We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Creepy” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Figueroa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Figueroa to your Saves list
Hotel Figueroa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   939 South Figueroa Street, Los Angeles, CA 90015 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Bed & Breakfast Offer
Ranked #125 of 324 Hotels in Los Angeles
Grandville, MI
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Creepy”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

This place is something else - They do everything old school - real keys (not swipe cards) no computer - no email confirmation. The rooms have no iron, no alarm clock, no cups or coffee pot in the rooms. NOT good for a business trip - I was scheduled to stay for a business conference but there was no iron in the room - not very impressive to show up in a wrinkled suit.
Additionally, it is really really dark with gold and red walls making it quite scary if you are not comfortable with big city LA - Coming in at night....Creepy! The wall décor - not child appropriate - my daughter asked why there were naked ladies on the wall (it was supposed to be artistic, but....)

Room Tip: IF you MUST stay here ask for a room not down a dark creepy hall
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HSCGM, Manager at Hotel Figueroa, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear Grandville traveller,

Thank you for the time and effort you took to provide feedback on your most recent stay. Firstly let me so that I agree with most of what you are saying. Thus we are in the midst of an extensive renovation to make this historic property into the luxury hotel that it was originally designed to be. The hallways are currently not well lit and the current design is very "specialized" so it is truly was not decorated to appeal to everybody, However that being are progressing daily with improvements and amenities that we feel will be met with very positive feedback from out guests. We look forward to sharing these with you we go forward.

Sincerely,

Colin McBeath
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

507 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    166
    108
    41
    70
See reviews for
51
127
51
141
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

My girlfriend and I stayed here for one night. The check in was easy and the staff were accomodating and friendly. I choose this hotel because it had pretty good reviews and being DTLA I didn't want to get stuck in another roach motel like my previous experience. We attended the BET Experience at Staples Center, we were very close and it is easy walking distance about two blocks. We were close to the FIGON7TH which provides many places to eat. The room itself was fine, enough space to relax and get ready for our evening.If you are looking for something over the top and fancy this isn't the place for you. I must say the decor added much flavor tot he hotel and lobby as well as our room. There are no coffee makers in the room and remember it's downtown so it's very nosy during the night. The bed was very comfy and The Fig provided extra pillows which was a nice plus. The tv was not a newer one and it didn't get many stations but we didn't do much tv watching. The parking lot is behidn the hotel and has security surveillance 24 hrs a day. There was a guard on duty when we arrived in the afternoon. Parking is $12 a day. The food was good, the bar was cool, you must have a drink and sit by the pool. Overall, I happy with the room and the location. I wouldn't really recommend this hotel for families with young children. Oh yeah , the hall ways between rooms and elevator were really hot and muggy. The room old school a/c worked great. I will stay here again if attending a concert at the Staples Center.

Room Tip: If you are planning on staying here a few nights ask for the quieter rooms if they exsist.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

The hotel rooms are very small and have very little technology in the room. The tv is from the late 90's and the hvac equipment is ancient. Wireless isn't complimentary and the dining area is mediocre. The only positive is that it's very easy to walk to the Staples Center and the convention center.

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Amboy
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

Spotlessly clean and very convenient for thee LA Convention Center, Staples Center etc, this is a Moroccan theme property with cool vibe public areas. Small pool (with no loungers). I stayed on business June '14 and my party took seven rooms - most were happy but some felt their bathroom was small. I was very happy with mine, so I guess there are lots of different sizes so you should request anything special.

Overall I'm very happy and would stay again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, Calif
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

We had attended a party at this hotel about a year ago, and wanted to return to spend a night. Rooms are tastefully decorated in a "Morrocan" motif, (as well as the public areas), and no complaints here except the noise at night- I think it was the freeway being close by. However you are right in the "action" with Staples Center and the convention center close by. Easy walking to a lot of night lfe, (LA LIve, etc.). Hotel parking is a good deal at $12/night. The room with tax and parking was about $200/night. Remember, this is an old hotel, but enjoyed it and would probably return.

Room Tip: Get a room on an upper floor to reduce outside noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014 via mobile

Stayed her a couple nights in may after 7 weeks traveling across the US. Good value for money. Really big room with two closets for his and hers clothes! Big comfortable bed. The pool was great as it was hot during our stay, so it was nice to cool off.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

We decided to have a small staycation for the holiday weekend, and loved our home away from home! We were surprised to find a refrigerator in our room, and were thrilled with the funky Moroccan decor! The staff were very friendly, the pool was a dream, and the lobby doors are locked at night (making us feel very safe)! The only complaint is that they wouldn't allow 4 of us in the dbl/dbl room, so we had to pay extra for the two queen beds. Oh well!

Room Tip: They don't allow 4 people in a dbl/dbl room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Figueroa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Figueroa

Address: 939 South Figueroa Street, Los Angeles, CA 90015
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #125 of 324 Hotels in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Figueroa 3*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casablanca collides with ancient Arabia at the lush watering hole in ravishing garden setting overrun with boungainvillea, spiny cactus and succulents. Just a basketball's throw from Staples Center, the Figueroa opened in 1925 as a YWCA and turned into a hotel after the Depression. Oodles of celebrities frequent the place for pre- and post-concert parties, fashion shows and the like, but no one at the hotel crows about it, which is why the place has come to epitomize the ultimate in laid-back - even self-effacing - style. The ornately tiled bar with its flickering candles, well-worn wooden stools and tranquil blue pool are the perfect place to enjoy a mojito with fresh muddled lime. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Figueroa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Figueroa Hotel Los Angeles

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Figueroa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.