We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome "Get away" in the middle of everything!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Tres Inn

El Tres Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Los Angeles
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
El Tres Inn
Save Saved
You added El Tres Inn to your Saves list
4439 West Sunset Boulevard, Los Angeles, CA 90027   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 80 Los Angeles B&B and Inns
San Francisco, California, United States
1 review
“Awesome "Get away" in the middle of everything!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

I recently stayed at the El Tres Inn with a few girlfriends. We had an amazing time. The rooms are extremely clean and beautifully appointed. The furnishings are mid-century modern mixed with authentic Mexican artwork and a touch of Hollywood regency glamour! The bath products are really good, the sheets and towels are top notch. The rooms come with mini kitchens stocked with everything you need! A fantastic mini bar for anyone's cravings. The restaurant below serves strong margaritas and great traditional mexican food. It's a great meeting spot to habe friends come and visit you during your stay. The satellite TV and turntab;e kept us busy for hours. The records in the room have a little bit of everything, indie rock, classic rock, hip and hop and disco. I will definately go back!

Room Tip: There's only three rooms and each one seems to have it's unique charm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    4
    3
    3
    0
See reviews for
2
22
12
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

My home away from home. Ive stayed here for work and pleasure. I feel so at home here. It's the greatest boutique place to stay in LA. It's in the most fantastic locations right in between several neighborhoods with walkable options as well. The three suites here all have something different to offer in terms of style, furnishings and amenities. However all suites feature cool art, great mini kitchen setups, vinyl record collections, TV/blu-ray libraries and comfortable work/play setups. My favorite thing is to brew some strong coffee in the morning (provided along with mexican style pasteries each morning) and go out to the patio with my laptop for a few hours of work. At night, usually friends will congregate and take advantage of the parking lot while we drop by next door for a drink at the famous Tiki Ti or head downstairs for free Beers (you are given drink tokens with your stay). I've also stayed here many times while the club night is happening downstairs and one year during the sunset junction festival. The crowd here is cool, the parties small enough and curated in a way that makes it feel like a secret hotel or boutique party vibe as a opposed to corporate hotel list at the door kind of scene. It's a secret and special place to stay to me... I'm reluctant to even write this review because (selfishly) I don't want the word to get out :-)

Room Tip: UNO room runs a special price midweek, but don't book if you plan on sleeping before 11p
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

We loved El Tres. The apartment was modern but had a quaint Mexican feel and is in a really good location just on the border of Silverlake. Maria serviced the rooms and she was Incredibly friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, CA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

We stayed in "uno".

The suite is fabulously decorated in a hip, modern way. Great Mexican/western theme, modern media (huge tv), retro feel (record player), in the middle of LA's hipster area. Walking distance to a movie theater, some coffee shops, restaurants, grocery store, etc. The suite is perfect for partying, romance, vegging out. The maid staff was very friendly.

I have to mention that if you are sensitive to noise, this suite won't work for you. We stayed on Friday/Saturday (not one of the loud DJ nights), and it was still "noisy" by hotel standards - it's above a bar and you can hear people talking and faint music playing until the bar closes. This wasn't a big problem for us (at most a mild annoyance but we slept through most it). If you are planning on being up anyway, no biggie. If you are deep sleeper, no biggie. If you are a light sleeper and going to bed at 10PM, you might bring a white noise track on your ipod (they have ipod docks). Also, there was a very-low pulsing noise through most of the day (couldn't figure out if it was the restaurant A/C or maybe a dishwasher/laundry machine?).

There were a couple of other minor annoyances (the universal remote was hard to work, the hair dryer didn't quite work, the lighting is great for mood lighting but not great for being functional), but these were super minor and easily outweighed by the great room and unique experience of staying here.

I would definitely stay there again were I to visit the area.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

I'm in LA for business quite often and have stayed at a lot of places. Lettme say, this place rocks! First off, it's set up like an apartment. A really cool apartment with your own private bedroom, TV room, living room with plush rockstar furnishings, kitchen, cute little balcony, and even your own record player (They had Black Keys on vinyl, my experience rating instantly went up a star). The decore is sweet. Loved the Oxacan lion statue and cowskin rug in Room Tres. The staff is very friendly and attentive should you need help and knowledgable of the area. Your room/new abode is located in Silverlake, which is a fantastic neighborhood to hang out in - fun laid-back bars, good restaurants, independent coffeeshops, and being a runner, a short jog to Silverlake Resevoir. Also, big bonus, you are just above a cool Mexican joint, El Chavo (love the tamales) and the bar Chavito (they make a mean margarita). A free drink comes with your room...need I say more?

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spotswood, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2011

I've stayed many places in my life, but i gotta tell ya, when it comes to hip and convenient, you can't beat the El Tres. It's hip without arrogance and in the neighborhood you want to be in Los Angeles, Silver Lake. Close to everything cool, so much so that except tp travel to and fro to the airport, I totally got to avoid freeway traffic. Plus, i got to walk to many bars and restaurants that i wanted to go to. who ever heard of that! Nobody walks in L.A.. But I did.
But the convenience aspect is only one part of it. Get this, the rooms at the El Tres are actually apartments. My room had a patio/balcony, den, living room,bed room, kitchen,breakfastnook, foyer with a huge walk-in closet, and of course a bathroom. the place was also appointed with two TVs, dvd player,excellent coffee table books, i-pod thingy AND a turntable and crate of excellent and eclectic LPs. VINYL! wow.
I've been telling everybody that this joint is the cat's meow. you'd be silly not to stay here.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2011 via mobile

There's only three rooms. Above El Chacho restraint and bar on Sunset Blvd. Chic stylish and comfy. More like apts than hotel. Staff was super cool and accommodating. Mind you there is a restaurant and bar downstairs. Great, different alternative to normal hotel fare.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to El Tres Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Tres Inn

Address: 4439 West Sunset Boulevard, Los Angeles, CA 90027
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 80 B&Bs / Inns in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Tres Inn - Silver Lake only Luxury Inn located by the Historic 5 point Intersection of Sunset & Hollywood.... private ~ urban ~ self-catered luxury suites ~ comfortable ~ romantic get-away. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
El Tres Hotel Los Angeles

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Tres Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.