We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good menu, pleasant setting” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chaya Downtown

Chaya Downtown
525 S. Flower Street, Los Angeles, CA 90071 (Central L.A)
213-236-9577
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Chaya Downtown is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #162 of 8,575 Restaurants in Los Angeles
Price range: $40 - $50
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Steakhouse, Salvadoran
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Central L.A
Cross street: Between 5th and 6th
Transit: FREE SHUTTLE SERVICE provided to and from major entertainment venues in Downtown Los Angeles. It runs every 15min beginning at 6:45pm.
Irvine, CA
Top Contributor
356 reviews 356 reviews
237 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
180 helpful votes 180 helpful votes
“Good menu, pleasant setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

We ate at Chaya Downtown with some out of town friends. It worked well for a group. We each had different levels of appetite and were able to build means from just an appetizer to a full meal. All of the selections were great -- many fresh items, nicely presented and tasty. I had a grilled peach appetizer, halibut, and a peach cobbler. I enjoyed them all. Two members of our party had sushi or sashimi, which also seemed be good.

The services was attentive, but not overbearing. The wine list was good and included a good range of California and Oregon wines.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    24
    2
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Delicious, fresh, different”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

Excellent creativity of fresh, local food. Excellent service by Ameila! Nice combination of flavors such as the "grilled peach with proscuitto and burrata chees. Thank you....

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Whit bass like "Butter"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012 via mobile

I admit to a little apprehension about Japanese/French fusion. That quickly ended when we were served a small dish of watermelon with feta cheese, a very nice surprise. My server recommended the roasted peach and proscuitto, which figured into a higher tip, it was a very pleasing combination.

My entree was the miso white bass served with a nice compliment of rice and vegetables. The bass melted in my mouth like butter. Perfectly prepared, tender and sweet.

My first visit to Chaya will not be my last. It has been added to my international rolladex of restaurants.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012 via mobile

Good food, not exclusively japan, menu is somewhat short but stil versatile. Good wines

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, CA
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“This is a very solid dinner choice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

I sat at the bar and enjoyed a steak in Central American style along with a margarita. The location is great, and the food is a fine example of culinary art. Lots of action and people. Loved it!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chaya Downtown also viewed

 

Been to Chaya Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chaya Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.