We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good menu, pleasant setting” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chaya Downtown

Chaya Downtown
525 S. Flower Street, Los Angeles, CA 90071 (Downtown)
+1 213-236-9577
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Chaya Downtown is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #305 of 8,047 Restaurants in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $40
Cuisines: Japanese, American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: Between 5th and 6th
Transit: FREE SHUTTLE SERVICE provided to and from major entertainment venues in Downtown Los Angeles. It runs every 15min beginning at 6:45pm.
Description: The Chaya restaurant family originated when Hikage Chaya opened in Hayama, Japan. From this initial tea house, that opened 390 years ago, the Tsunoda family has expanded into French bistros and pastry shops throughout Japan and introduced the brand to the U.S. in 1984 with the opening of Chaya Brasserie in Beverly Hills. Since then, Chaya has opened locations in Venice, San Francisco, Downtown Los Angeles, and LAX. The cuisine at each restaurants can best be described as modern Japanese though each restaurant has a distinct personality reflecting their different locations. Corporate Executive Chef, Shigefume Tachibe is best known for pioneering modern Japanese cuisine and his contributions to the Asian-Fusion movement. His chef coat and knife are in permanent display in the Smithsonian. The most important tenet of Chaya's philosophy is high-level omotenashi (hospitality), bringing the Japanese teahouse tradition of warm and personal service to each guest.
Irvine, CA
Level Contributor
441 reviews
292 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 258 helpful votes
“Good menu, pleasant setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

We ate at Chaya Downtown with some out of town friends. It worked well for a group. We each had different levels of appetite and were able to build means from just an appetizer to a full meal. All of the selections were great -- many fresh items, nicely presented and tasty. I had a grilled peach appetizer, halibut, and a peach cobbler. I enjoyed them all. Two members of our party had sushi or sashimi, which also seemed be good.

The services was attentive, but not overbearing. The wine list was good and included a good range of California and Oregon wines.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    28
    4
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Delicious, fresh, different”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

Excellent creativity of fresh, local food. Excellent service by Ameila! Nice combination of flavors such as the "grilled peach with proscuitto and burrata chees. Thank you....

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Libertyville, Illinois
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Whit bass like "Butter"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012 via mobile

I admit to a little apprehension about Japanese/French fusion. That quickly ended when we were served a small dish of watermelon with feta cheese, a very nice surprise. My server recommended the roasted peach and proscuitto, which figured into a higher tip, it was a very pleasing combination.

My entree was the miso white bass served with a nice compliment of rice and vegetables. The bass melted in my mouth like butter. Perfectly prepared, tender and sweet.

My first visit to Chaya will not be my last. It has been added to my international rolladex of restaurants.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012 via mobile

Good food, not exclusively japan, menu is somewhat short but stil versatile. Good wines

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, CA
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“This is a very solid dinner choice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

I sat at the bar and enjoyed a steak in Central American style along with a margarita. The location is great, and the food is a fine example of culinary art. Lots of action and people. Loved it!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chaya Downtown also viewed

 
Los Angeles, CA
Los Angeles, CA
 

Been to Chaya Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chaya Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.