We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great atmosphere, menu and hooka” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Desert Rose Restaurant & Bar

Desert Rose Restaurant & Bar
1700 N. Hillhurst Avenue, Los Angeles, CA 90027 (Central L.A)
3236661166
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,221 of 8,555 restaurants in Los Angeles
Price range: $35 - $50
Cuisines: American, Mediterranean, Vegan, Organic
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Central L.A
Description: Desert Rose Restaurant & Bar, specializing in California-Mediterranean cuisine, is located in the heart of beautiful Los Feliz. Offering outdoor dining, specialty cocktails, beer, wine, fresh pasta and local ingredients, Desert Rose is the perfect place to spend a lovely LA evening. Kabobs, fresh hummus, steak and seafood are just a few of our many specialties. We also offer a vegan menu and use many organic ingredients. Come in during our small plate discount times or happy hour to enjoy some incredible dishes, great drink specials and great times with our knowledgeable and friendly staff.
LUCERNE
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere, menu and hooka”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

We loved this place and we felt really lucky running into it by chance.
The food was delicious and well priced, drinks perfect and unusual. They have hooka and it's great to have some in the outdoor patio listening to the live music from inside.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

78% Recommend
    7
    11
    3
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
snjmom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Pleasant outdoor patio dining, Excellent Mediterranean Inspired Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

I ate at this restaurant twice in one week. I dined for lunch and for dinner. The outdoor patio atmosphere is nice. The indoors appears small,so I don't know how many diners can be accommodated in the rain, but the patio was spacious. For lunch, I ordered a Mediterranean lunch special sandwich which featured the flavors of olive oil, goat cheese and various spices, and it was excellently flavored. My meal was very flavorful and unique in taste.

For my dinner menu, a different evening that same week, I ordered the beef kabobs. They were not as spectacular as my lunch special was, but it was filling and well prepared.

The service was excellent and the drinks from the bar were good.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Wonderful addition to the neighborhood!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

We go to the Desert Rose all the time because it's nearby, has great food, pleasant atmosphere, and friendly service. Most of the tables are outdoors, so it's great for lunch or brunch on a nice day--you definitely need to sit indoors if it's cold or rainy, and there aren't many tables inside (although I've never been turned away in cold weather). Our favorites are the avocado and smoked salmon caesar salad, risotto, goat cheese salad and the fish and chips (best in town!). Portions are just right--not too big, not too small. The bartenders don't always know the recipes for every drink you can think of, but they cheerfully learn new ones, even going across the street to the liquor store to pick up Campari when they run out. They introduced us to Blason Timberlay, a white wine we now buy for home. The owners are always around and come by our table or greet us when we arrive. The giant glass rose outside is a little goofy and puts some people off, but the rest of the design is elegant and beautiful. We've always had a terrific experience there--highly recommended!

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los angeles
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Would not Go Back”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

We had two Groupons to this restaurant. During both visits we had only one good food item - the Fritto Misto. This was outstanding. The rest of the food I can only call so so and way overpriced. The service was good, had a nice patio and was very clean. But I would not even bother to go back even with another Groupon.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Good place for lunch. Lovely patio”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2012 via mobile

Whilst visiting friends in Los Angeles, they took us to Desert Rose for lunch.

Very nice location with nice patio seating and modern trendy interior.

Service was good as was the food.

Somewhere I would return to in the future.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Desert Rose Restaurant & Bar also viewed

 
Los Angeles, CA
 

Been to Desert Rose Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Desert Rose Restaurant & Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.