We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome, unique place!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of El Tres Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Los Angeles
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
El Tres Inn
Save
You added El Tres Inn to your Saves list
4439 West Sunset Boulevard, Los Angeles, CA 90027   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 81 Los Angeles B&B and Inns
Oakland, CA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Awesome, unique place!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

We stayed in "uno".

The suite is fabulously decorated in a hip, modern way. Great Mexican/western theme, modern media (huge tv), retro feel (record player), in the middle of LA's hipster area. Walking distance to a movie theater, some coffee shops, restaurants, grocery store, etc. The suite is perfect for partying, romance, vegging out. The maid staff was very friendly.

I have to mention that if you are sensitive to noise, this suite won't work for you. We stayed on Friday/Saturday (not one of the loud DJ nights), and it was still "noisy" by hotel standards - it's above a bar and you can hear people talking and faint music playing until the bar closes. This wasn't a big problem for us (at most a mild annoyance but we slept through most it). If you are planning on being up anyway, no biggie. If you are deep sleeper, no biggie. If you are a light sleeper and going to bed at 10PM, you might bring a white noise track on your ipod (they have ipod docks). Also, there was a very-low pulsing noise through most of the day (couldn't figure out if it was the restaurant A/C or maybe a dishwasher/laundry machine?).

There were a couple of other minor annoyances (the universal remote was hard to work, the hair dryer didn't quite work, the lighting is great for mood lighting but not great for being functional), but these were super minor and easily outweighed by the great room and unique experience of staying here.

I would definitely stay there again were I to visit the area.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    4
    3
    3
    0
See reviews for
2
22
12
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

I'm in LA for business quite often and have stayed at a lot of places. Lettme say, this place rocks! First off, it's set up like an apartment. A really cool apartment with your own private bedroom, TV room, living room with plush rockstar furnishings, kitchen, cute little balcony, and even your own record player (They had Black Keys on vinyl, my experience rating instantly went up a star). The decore is sweet. Loved the Oxacan lion statue and cowskin rug in Room Tres. The staff is very friendly and attentive should you need help and knowledgable of the area. Your room/new abode is located in Silverlake, which is a fantastic neighborhood to hang out in - fun laid-back bars, good restaurants, independent coffeeshops, and being a runner, a short jog to Silverlake Resevoir. Also, big bonus, you are just above a cool Mexican joint, El Chavo (love the tamales) and the bar Chavito (they make a mean margarita). A free drink comes with your room...need I say more?

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spotswood, New Jersey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2011

I've stayed many places in my life, but i gotta tell ya, when it comes to hip and convenient, you can't beat the El Tres. It's hip without arrogance and in the neighborhood you want to be in Los Angeles, Silver Lake. Close to everything cool, so much so that except tp travel to and fro to the airport, I totally got to avoid freeway traffic. Plus, i got to walk to many bars and restaurants that i wanted to go to. who ever heard of that! Nobody walks in L.A.. But I did.
But the convenience aspect is only one part of it. Get this, the rooms at the El Tres are actually apartments. My room had a patio/balcony, den, living room,bed room, kitchen,breakfastnook, foyer with a huge walk-in closet, and of course a bathroom. the place was also appointed with two TVs, dvd player,excellent coffee table books, i-pod thingy AND a turntable and crate of excellent and eclectic LPs. VINYL! wow.
I've been telling everybody that this joint is the cat's meow. you'd be silly not to stay here.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2011 via mobile

There's only three rooms. Above El Chacho restraint and bar on Sunset Blvd. Chic stylish and comfy. More like apts than hotel. Staff was super cool and accommodating. Mind you there is a restaurant and bar downstairs. Great, different alternative to normal hotel fare.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2011

I travel to LA frequently for business and almost always stay at El Tres. It feels like having your own little apartment as the rooms have kitchenettes, record players, books, and nice TVs which provide a cozy place to watch a movie or chill out when you need a break from the hustle of Los Angeles. Also, the restaurant downstairs El Chavo has excellent mexican food and margaritas.

I would recommend this place to anyone who is visiting LA and doesn't want to deal with valet parking, long check-in lines, and just a big hotel scene in general. The staff is really nice and will go above and beyond to make sure your room has everything you need and your stay is enjoyable.

Room Tip: Uno is great for one person but I would recommend Dos or Tres if you are sharing the room with anoth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury Park,
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2011

We were in town for a show down the street at Echoplex. We feel very lucky that we found El Tres. The subway station is just a couple of blocks away, so we added an extra night, hopped on the subway to Staples Center and caught a Kings game. It's a 20 minute ride downtown for $1.50 each way and parking is free at The Inn. Can't beat it!

We stayed in Uno. It was great. We were able to see the other rooms as well as the Salon. The whole place is beautiful! Now I just need to find an excuse to rent the whole thing and get some friends and family down there.

Yes, it can be a little noisy. So head downstairs to El Chavito and make some noise of your own. We are a pretty adventurous 40ish couple that loves finding hidden treasures like El Tres Inn. Can't wait to get back!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2011

Staying just one night, we found the Inn to be perfect for our needs. Gina was quick to respond to every email and note and was a welcoming and accommodating hostess. She let us drop our bags before the scheduled check-in and took time to recommend shops and restaurants we could enjoy before heading back.

Reading the reviews about the noise from the bar/restaurant, we were concerned but it turned out the only indication of a party downstairs was a vibration underfoot. The Inn does offer a discounted rate on these nights (and drink vouchers, too!) and we thought the trade-off of a little noise for price was well worth it.

We stayed in the Uno room, which felt more like a spacious studio apartment than a B&B room. Overall the inn was very clean, private on-site parking is great feature, and the location is within a short walk of shopping, eateries, and watering holes. I would stay here again and encourage others to do so as well.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to El Tres Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Tres Inn

Address: 4439 West Sunset Boulevard, Los Angeles, CA 90027
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 81 B&Bs / Inns in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Tres Inn - Silver Lake only Luxury Inn located by the Historic 5 point Intersection of Sunset & Hollywood.... private ~ urban ~ self-catered luxury suites ~ comfortable ~ romantic get-away. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
El Tres Hotel Los Angeles

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Tres Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.