We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and scenic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Griffith Park

Griffith Park
4730 Crystal Springs Dr, Los Angeles, CA 90027
(323) 913-4688
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Griffith Park like an insider
Top Rated
$52*
and up
Hollywood Hills Hiking Tour in Los Angeles
Ranked #10 of 704 things to do in Los Angeles
Activities: Hiking
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Covering more than 4,107 acres of natural terrain, this is the largest municipal park and urban wilderness area in the United States, which offers numerous family attractions and activities.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Beautiful and scenic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

It's beautifully large; if we had more time to spend, we definitely would have gone for a hike. Instead we walked around a bit and had a little picnic, visited the Conservatory, & sought out the tunnel featured in 'Back to the Future 2' and 'Who Framed Roger Rabbit?'.
I like to think if I was a local, I'd be all over those trails and star-gazing events.
Very scenic view of LA and the Hollywood sign.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,243 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    777
    394
    62
    8
    2
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Didnt expect this huge park in the middle of chaotic, urban mass that is LA. So much to see and do throughout this area. Good for walks and some steep hikes but difficult to get around main attractions without a car.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great Day at the Zoo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Los Angeles Griffith Park Zoo and Botanical Gardens., you will need a day to take it all in. There are a myriad of endangered species, many which are not found in any other American zoos. It is always a treat to go to the zoo, and LA zoo, although not as large as some, offers a day of entertainment coupled with educational aspects.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tehachapi, California
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Great Park”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Love the Observatory - just don't visit on Christmas Eve - not a chance to park at all. Good view over LA and a nice place to spend some time - bit difficult to find your way round though.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fun and Educational”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

A great way to see LA from above and learn about astrology. They'd be better served with an online reservation system for shows playing in the building, and better guidance on parking. (I didn't want to pay to park so I parked down the hill from the observatory and hiked up to it which was fun, but after the show was over and I took all my pictures and hiked back down my car had been ticketed). Just be extra careful where you park and that you know all of LA's fun parking restrictions and good luck...

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Griffith Park also viewed

 

Been to Griffith Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Griffith Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.