We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful addition to the neighborhood!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Desert Rose Restaurant & Bar

Desert Rose Restaurant & Bar
1700 N. Hillhurst Avenue, Los Angeles, CA 90027 (Central L.A)
3236661166
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,612 of 7,958 Restaurants in Los Angeles
Price range: $35 - $50
Cuisines: American, Organic, Mediterranean, Vegan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Central L.A
Description: Desert Rose Restaurant & Bar, specializing in California-Mediterranean cuisine, is located in the heart of beautiful Los Feliz. Offering outdoor dining, specialty cocktails, beer, wine, fresh pasta and local ingredients, Desert Rose is the perfect place to spend a lovely LA evening. Kabobs, fresh hummus, steak and seafood are just a few of our many specialties. We also offer a vegan menu and use many organic ingredients. Come in during our small plate discount times or happy hour to enjoy some incredible dishes, great drink specials and great times with our knowledgeable and friendly staff.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Wonderful addition to the neighborhood!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

We go to the Desert Rose all the time because it's nearby, has great food, pleasant atmosphere, and friendly service. Most of the tables are outdoors, so it's great for lunch or brunch on a nice day--you definitely need to sit indoors if it's cold or rainy, and there aren't many tables inside (although I've never been turned away in cold weather). Our favorites are the avocado and smoked salmon caesar salad, risotto, goat cheese salad and the fish and chips (best in town!). Portions are just right--not too big, not too small. The bartenders don't always know the recipes for every drink you can think of, but they cheerfully learn new ones, even going across the street to the liquor store to pick up Campari when they run out. They introduced us to Blason Timberlay, a white wine we now buy for home. The owners are always around and come by our table or greet us when we arrive. The giant glass rose outside is a little goofy and puts some people off, but the rest of the design is elegant and beautiful. We've always had a terrific experience there--highly recommended!

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    13
    4
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Los angeles
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Would not Go Back”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

We had two Groupons to this restaurant. During both visits we had only one good food item - the Fritto Misto. This was outstanding. The rest of the food I can only call so so and way overpriced. The service was good, had a nice patio and was very clean. But I would not even bother to go back even with another Groupon.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Good place for lunch. Lovely patio”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2012

Whilst visiting friends in Los Angeles, they took us to Desert Rose for lunch.

Very nice location with nice patio seating and modern trendy interior.

Service was good as was the food.

Somewhere I would return to in the future.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Overpriced and underwhelming”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2011

A lovely place with a great vibe, but we found the food pedestrian and overpriced. Roast eggplant soup .. an unusual dish ... was so lacking in flavor it could have been made from nearly anything. Humus was tasteless and pasty. Chicken kabob plate (plus tasteless humus) comes with a choice of rice, fries, or tabbouleh ... so if you opt for rice or fries, you get nothing green on your plate, and it certainly isn't much to eat for $12. Go for drinks, coffee and deserts but choose one of a myriad ofother Middle Eastern places in LA for really tasty food.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Fun place!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2011

This place is really cute! It is really nice to sit outside and enjoy a cocktail and relax. The have a good beer selection. I hear their sangria is delicious! The give a really nice flatbread/pita with some middle eastern herbs when you order. I had the chicken kebab plate ($14). I was a bit surprised that it only came with one chicken kebab but it was very good. The hummus that it came with was good. The tabbouleh was okay, nothing special. I love it, so I was a bit disappointed. It also came with a garlic sauce for the meat, I have had better. It was a fun place. I would go again...and I would probably get the same thing but I would get fries in place of the tabbouleh .

  • Visited August 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Desert Rose Restaurant & Bar also viewed

 
Los Angeles, CA
Los Angeles, CA
 

Been to Desert Rose Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Desert Rose Restaurant & Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.