful votes 166 helpful votes
“What can I say, except "full marks"!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

Okay, so we picked this place cos of trip advisor ratings. And overall, it lives up to them with bells on!!! Awesome!!! For this price, it is not heaven on earth of course. Let's be real. But a great stay and great value. Let me start with the drawbacks.

It is very close to downtown, but it is not downtown. It's kinda in the middle of nowhere. There is nothing of note nearby if you don't have a car. It's not a dangerous district, we felt perfectly safe, rather it's a dead district. There are no places to eat within 800m (at least, that you would want to eat at). But you can get buses to downtown nearby, so its isn't a real issue. The walk to downtown is not out of the question either, for people who like to stroll.

That said, let's get on to why I gave it a 5.

#1 It is very close to downtown LA.
#2 Very, very nice rooms, recently renovated. Very homely. My wife just loved the room!
#3 Nice bathrooms, all new, and with useful/nice products provided (a nice surprise).
#4 Free parking (useful if you rent a car, and as costs are very low in LA, I suggest you do that)
#5 Free wifi (not the fastest, but it worked)
#6 Jerry is so nice, so polite, so helpful, it was a pleasure to stay at his place. Thanks, Jerry!

Bottom line is this. If you dont have a car, then long term this place is not for you. The public transport system in LA is crap (though as I said, you can connect to downtown LA fairly easily from here), But then, my logic is this. If I book this place, and rent a car, the daily cost is still half of the cost of other places in this location.

So my advice for LA is simple. Rent a car and stay at Jerry's.

TIP1: what we did is this. Landed at LAX. Took the Flyaway bus from LAX to Union Station (cheap). Picked up the pre-booked car from Union Station (also cheap) and drove to Jerry's (5 mins). The reason we didn't hire from LAX is that we were not leaving LA via LAX. But if you are in and out of LAX, just book it from the airport (tho a longer drive of course).

Tip2: If you rent a car, then either rent the GPS with it or use your own GPS (I didn't rent one, I just added the relevant maps to my nokia beforehand and used that as GPS). But note also that I use an external GPS bluetooth unit rather than the internal nokia GPS, which is much slower and less accurate.

Room Tip: Its a small place, I think any/all rooms are going to be fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

476 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    267
    172
    29
    7
    1
See reviews for
41
205
74
47
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

We were there in September 2012 and the staff was very helpful, we got answers for all our questions, they helped us to call a taxi and also we had a list of some food stores and buffets in our room. The hotel has a good location and we had everything we needed in the room (iron, tv etc). Before we came they warned us that there will be some construction works so we knew what we should expect

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

I spent a week at Jerry's recently and really enjoyed it. The hotel is located very close to downtown and several freeways. The immediate neighborhood has some stores but not much that as a tourist you're going to visit. For me that didn't matter as I was only using the hotel as a place to sleep and spent most days traveling around LA. The central location was convenient for me.

The room was clean, bed comfortable, free parking next to hotel, good TV coverage, in-room safe, goodie basked upon check in, friendly staff. To me the room looked as if it had recently been refurbished.

The price for downtown LA was quite nice. Doubt I would have gotten such a good deal in other hotels.

I can't say anything about public transportation as I had a rental car and that worked just fine with Jerry's.

I'd recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Lazio, Italy
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Comfortable bed,clean up to standard, parking included,nice staff,not so expensive but good. The neighouboroud is not really great but the location is good to reach every attraction of LA ina few minutes by car.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

I really didn't know what to expect when I picked Jerry's Motel for our recent stay in LA, though I was definitely influenced by the positive reviews on TripAdvisor. Jerry's Motel was a very pleasant surprise tucked away off a side street in the shadow of downtown LA. We felt we had all the necessary amenities, staff was very friendly and accommodating, we were exceptionally close to all the freeways we needed to get to friends and family and it was inexpensive to boot! We will definitely stay at Jerry's the next time we return to LA.

Room Tip: Second floor rooms would be preferable because you wouldn't have the noise from people above you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012 via mobile

Really helpful staff- our sat nav broke and the staff printed us maps and gave us directions to help. clean rooms and tv to watch, small bathroom, great location in the middle of most sights and comfortable beds.

Definately would stay again

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lessines
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

I had to find somewhere to sleep not to far from LA Convention Center as I was running the half marathon and I found this little motel ...
Free parking in the heart of LA with a room at a very reasonnable price , and a free snacks bag offered when you arrived ... it was just perfect ...
This is not a brand new motel but a very welcoming one !

PS : first time I got the whole registration process done on an IPad ! :)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Jerry's Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jerry's Motel

Address: 285 Lucas Avenue, Los Angeles, CA 90026
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Downtown
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#10 Best Value Hotel in Los Angeles
#12 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#68 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Jerry's Motel 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jerry's Motel is less than a 5 minute drive to major attractions like the Los Angeles Convention Center, Walt Disney Concert Hall, LA Live, Staples Center, Grammy Museum and much more. We are also nearby major public transportation hubs and a short 15 minute commute to tourist hot spots like Hollywood, Beverly Hills and the Citadel shopping outlets.Guests at Jerry's Motel in Los Angeles CA will enjoy a great place to wind down after a day out on the town with over 100 satellite television channels. Business travelers will also appreciate access to Copy, Fax and Wireless Internet Services. Jerry's Motel in Los Angeles, CA provides a great location and price that is perfect for those who have meetings in Downtown or at the Convention Center and don't want to pay $200 or more at a major hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Venere and Tingo so you can book your Jerry's Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jerry`s Hotel Los Angeles

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jerry's Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.