We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing Experience” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Daily Grill - Downtown LA

Daily Grill - Downtown LA
612 S. Flower St., Los Angeles, CA 90017 (Central L.A)
2136224500
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,145 of 8,655 Restaurants in Los Angeles
Price range: $40 - $50
Cuisines: Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Central L.A
Cross street: 6th & Flower Street
Transit: Metro: 7th & Flower
Bakersfield, California
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Disappointing Experience”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

I dined here with 4 business associates. We were there for dinner. Maybe it was because it was the day after Christmas and they did not have adequate staff but in any event the service was lackluster at best. Hard to understand as the restaurant was not crowded. The food was pedestrian. I think there are other, better dining choices in downtown Los Angeles.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    15
    10
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Service - THE WORST - don't go!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013 via mobile

AVOID THIS PLACE UNLESS YOU LIKE BEING MISTREATED!!!!
So we never got a chance to eat before we left. The wait staff and especially the hostess(es) are acceptionally rude. They are not concerned about their clients well being at all, just about making money off you poor saps.

They are snooty and look down on you as if you are peasents.

We were waiting outside for the restaurant to open in 10 minutes. It was cold and windy and the women in our group were suggesting to go somewhere else. We asked two difference wait staff if it would be okay to wait just inside the door. Their reply was we are closed. We then knocked on the door to ask the hostesses. They both said the business is closed and you have to wait. Finally thinking that we were going to catch a break one of the hostess opened the door and expected us to hold the door for her while she dragged out two big sidewalk signs right passed us and looked down on us as she walked by like we were peasents. We were not dressed poorly as most of us were in slacks and dress shirts.
I don't know about the food. But I can tell you the service is UNFORGIVEABLE.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, United States
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Enjoyable Experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

We were there on the last night of the World Series. It was nice to see a lively establishment in downtown Los Angeles in the evening. Service was very good, food was tasty, and the wine list sufficiently diverse to meet everyone's taste.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunny California
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“I Can't figure out why it is so popular”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

I have eaten here twice and can't figure out how they fill so much square footage with barely above average food at barely above average prices. Seems like an upscale Applebees to me.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Solo Dining”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Good food and comfortable restaurant for solo dining. Had a good experience Easter 2013. Kitchen really cares about the ingredients used and serves delicious food.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Daily Grill - Downtown LA also viewed

 
 

Been to Daily Grill - Downtown LA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Daily Grill - Downtown LA, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.