We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute and good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Farmer's Daughter Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Farmer's Daughter Hotel to your Saves list
Farmer's Daughter Hotel
115 S. Fairfax Ave., Los Angeles, CA 90036 (Central L.A)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #47 of 324 Hotels in Los Angeles
New Orleans, Louisiana
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Cute and good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Not fancy or luxurious but quirky, cute hotel with very friendly and helpful staff. Great location and reasonably priced for LA. My son loved the chips and fresh cookies in the lobby as well as the birds. They have a nice outdoor pool and outside area. They do charge for parking even if you are a hotel guest but it is far less than the other hotels I considered.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

697 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    263
    292
    61
    44
    37
See reviews for
145
197
52
92
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Farmer's Daughter is an adorable little motel in a great location of LA. We came just to go to the LA County Museum of Art, which is less than a mile down the road. This building has been a motel for probably 60 years, but the upgrades make a huge difference in making it feel like a four star hotel. For example, the floors are hardwood instead of carpet (thank goodness!) and the lobby and courtyard are decorated like fun hangout spaces. The sexual jokes made about the daughter in the name are tacky, but I guess that's LA style. If you're spending over $200 a night for a hotel anyway, you could find something nicer in LA, but not cuter. Plan on spending $18/night for parking. P.S. We loved the in-room coffee.

Room Tip: Don't bother asking for a view, there isn't anything to look at. Beds are comfy no matter wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Excellent little hotel in Fairfax, Downtown LA.
Prices very reasonable, rooms comfortable and the staff were really friendly and helpfull.
10 minutes walk to The Beverly Centre shopping Mall (and the excellent Capital Grille restaurant)
Across the road from CBS tv studios and The Grove shopping area.
Also across the road from The original Farmers Market with excellent range of food to try.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

Farmer's Daughter is a really cute motel. They decorated it nicely, and it's spotless. They offer some cute little extras - fresh cookies in the lobby, cider, lemonade and caramels - and the staff is friendly.

Location? Right across from the Farmers Market, so, unlike most of the city, there are quite a few places to eat and drink within walking distance. The Grove shopping mall is there too, but don't get me started on shopping malls designed as fake streets.

Anyway, I like the place - can't help it - but 500+ for two nights in a motel? Plus, you HAVE to do valet parking at 20/day. First, I hate mandatory valet. Second, throw it in for free at your glorified/glamified (I know that's not a real word, by the way) motel.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We stayed at The Farmers Daughter for 4 nites and was pleasantly surprised by this place. The location is great and made for a central base for our stay in LA. Its located literally across the road from the farmers markets and the grove shopping mall so made it easier to organise meals with our young kids. Our kids loved the heated pool everynite and homemade cookies and lemonade they had in constant supply in the hotels foyer for guests. Overall, a great little place to stay,it was clean, staff very friendly and helpful..highly recommend it. Great for families too!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Having an event to attend on a Saturday at the Farmer's Market in Los Angeles, I was looking for a hotel/motel in that area. The Farmer's Daughter came up, and as it is directly across the street from the Farmer's Market, I thought it was worth a try. It is a bit pricey for my budget, but we only needed one night, being in driving distance from Los Angeles. I booked through an on-line website, so our first encounter was with the valet parking attendants. They responded to our arrival immediately, gettting us oriented, and advising the desk of our arrival. The hotel only has valet parking, which I am not fond of, but it was well handled, so no complaint there. It IS an extra $20, but it was listed on the hotel website, so it wasn't a surprise.
The front desk person was very friendly, and took care of us quickly, answering our questions, and getting us set up. The big basket of free cookies was a nice touch. There is a nice restaurant connected to the lobby, but we did not eat there. They did get us some sodas to go, though it was pricey....and probably why there is no vending machine in the hotel.....
The place is a bit different than most, which we like. It was very clean, evident by the super shiny wooden floors in and out of the rooms.....the balcony walkways were spotless, instead of the usual dirty concrete. We didn't mind the bare floors in the room, they were also spotless. We aren't fond of carpeting at home either, so it was fine.
The room was pretty standard, just a bit different in decorating. It had basic amenities - TV, fridge, safe....the DVD player was a nice touch, though we didn't use it. We couldn't figure out the TV, but a call to the desk had a maintenance person come up within ten minutes to show us how to work the remote. Our only complaint was that the tub was clogged up, and didn't drain while being used.....not a major thing. On a positive note, the bed was very comfortable, and there were extra pillows. The morning desk attendant was just as friendly and helpful during checkout.
So with only one night, we didn't test them thoroughly, but our stay was generally very good.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

We've stayed twice over the last several years--have found this to be one of the more affordable hotels in the area surrounded by Farmers' Market and The Grove. Property probably began as a tourist court years ago but has been updated and redecorated. Multi-entries to the property have been closed off so there is no traffic within. Does not offer free breakfast, but the restaurant Tart is on the same grounds with outdoor dining. Free wi-fi, fridge and microwave. Definitely would return for another stay if the occasion presents itself.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Farmer's Daughter Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Farmer's Daughter Hotel

Address: 115 S. Fairfax Ave., Los Angeles, CA 90036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Central L.A
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#38 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Farmer’s Daughter Hotel is a unique West Hollywood hotel offering country styled hotel rooms and down-home hospitality right in the heart of Los Angeles. Our location can't be beat: Farmer's Daughter Hotel borders Hollywood/West Hollywood & Beverly Hills. We're across from the Grove, walking distance to Museum Row and the pedestrian-friendly parts of 3rd Street and Melrose, and, of course, CBS Studio where "The Price is Right" is filmed. When you book your reservation at our Los Angeles boutique hotel, get ready for a unique experience. Our Los Angeles boutique hotel rooms are truly inviting, with rocking chairs, hardwood floors, rain showers and plush bedding. Plus, as a pampered guest at our West Hollywood hotel, you'll be invited to join us for our Wine Hour, enjoy some fine cheeses, dine at TART Restaurant , chill at the pool, relax in the courtyard, plan your Hollywood adventure, or just enjoy our fantastic down-home hospitality. At the Farmer’s Daughter boutique hotel in Los Angeles, you are surrounded by many of the best places to visit, dine and play in Los Angeles, Hollywood and West Hollywood. No matter what your flavor of fun you're looking for, whether you're here for business or vacation (or a little of both), you will find it all at the Farmer’s Daughter Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Farmer's Daughter Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Farmers Daughter Motel
Farmers Daughter Los Angeles
Farmers Daughter Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Farmer's Daughter Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.