We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hard to find, squeezed in behind a Wendy's...but it's a gem.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Woodland Hills

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Woodland Hills to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Woodland Hills
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   22617 Ventura Boulevard, Los Angeles, CA 91364   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #94 of 324 Hotels in Los Angeles
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
97 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
158 helpful votes 158 helpful votes
“Hard to find, squeezed in behind a Wendy's...but it's a gem.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2011

I stayed here on points and it took about 5-10 minutes to find it. If you're familiar with that section on Ventura Blvd between Fallbrook Avenue and Topanga Canyon, it is congested and impossible to see specific businesses. I say, look for the Wendy's, it is next/behind it. The hotel is a recent re-do and is quiet and has probably the best cable selection I have ever seen at a hotel and I've been to many "real" 5 star hotels. They have top notch security, so it would be hard for any sketchy types to loiter around on go straight to the rooms. The staff are great except for this one tool, "Ali". Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    54
    22
    10
    2
See reviews for
38
35
8
33
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2011

My partner and I stayed here for a total of 9 nights in Sep 2011. The rooms are clean and functional - We had a normal room for 7 days and came back at the end of our trip for 2 nights in a suite. The suite was much larger, which suited us with our huge amount of luggage! The breakfast is complimentary but was pretty average....We only had it a couple of days and just had toast and a juice. Parking is free, which is great. The pool is tiny so if you are looking for a place to lounge around the pool, this would probably not be the place for you. The only real downside to this hotel is that the free wireless cut out about every 5 minutes so we had to constantly keep logging back on. We spoke to reception about this and they said they had re-set it but it made no difference. They have a computer room if you get sick of the wifi playing up or need to print tickets, etc. Right next door to the hotel is a supermarket and a burger place, which is convenient. We would stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: The suites are quite a bit larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clovis, California
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

This was actually a nice hotel just as Holiday Inn Express hotels usually are. I would recommend the hotel but just plan on having breakfast somewhere else.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2011

We had one of the King Suites, which was kind of unusual for a Holiday Inn Express to have that large of a room. The furnishings seemed pretty new, but the hallway smelled funky. If you have business in the area and the location is convenient, you could do worse, but don't expect to want to spend any time in the neighborhood. The funkiest part was the tiny swimming pool which was shoe-horned onto the side of the building right outside several rooms. I can imagine someone walking out, taking three steps and falling in the pool.

Room Tip: They are all about the same
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011

I stayed here in July 2011with my 17 year old. It was very clean and quiet. Breakfast had much more variety than I expected- pancakes,omelettes,scarmbled eggs depending on the day. Hotel staff were very courteous and friendly- definitely recommend!Exrtremely convenient for visiting the Malibu area- less than 30 minutes to the beach!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

Found this hotel online. It turned out to be a very nice place to stay. Free parking in underground garage, free stepped up hot breakfast, free newspaper. The room had granite counter tops and the beds were very comfortable. There was even a fridge & microwave. Next door there is a Wendys on one side and a grocery on the other. I would stay there again if in the area.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murrieta, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

This is a one year new HI Express. Rooms are comfortable and large. Windows views are minimal as this complex is squeezed into a rather narrow lot. Upstairs parking is very limited and it's very easy to get fooled into driving all the way to the end and discover that all the spaces are taken. There is ample parking in the underground garage. Recommend going that route first. Breakfast was a bit shy north of mediocore. Eggs tasted premade, sausage was greasy. Their pancake making machine was kind of unique and made decent flapjacks. The king bed I had was adequate as best.....it was on the firm side and felt as though there was a plastic sheet beneath the fitted sheet. I also found it odd that there was a floor drain in the bathroom that constantly gurgled from water flushing through it. No pay tv, but oodles of free cable channels including a handful of HBO channels. Signage for hotel is minimalist at best. I drove right past the place when I first arrived. Desk clerk said that the city made them take down their big sign. This is the San Fernando Valley....there are no signage rules. Anyway, when I'm back in the area I would consider staying here. Hot Tip....if you looking for a good breakfast place....try Bobby's.....it's about a half-mile west from the hotel. Great food!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Woodland Hills? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Woodland Hills

Address: 22617 Ventura Boulevard, Los Angeles, CA 91364
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#49 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Woodland Hills 2.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express(R) & Suites Woodland Hills. Perfectly positioned in the southwestern part of the San Fernando Valley, our hotel is close to Universal Studios California, Malibu beaches, Santa Monica, Warner Center Business Park and other area businesses which ensures convenience for both business and leisure guests. With Pepperdine University, CSUN, Pierce College and Loyola Marymount University also nearby, our property is ideal for those visiting family and friends or attending special events at these high education institutions. Being located on Ventura Blvd, allows our guest to walk to an array of diverse restaurants including Indian, French, Argentine, and Italian cuisines. . Visit the Westfiled Topanga Mall or take a beautiful drive on Malibu Canyon Road to beautiful Malibu to make the most of your stay with us. Nearby historic sites like Ronald Reagan's Presidential Library and The Getty Museum are great sites to see as well as visiting Paramount Ranch to see where famous actors such as Bob Hope, John Wayne, and Diane Keaton performed their craft and shows such as MASH and Dr. Quinn Medicine Woman were filmed. Our hotel's guests enjoy wonderful amenities, including hotel-wide free Wi-Fi access, Business Center, our complimentary Express Start Breakfast Bar and an incredible 22-person outdoor spa. See what it means to "Stay Smart" in the San Fernando Valley. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Woodland Hills reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Woodland Hills

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Woodland Hills, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.