We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overrated.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Venice Beach Boardwalk

Venice Beach Boardwalk
Los Angeles, CA (Venice)
888 LA-PARKS
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Venice Beach Boardwalk like an insider
Special Offer
$40*
and up
Hollywood Highlights and LA Beaches Tour from...
Ranked #77 of 702 things to do in Los Angeles
Activities: Inline skating, Shopping, People-watching, City walk sightseeing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Anything and everything on this famous concrete strip - from hippies to skateboarders, you will see it all here.
East Brunswick
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Overrated.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

Definitely worth seeing, but it will take about 20 min to walk up and down the boardwalk. The novelty of the marijuana shops wears off very quickly. Too many bums. and I use the word bums on purpose - because most seem like they are voluntarily homeless.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

812 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    274
    263
    163
    62
    50
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
Top Contributor
368 reviews 368 reviews
184 attraction reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
323 helpful votes 323 helpful votes
“Know What You're In For”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

I had always heard of Venice Beach and so Venice Beach made it on my family's "To Do" list during our vacation to LA. We rented bikes in Santa Monica and rode the path down to Venice Beach--an easy ride. I wasn't disappointed by the experience, but my wife was nervous because of the hippies and other interesting people hanging out along the boardwalk. I wanted to stop in some of the shops, but thought it wasn't the best atmosphere for my 10-year-old. He's traveled a lot, but there were sexually-suggestive displays as well as a lot of drug references that we felt better to avoid, so we kept riding. If I had been by myself, I wouldn't have hesitated. All this to say, just know what you're in for. It's definitely an interesting place. The 1960s are alive and well!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlton, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Very interesting!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012 via mobile

Being a tourist this was on my to-do list.  I really wanted to see Muscle Beach. 

Well, the people-watching did not disappoint.  The boardwalk is filled with shops selling cheap beach dresses, street performers doing anything for a buck, artists selling their wares, and medical marijuana "offices" that have characters outside letting you know the doctor is in if you want some "product."

This place is a must-see just for the people-watching and because its legendary.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Go during the day!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Lots of interesting things to see at Venice Beach Boardwalk! Roller skaters dancing, skate boarders doing flips in the skate park and the VIEW!! Water with the hills...Gorgeous. There are a lot of cheap shops set up and Dr's offering medicinal marijuana cards. A drum circle on the beach brought out the hippies, very easy going people.

The homeless are very apparent here, don't go after dark its not safe

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunny California
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Was, Is and Likely Always Will be a Collection of Freaks & Tourists”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Not necessarily a bad thing. Definitely the best concentration of people watching on the planet earth. Somewhere, buried deep in the sand in the center of venice is a giant freak magnate. A definite must visit for adult tourists looking to see this part of LA culture and history. Tons of street performers, pot shops, self appointed profits, hippies, etc. All of it is in your face and immersive. Again, really cool if you are OK with this or looking for it. If you show up with your 10 and 12 year old, it can get pretty offensive and depressing pretty quickly. My advice is to keep the kids away/

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Venice Beach Boardwalk also viewed

 

Been to Venice Beach Boardwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Venice Beach Boardwalk, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.