We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Starlight Inn-Canoga Park” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Starlight Inn

Starlight Inn
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Los Angeles
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Starlight Inn
Save
You added Starlight Inn to your Saves list
7535 Winnetka Avenue, Winnetka, Los Angeles, CA 91306 (South San Fernando Valley)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #288 of 324 Hotels in Los Angeles
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Starlight Inn-Canoga Park”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

I stayed at this place a little over three years ago, being that I am on disability and disabled I had to result to a 2 Star Hotel! Well, a few years ago I found the place to be a delight, very clean and very good customer service. unfortunately, that has changed over the years. My room was SOILED! The carpet, bedcover and curtains were sour! And to top it off my lock had to be jimmied in order to work! And to make matters worse the customer service were atrocious! I'm a stickler for: You get what you pay for, However, this place should be closed down for health reasons, if for nothing else!!!!!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    3
    0
    1
    14
See reviews for
2
4
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Merced, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Worst Place ever!!! Hotel Room Doesn’t have It’s own microwave like it says online. You have to go downstairs out to the parking lot to use the hotels microwave. You ask for a non-smoking room and you get a smoking room. Ac doesn’t work. The tables and the bathroom sink were dirty and not wiped down. The sink and re shower tub is clogged up and smells really bad. My boyfriend found porn magazines in one of the dresser. Ashes left over from cigarettes from last customers were let on the floor and tables. Rooms don’t have a ironing board o iron clothes no ice machines. Very poor customer service. When asked for extra towels, the lady said she didn’t have extras to give me because she only had enough for her service? Wth does that mean??? Oh one last thing! There’s an elevator but you can’t use it! Its only for their services ,and it’s a three story building! Good luck with your luggage!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Worst and distasteful place ever..so much noise,towels dirty,toilet paper half used,walk inn rate with coupon states $39.50 walk in rate,clerk charged us $50.00 even claimed coupon was not valid...never again at any starlight inn being that we are frequent travelers..

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northridge
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

The management is horrible. They will not listen to you. They spit policy talk at you. I was charged for 7 nights but they're giving me only 6 nights and 7 days. I would NOT hear me out.

I have stayed here previously as well and they WILL rip you off!! They advertise prices they won't stand by. If you have someone helping you with your bags or have someone else paying for your room for you, they will charge for that extra person! Even if they are only helping you with luggage or paying for your stay!

I stayed here 2 weeks ago but in a different room and the other guests were asking me if I had a bug/mosquito problem because they were getting bit up. I wished I listened to them but I guess I wouldn't experience it because I hadn't experienced it before. They do have bed bugs and they are highly contagious!! I'm worried about leaving here and taking them with me =(

Do yourself (and your family) a favor and save your money and health: DO NOT STAY HERE.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, CA
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

Yes, it is not a review of the motel in Winnetka, but of a motel of the same name in Alhambra, on Alhambra Blvd. However, it appears both motels are of similar poor quality...

The most unbelievably noisy motel ever imagined, with doors banging, feet clumping loudly around, voices calling from room across to room and from the upstairs balcony down to the parking lot below until as late as 4AM on weekends and 2AM on weeknights. Even adorable little children running freely around screaming into the wee hours of the morning. The best part? The source of the noise was the staff who live on site! And when I asked politely if the children could please be restricted from running and screaming past my door at night, I was tongue-lashed by a staff member for complaining. I traveled cross-country for a month staying at cheap-cheap motels, and nowhere did I encounter one as awful as this. The room is clean enough, the management friendly enough, but stay here only if you never wish to sleep.

Room Tip: Noisy staff lives upstairs. You're better with a downstairs room and the noise of cars entering...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

The BED BUGS
The Poice Raids, no me, but twice while I was there and that was only 2 nites and 3 days.
The RUDE managers
The DIRTY SHEETS
The SMELLY ROOMS

...and the list goes on.

Don't go here, sleep in your car...before staying here.

Room Tip: Here is my tip for choosing a good room, go to a different motel. Motel 6 feels like the Beverly Hi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012 via mobile

Everything was pretty nice not perfect but hey you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Starlight Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Starlight Inn

Address: 7535 Winnetka Avenue, Winnetka, Los Angeles, CA 91306
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > South San Fernando Valley
Hotel Style:
Ranked #288 of 324 Hotels in Los Angeles
Number of rooms: 60

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Starlight Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.