We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool homey, hip stay spot.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of El Tres Inn

El Tres Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Los Angeles
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
El Tres Inn
4439 West Sunset Boulevard, Los Angeles, CA 90027   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 77 Los Angeles B&B and Inns
1 review
“Cool homey, hip stay spot.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2011 via mobile

There's only three rooms. Above El Chacho restraint and bar on Sunset Blvd. Chic stylish and comfy. More like apts than hotel. Staff was super cool and accommodating. Mind you there is a restaurant and bar downstairs. Great, different alternative to normal hotel fare.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    42
    4
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
1
22
12
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2011

I travel to LA frequently for business and almost always stay at El Tres. It feels like having your own little apartment as the rooms have kitchenettes, record players, books, and nice TVs which provide a cozy place to watch a movie or chill out when you need a break from the hustle of Los Angeles. Also, the restaurant downstairs El Chavo has excellent mexican food and margaritas.

I would recommend this place to anyone who is visiting LA and doesn't want to deal with valet parking, long check-in lines, and just a big hotel scene in general. The staff is really nice and will go above and beyond to make sure your room has everything you need and your stay is enjoyable.

Room Tip: Uno is great for one person but I would recommend Dos or Tres if you are sharing the room with anoth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury Park,
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2011

We were in town for a show down the street at Echoplex. We feel very lucky that we found El Tres. The subway station is just a couple of blocks away, so we added an extra night, hopped on the subway to Staples Center and caught a Kings game. It's a 20 minute ride downtown for $1.50 each way and parking is free at The Inn. Can't beat it!

We stayed in Uno. It was great. We were able to see the other rooms as well as the Salon. The whole place is beautiful! Now I just need to find an excuse to rent the whole thing and get some friends and family down there.

Yes, it can be a little noisy. So head downstairs to El Chavito and make some noise of your own. We are a pretty adventurous 40ish couple that loves finding hidden treasures like El Tres Inn. Can't wait to get back!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2011

Staying just one night, we found the Inn to be perfect for our needs. Gina was quick to respond to every email and note and was a welcoming and accommodating hostess. She let us drop our bags before the scheduled check-in and took time to recommend shops and restaurants we could enjoy before heading back.

Reading the reviews about the noise from the bar/restaurant, we were concerned but it turned out the only indication of a party downstairs was a vibration underfoot. The Inn does offer a discounted rate on these nights (and drink vouchers, too!) and we thought the trade-off of a little noise for price was well worth it.

We stayed in the Uno room, which felt more like a spacious studio apartment than a B&B room. Overall the inn was very clean, private on-site parking is great feature, and the location is within a short walk of shopping, eateries, and watering holes. I would stay here again and encourage others to do so as well.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2011

On Sunsert, near the Vista Theater. There seems to be little to choose from in Silverlake, but this inn provides a boutique hotel experience, without wading through hipsters, or a pretentious lobby. Definitely for those who know why they're in Silverlake, and don't need useless amenities of other bigger places (no pool, no lounge, though there is a bar downstairs). The bathroom was spacious and spotless, the bed and linens comfortable, even a little kitchen if you feel inclined to eat in. Parking was easy, and there was even a DVD library and books to read. Recommend to anyone looking for an oasis in Silverlake.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2011

We live down in Orange County, about 45 minutes from L.A.'s East Side. Last weekend we were invited to a private party in Los Feliz and decided to try out the El Tres instead of driving back home late at night. What a letdown!

At well over $300 per night, the El Tres is not cheap by L.A. standards. In fact, for the night in question, the El Tres was not only considerably more expensive than the W Hollywood a few blocks away, but even the Peninsula in Beverly Hills would have been less pricy. The main thing that swayed us in favor of the El Tres was the "Daily pastry delivery" prominently advertised on their web page. Having fresh pastries delivered on a Sunday morning is precisely my idea of a romantic weekend getaway.

So our biggest irritation in the morning was that no pastries showed up at our door. We checked multiple times. Since there is no staff on the premises, we couldn't ask anyone either. Frustrated, we eventually left and hunted for a breakfast place in Silverlake.

After coming home, we immediately got an email "hope you enjoyed your stay" from the El Tres. I responded by pointing out the missing breakfast. When I did not receive any response after 2 days, I sent a second email. Below is their response, verbatim

---- begin quoted email
Hi Michael,

Apologies for the delayed response. We discontinued the service a few weeks ago due to lack of popularity and food waste.  We are in the process of updating our website and printed materials. We will credit your bill $1.50 per day of your stay.

We hope that this did not put a damper on your stay at El Tres Inn, and hope to see you again soon. I will email you a copy of your updated receipt reflecting the credit.

Cheers,

Gina Isaac
Assistant Manager
El Tres Inn
---- end quoted email

Quite obviously, she doesn't get it. This is not about money - offering to refund less than one half of one percent of the overnight price is just adding insult to injury. The El Tres is priced at luxury level but it doesn't provide any.

There are other signs that the El Tres "doesn't get it". Lots of printed signs displaying prices actually. Almost wherever you look in the El Tres, you will find something for sale. Open the medicine cabinet in the bathroom and you will find not only supplies, but also a price list. Items that are typically provided for free at luxury hotels will cost you money at the El Tres.

Everything is for sale at the El Tres. Books, bathrobes, coasters, even the vinyl records… Find a price list in the kitchen, too.

None of this instills a feeling of being pampered. Add to this the very substantial noise from the bar below and the location on a busy street in a location where you wouldn't take your children. This is not a good neighborhood by any imagination. Even the size of the suite we had (Dos) is not all that special - yes, there was a separate kitchen/living area, a TV niche, and a separate bedroom, but the aggregate square footage isn't more than a typical bedroom in many west side hotels.

So I am wondering if the El Tres actually ever has repeat customers. Because it is rather pedestrian accommodation at luxury prices.

Room Tip: only stayed in Dos but it is very noisy. Noise from the street, noise from the club below.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melanietusquellas, General Manager at El Tres Inn, responded to this review, November 17, 2011
Thank you for your feedback and comments. We apologize that the discontinued pastry service was a disappointment for you during your stay. We stopped the service several months ago due to lack of popularity and excessive food waste. We credit our guests who made reservations while we still offered the service for the cost of the pastry which is 1.50 per night, per couple. We overlooked that your reservation was made during that period and apologize for the delayed credit.
We are also sorry you were not satisfied with the size and amenities of Suite Dos and our items for purchase. Suite Dos is 750 square feet, much larger than most standard hotel rooms. As is standard in most luxury properties, we offer a full array of minibar items to purchase for our guests in the refrigerator as a convenience. We are also happy to empty the mini-bar upon request. We will make this option more clear to our guests in the future based upon your suggestion.
We also offer bathroom bar items to purchase for our guests such as aspirin and condoms. These are quite popular. Complimentary bathroom toiletry items include soap, lotion, hair shampoo, packet kleenex, cotton balls, q-tips and shower caps. We also have plush robes, Egyptian Cotton towels, hairdryers and makeup mirrors.
All of our suites feature free WIFI, free parking, 2 TVS, one 32" HDTV and one 52" HDTV, blueray player, free blueray DVDs to watch, LP players with vinyl, 2 IPOD docks, Internet wireless radio, complimentary local magazines, complimentary organic coffee, fully stocked kitchenettes, luxury linens and towels.
We strive to provide all of the comforts of home in a private and discreet environment and are sorry that you were not pleased with what we offer at El Tres Inn.
Melanie & Gina
Mangers -El Tres Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2011

Pros and cons, just like anything else. We liked the layout of the Uno room and there are a lot of nice furnishings. The blinds in the kitchen did not work and we had an issue with the toilet (we just had to lift the top and fix the inside, but still- very DIY since no one was on sight). We would have loved to play the Odetta album in the room, however, the record player didn't work for us. The pastry service has been discontinued (their website needs to be updated) and in the morning, there was a homeless man sleeping in the driveway, which was depressing and awkward ("Excuse me, I'm sorry, but can you wake up so we can drive out?").

We have family that live nearby on Vermont and were excited to find a new place we could stay at when we're in town, but... I'm not sure if we'll be back.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melanietusquellas, General Manager at El Tres Inn, responded to this review, October 14, 2011
We are sorry you had some room inconveniences and issues during your recent stay in Suite Uno. We try not to disturb any of our guests while they are enjoying the privacy of The Inn, but are always just a phone call away in the case of an emergency. We appreciate your feedback and have addressed your issues promptly.

Our suites have many accessories and amenities which we aim to maintain in top order for all guests.
We have repaired the toilet in Uno with a new valve.
The sheer bamboo kitchen blinds in Uno are being replaced this month to match the newer ones in the bedroom and other suites. Until then they do not raise, but you may still open the window behind them.
Upon inspection, the needle is working for the LP player in suite Uno, but the RCA cables were plugged in to the Vtech speaker dock, which needs to turned on to hear the LP playing.

We have recently discontinued our pastry service as it was very unpopular with guests and there was a large amount of food waste. The website will be updated shortly to reflect this. We have credited your bill for $3, and will do so for all guests who booked a room prior to the service being discontinued. We do continue to offer complimentary organic coffee and assorted teas in the suites.

We work closely with the local community and authorities to address our large homeless population in Los Angeles . We clean and monitor our property daily and do what we can, within the law, to help the homeless. Sometimes we cannot predict where a homeless person will decide to sleep and we apologize that you had an unexpected encounter.

We hope that you will return and will offer you our locals discount on any future booking at El Tres. Just enter promo code LOCALS when booking online.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to El Tres Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Tres Inn

Address: 4439 West Sunset Boulevard, Los Angeles, CA 90027
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Tres Inn - Silver Lake only Luxury Inn located by the Historic 5 point Intersection of Sunset & Hollywood.... private ~ urban ~ self-catered luxury suites ~ comfortable ~ romantic get-away. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
El Tres Hotel Los Angeles

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Tres Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added El Tres Inn to your Saves list