We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for all ages” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Page Museum at the La Brea Tar Pits

Page Museum at the La Brea Tar Pits
5801 Wilshire Blvd, Los Angeles, CA 90036 (Central L.A)
+1 213-763-3499
Improve this listing
Ranked #26 of 389 Attractions in Los Angeles
Type: Natural History Museums, Historic Sites, Science Museums, History Museums, Specialty Museums
Activities: Leisure education, Picnicking
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Explore the world’s only active, urban Ice Age excavation site. Inside the Page Museum is where we showcase the best fossils, animals and plants that have been discovered here — mammoths, saber-toothed cats, dire wolves and more. Watch our paleontologists working in our Fossil Lab. You can even experience what it’s like to get stuck in the tar with our tar pull.Catch our live multimedia performance of Ice Age Encounters. We uncover the mysteries of the extinct creatures who roamed Los Angeles over 10,000 years ago. This dynamic, 15-minute performance brings the distant past to life.Outside check out the Lake Pit and other tar pits where the tar is still bubbling! Walk through the Pleistocene Garden and see what plants were here in L.A. during the Ice Age. Then visit our active fossil excavation sites — Pit 91 and Project 23 — to see what our excavators have uncovered today.Be sure to reserve your spot on our Excavator Tour —- this is the best way to experience our discoveries in action! Start inside at the Fossil Lab, where we’re working on recently-excavated fossils. Walk around the famous Lake Pit, through the park and down into the newly re-opened Observation Pit to find embedded fossils. The tour concludes at Project 23, our live dig site, where scientists discover new Ice Age specimens every day. Free with museum admission.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good for all ages”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

This was a great museum for all ages. It was like walking into a piece of history and being able to experience it yourself. I am an anthropology major and knew most of what the guided tour was talking about, but it still was enjoyable. The paleo lab was cool to see as it was a work in progress right before your eyes.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

799 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    394
    306
    82
    7
    10
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rhode Island
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Fred Flinstone Fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Do you remember how the animals would fall into the tar pits in the cartoon? Well, that's what this is all about. The museum tells the story and shows the fossils, but the really cool part is taking a tour with the guide past the bubbling black goo and hearing the stories of the saber toothed cats and dire wolves who got stuck and fossilized tens of thousands of years ago!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Very interesting!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

The middle atrium was pretty boring. Other than that very interesting. Cool skeletons and informative facts!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tupelo, Mississippi
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Something Different to do!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Had to learn about this one. Friends told us about it--where more dinasaur bones have been found than any other place. Pits still have bubbles coming up. We were very tired and didn't stay long, but was interesting, and could see the pits without paying for anything but parking. Cost for museum, but children would love it, and on a pretty weather day, could stay on lawn and let children run and play, and just enjoy!!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redondo Beach, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Science”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

I have taken my 2nd grade classes there, as well as my grandchildren, and feel confident that they are seeing real science in action.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Page Museum at the La Brea Tar Pits also viewed

 

Been to Page Museum at the La Brea Tar Pits? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Page Museum at the La Brea Tar Pits, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.