We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great venue for corporate reception” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Skirball Cultural Center

Skirball Cultural Center
2701 North Sepulveda Blvd., Los Angeles, CA 90049 (Westside)
310-440-4500
Improve this listing
Ranked #33 of 310 Attractions in Los Angeles
Type: History Museums, Specialty Museums, Cultural
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: This museum and cultural center holds the world's fifth-largest collection of artifacts concerning Judaism and American life. Noah's Ark is an interactive playspace for families, with a separate timed admission ticket.
New York
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Great venue for corporate reception”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2011

I hosted a conference at the Skirball LA and the attendees love it. It's a very different feel from your typical corporate meeting space.

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    42
    10
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Interesting continuing exhibits with some very good special exhibits”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

Great variety with many things for a variety7 of tastes. AVOID the restaurant - salty & over-priced

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Such fun, hands on museum, but with long lines”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

We went to the Noah's Ark exhibit which was beautiful and interesting. There was a terrific introduction by the guide. the children then took off for amazing hands on exploration of the inside of noah's ark. The animals are made out of many everyday materials and are so sturdy. they could make noise and thunder and lightning. they climbed all over the inside of the ark. it was difficult for adults to get up there if you had a child who was scared to go alone. but it was very safe and they could climb high. and then the guides introduced them to multiethnic dance which some kids loved and some did not. but it was terrific all in all. there was a lovely rainbow at the end if there is sunlight. there are some tables for eating as well as a nice cafe. I would definitely recommend making reservations as early as you can in the summer. the weekends and thursdays (which are free) are booked very early. even though we bought our tickets online, we still had to wait on the same slow moving line to buy as well as to get our stickers. it seems to me that could be streamlined a bit more. the admissions are timed, and good for 90minutes or so. they are forgiving of about 30minute delay and will tack it on the end.

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Always Interesting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2011

I've been to the Skirball three times for three different exhibitions, and have always found the exhibitions to be very interesting and well-presented. While the Skirball is a Jewish-American Cultural Center, the exhibitions have a very broad, well-researched, and extremely accessible perspective. The three exhibitions I've seen - Bob Dylan, The Freedom Riders, and Harry Houdini were all well curated - with lots of information with available docent tours. The Skirball has easy access off I-405 north of LA, with plenty of ramp parking. Free admission on Thursdays.

Visited July 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
“Fascinating Museum , Houdini a Must See, and a Great Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2011

My husband and I made our first trip to the Skirball Cultural Center today. We had no idea what to expect, but we knew it was about Jewish history. It is a remarkable and enlightening experience. The museum section of the complex is a presentation of the history, culture and of course, religion of the Jewish people. Each part of the exhibit is beautifully detailed with engaging descriptions of each display. There is an emphasis on the relationship between the Jewish culture and democracy. My husband bought a few books and is reading right now about Lincoln and the Jews. The special exhibit is about Houdini. I was expecting a small room with a few pictures. Wrong! It is a huge exhibit hall with multimedia presentations of the life and magic illusions of Houdini. It is laid out from the beginning of his story as a Jewish immigrant, through his increasingly difficult "magic". The artifacts such as the straight jacket from which he escaped, the milk can in which he was locked, and many more are remarkable. There are original posters and current art works about Houdini. This is a must see, even if you are not a fan of Houdini. The connection of Houdini to the American culture demonstrates his place in history between the Civil War and the modern age. Please see Houdini before September 4, 2011 when this exhibit moves to San Francisco. We ate lunch at Zeidlers Cafe on the premises. It was an excellent lunch, especially for vegetarians and pescatarians. There were many selections for us. The service was outstanding. It is a nice addition to a visit to the Skirball.

Visited June 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Skirball Cultural Center also viewed

 

Been to Skirball Cultural Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Skirball Cultural Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.