We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great motel/hotel/location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Farmer's Daughter Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Farmer's Daughter Hotel to your Saves list
Farmer's Daughter Hotel
3.0 of 5 Motel   |   115 S. Fairfax Ave., Los Angeles, CA 90036 (Central L.A)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 339 Hotels in Los Angeles
Walnut Creek, California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great motel/hotel/location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

Nice clean rooms. Great location and friendly staff. The hotel is decorated in the 1950's style! But all modern amenities. The rooms a pricey for what you get, but then again you are paying for location. Parking is extra. The pool nag ping pong table were a fun touch. Ask for a quiet room.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

747 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    291
    307
    67
    45
    37
See reviews for
159
219
53
98
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

This hotel was okay for the one night we spent here, but I couldn't spend any longer here. We stayed in room 103- which a lot of people seem to say is the worst room. I actually had no idea about this until after our stay. We actually didn't have any issue with this room, we didn't hear any noise at all during that 1 night or even the next morning. I also had the bed closest to the window and heard nothing!

My main issue with the hotel was the lighting in the bathroom, it brightly flashed several times before lighting up the room, which was horrible in the middle of the night. Also the wifi. The wifi is one of the worst that I have ever used in a hotel. It was incredibly slow and patchy. We ended up going across to the Grove and using Barnes and Nobles free wifi!

We actually found the staff quite friendly and helpful. The cookies were also amazing! We probably wouldn't come back to this hotel again, but we did enjoy our short stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

Right across the street from LA's oldest Farmer's Market is The Farmer's Daughter hotel, thus the Farm Themed decor and surroundings. Quirky and extremely clever, spotlessly clean. Rooms are kind of spartan, but contain some seldom seen amenities, like the little box labeled "Just Do It" containing 2 condoms and some lubricant, and another labeled "Just Fix It" containing bandages and antiseptic ointment. Downside is that towels are collected in the morning,and show up again late in the day. Includes breakfast in Tart restaurant, on the premises, a terrific plus.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

Stayed here for 5 nights and what a nice little hotel it is.
I did love the quirkiness and novelty of the place.
The staff were really friendly and helpful and also the restaurant was good too.
Beds were very comfortable and the rooms were nice and clean. There was also a mini bar and small novelty handy packs in each room which were cute.
After room service had been they had forgotten replacement tea and coffee facilities, also the toilet paper was not replaced but this was nothing that the friendly desk staff couldn't help us with.
The only thing that I disliked was the vallet parking and I would have liked an option to park my own car but at least there was a carpark available and I think Valet is just an American standard that I don't get.
All in all it was a pleasant stay and if I were in the area again I would defiantly stay here again.
Thanks for a nice time :-)

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

My husband and I booked this hotel for seven nights during our three week stay in L.A. after reading the positive reviews. When I booked the hotel directly many months prior I requested a quiet room. I notice other reviews said Do not stay in room 103 due to noise. We we're put in room 102 right next door. Shortly after our arrival we stepped outside our room to explore the rest of this MOTEL and discovered the female staff member from the front desk having a heated argument with someone on her cell phone.On check in the staff were unfriendly disinterested and unhelpful. Room 102 was probably the second most noisiest room in the MOTEL right near the noisy clunking ice machine and vending machine.
Room was clean and basic. Curtains at windows were no better than a cheap tablecloth which allowed light in all night. Bathroom was tiny but served its purpose. We were kept awake listening to other guests using their bathrooms during the night. Walls were tissue thin. Although we didn't have overly high expectations we did expect something just a little better as we were paying quite a high price for the room. After the first night we asked if we could move rooms due to the noise from ice machine etc but were told we would have to wait another night as the hotel was booked out. After another noisy night we decided that we would stay put as it was either a choice between the machines or the music blaring day and night from the restaurant.
During that day there was a staff member outside our room sanding down tables possibly from the restaurant. That was fine but at 10.30pm that night he was a still noisy, sanding with lights blazing in to our room. What with the noise of the machines, music from the restaurant and now the constant scraping of the sandpaper right outside our room, this was the final straw. We asked the girl at the front desk if she could stop the man from sanding the tables at such a late hour and she was blissfully unaware that he was still working out there and showed no consideration for the guests. He did eventually pack up and leave. We decided to not let this horrendous MOTEL ruin our holiday so phoned around to find something else.
The next morning we told the man at the desk that we were leaving. He could not have cared less and did not even inquire as to why. He then told my husband that he would be charging us for the whole seven nights as it had been booked by Expedia. This was absolute rubbish and when I challenged him about it he said that he had made a mistake with the room number. Rubbish, he was incompetent and seemed to enjoy informing us that we had to pay for the 7 nights out of spite, he then was not in any way genuinely apologetic for his error. They did charge our credit card for the whole seven nights but did refund the difference after a few days. We left and went to a different hotel who couldn't have been more welcoming and helpful in a similar location with a much cheaper price.
It was absolute heaven after this horrible nightmare of a place. I'm surprised by the amount of positive reviews for this hotel (Motel!!) The staff were obnoxious and disinterested. The rooms tacky and noisy with uncomfortable beds. This is our 4th trip to the US and by far this is the worst hotel we have stayed in. Be warned, stay away!
Interestingly, two weeks later we struck up a conversation at LAX with some fellow Australian tourists whilst waiting to board our plane back home. They (like us) are frequent travellers to the US, they also stayed at the Farmer's Daughter but checked out after one night due to similar issues with noise, rude staff etc. Australians are in general laid back and easy going, this is a crappy hotel if even us Aussies find it intolerable.
In all this hotel/motel has only one thing going for it, it is close to the grove. That is not enough,however, to warrant booking a stay at this shabby excuse for a hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

First and foremost - I had a nice stay at the Farmer's Daughter.
Allow me to share a few observations:

THE GOOD
- The theme, and its execution inside and out, are absoutely charming.
- Nice and thoughtful extras offered: cookies or spiced hot cider served at the front desk.
- House-keeping does a decent job: spotless bathroom, fresh smell in the room.
- Good water pressure, plenty of hot water, quality shampoo and shower gel.
- Truly friendly staff.
- Fast internet, at no extra charge! Decent flat-screen TV in room.
- Great location near CBS Television City, The Grove, Farmer's Market, plus Whole Foods and Trader Joe's in walking distance.

THE CAVEATS
- While it calls itself a 'boutique hotel' it really is a spruced up motel property.
- Noisy A/C unit under the window: rushing fan, humming compressor and all.
- Limited counter space around the sink. And: No bar of soap for washing hands provided.
- Not much storage for clothes, but enough space in the room to 'live from the suitcase.'
- Noise from outside hallways and neighbouring rooms can be heard.
- Bathrooms are clean, but basic (acrylic wall covers, low tub,...), and they begin to show signs of age as well as of ageing.
- My room (#321), while being okay, also showed signs of fraying at the edges: leaky shower head, wavy linoleum near the tub, abused desk surface, curtains missing a loop or two,... While this is not a biggie, it still registers somehow...
- No Gym/Cardio on spot, and no info ready or avilable on suggested routes for runners.
The hotel, however, negotiated a discount daily rate at a nearby gym (which I did not get around to try)...
- As with many central locations, there is a certain amount of noise from the street.
- Popular restaurant TART also means music and chatter from the courtyard, especially during weekends.

THE VERDICT
I would recommend The Farmer's Daughter because of its unique theme, quirky decor, and great location. If you keep in mind the above, you are likely to have a pleasant stay there.
Just make sure you don't expect five-star perfection, serenity and luxury.
The hotel, however, should not rest on its laurels, and make sure it adresses issues such as timely renovations and maintenance.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

This is the second time that I have stayed here and they always deliver!! I came here with an associate and his wife and they LOVED it!! It is great to have little free goodies all day long - from the Hot Apple Cider and tasty cookies to their Whisky tastings and more. The staff here are really fantastic and we will all be back. Great location if you want to eat and shop at The Grove directly across the street and the same access to CBS Studios which is where we all went to for Dancing with the Stars. Their rates are also unbeatable for this property.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Farmer's Daughter Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Farmer's Daughter Hotel

Address: 115 S. Fairfax Ave., Los Angeles, CA 90036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Central L.A
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#34 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#71 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Farmer's Daughter Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Farmer’s Daughter Hotel is a unique West Hollywood hotel offering country styled hotel rooms and down-home hospitality right in the heart of Los Angeles. Our location can't be beat: Farmer's Daughter Hotel borders Hollywood/West Hollywood & Beverly Hills. We're across from the Grove, walking distance to Museum Row and the pedestrian-friendly parts of 3rd Street and Melrose, and, of course, CBS Studio where "The Price is Right" is filmed. When you book your reservation at our Los Angeles boutique hotel, get ready for a unique experience. Our Los Angeles boutique hotel rooms are truly inviting, with rocking chairs, hardwood floors, rain showers and plush bedding. Plus, as a pampered guest at our West Hollywood hotel, you'll be invited to join us for our Wine Hour, enjoy some fine cheeses, dine at TART Restaurant , chill at the pool, relax in the courtyard, plan your Hollywood adventure, or just enjoy our fantastic down-home hospitality. At the Farmer’s Daughter boutique hotel in Los Angeles, you are surrounded by many of the best places to visit, dine and play in Los Angeles, Hollywood and West Hollywood. No matter what your flavor of fun you're looking for, whether you're here for business or vacation (or a little of both), you will find it all at the Farmer’s Daughter Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com and Agoda so you can book your Farmer's Daughter Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Farmers Daughter Motel
Farmers Daughter Los Angeles
Farmers Daughter Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Farmer's Daughter Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.