We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good location , expensive, stylish” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Farmer's Daughter Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Farmer's Daughter Hotel to your Saves list
Farmer's Daughter Hotel
3.0 of 5 Motel   |   115 S. Fairfax Ave., Los Angeles, CA 90036 (Central L.A)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 339 Hotels in Los Angeles
Bologna, Italy
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“good location , expensive, stylish”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

near beverly hills and hollywood, very stilish, colored, of couse expensive. each room is different.
we reserved in advance the big roof mirror room but we got a standard room, without any explication, and without paying less..So, not really an excellent experience..
private parking inside, complimentary, with a guy who park your car and evry time wants a tip..And not just a small tip..
don't know if I would suggest it..Of course really nice and well furnished but maybe too expensive and pretentious..

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
picataggio, Owner at Farmer's Daughter Hotel, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Thank you for your review.

I am so glad that you liked everything and for the most part your stay was a good one.

I do not like reading that a room switch happened with out a solid explanation as to why. I am going to take this to our FD manager ASAP and figure out what is going, my deepest apologies...

Stay safe and travel well
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

747 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    291
    307
    67
    45
    37
See reviews for
159
219
53
98
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

This is a great place to stay in LA. Very good location. Hotel is clean, hip and quiet. The staff are excellent. Friendly. Helpful. The restaurant is great. Had a really good stay and will be back again for sure. I highly recommend this as a place to stay when in LA.

Room Tip: 318. Top floor. Corner room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

I would recommend this hotel to anyone who wishes to visit LA. It is located near The Farmer's Market (great food place!) and The Grove (great shopping!). As we did not rent a car on this trip, we took the bus around and it wasnt as difficult as I was led to believe. The bus stop to Hollywood is only 5 mins away and the bus back drops you off right in front of the hotel! The hotel is also close to Trader Joe's, Wholefoods and CVS so you can get any snacks, drinks, knick knacks etc very easily.

The staff were friendly and efficient. The hotel lobby had free cookies and lemonades for the guests everyday which was a bonus! The hotel placed these two little birds in a cage in the lobby which I thought were unnecessary. Poor birdies! I supposed the hotel wanted to try and make the hotel look and feel like a 'farm'. They even have a fake sheep next to the free lemonade stand! Again, unnecessary but probably adds some quirkiness and style to the whole hotel. Also, even though they provide free wi-fi in every room, they had a computer at the lobby for you to use to surf the web/check in for flights/print boarding passes/etc. Not many hotels have this so it made things easier for our flight to Vegas especially since we did not have our iPads/laptops with us.

Room was clean though lighting not bright enough. The bed was huge and comfy. Lots of room space and bathroom looked like it was just renovated/painted. They also provide a coffee machine in the room which was great for coffee lover like me. Overall quality of the room amenities were satisfactory. They have a restaurant called Tart just next to the hotel which we did not go to. The front desk did give us some complimentary vouchers to redeem smoothies from the restaurant but we were so busy everyday we forgot about it. Besides, the Farmer's Market provided much more food options so we never really considered going to the restaurant.

The only thing I want to complain about is the airconditioning unit. The weather in LA during our trip was sweltering hot! So the room was always very stuffy when we got back in the evening. It doesnt help that the airconditioning doesnt cool down the room very much. We turned the temperature down to the lowest - 66F. But still it was quite warm and made it especially uncomfortable at night. It felt like it was blowing hot air. Maybe we were unlucky and got the room with the bad air conditioning unit. Hmph!

I would definitely stay here again when I return to LA but perhaps will ask for a room with better airconditioning! :)

Room Tip: Get a room with good air-conditioning!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

We stayed here for the 2nd time from 13th to 23rd September 2012. We arrived after a long flight and were quickly checked into room 321, the same one we stayed in last time and had specifically asked for. There was a card in the room welcoming us back and a plate of cheese, bread and fruit, which was very welcome. The location is great being just across the road from the Farmer's Market and Grove Centre. We only ate in the hotel once, which was breakfast on the first morning. This wasn't because the food wasn't good as it was great and the staff very friendly. It was just that there are so many options round about we liked to try somewhere new each day. Whenever we came into the hotel there was cold pink lemonade and cookies waiting for you in reception, which was lovely. The car parking is expensive at 18 dollars a day, but you could go in and out as many times as you liked for that and in LA terms it was no more expensive than other hotels. We love the retro feel of this hotel and the rocking chair in the room, plus the friendly staff and would stay here again for sure.

Room Tip: We like to stay in room 321 as you have no one above you, and only a neighbour on one side. It over...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

I cannot recommend the Farmer's Daughter hotel highly enough. After a long flight from Australia and the long wait at LAX customs and experiencing the crazy roads of LA, it was nice to be greeted by such a friendly person when checking in gave me a first great impression of the US and LA (the fact she was cute and had a sweet accent probably helped too). They were able to check me early at about 1pm, which was great to be able to wash up before checking out the local area.

The rooms are cozy and have a nice unique feel to them. The bed was very comfortable, I liked the denim touch too. The hot water seemed a little inconsistent in the shower, but you soon get used to it and they moisturiser they provide is perfect after your skin has spent a long day in the sun. My room (111) had a view of the Hollywood sign which was nice.

If you like to keep away from the extreme tourism areas, then the hotel is in a great location, you feel more like a local than up on the Hollywood strip. The Farmer's market and The Grove across the road are a great place to hang out or grab a bite, I loved ending my afternoon with a cool drink sitting outside in the sun at The Coffee Bean watching the world go by. You are just a short walk from The Beverly Center if you want to do some shopping.

Transport wise you can jump on the 217 bus across the road which will take you to Hollywood Blvd or if you want to use the Hop-On Hop-Off buses, there is a stop in the Farmers Market. My advice for those is to just get a 24 hour ticket and check out Santa Monica and do the red route. The Downtown route wasn't really worth it and took a long time, just jump on a Red Line train from Hollywood Blvd.

I spent 2 nights at W Hollywood after, despite the 4 star luxury, I just wanted to be back at the Farmer's Daughter!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

We visit LA twice a year( family and fun)
We usually use Amex concierge for our hotel bookings but for some reason decided to book it ourselves using trip-advisor. The location is good the hotel is very simple clean with a twist. The amenities were good, however the pillows smelled as if they were not washed and when i sent them back the front desk were so rude and so inhospitable showing no concern even when I said I will have to change hotels! The staff never say hello and really as if they were forced to work!! Where is hospitality? Yea the coolies were great but that is not enough. The front desk rang us at 11:30 pm waking up my little boy with complain that we were making noise!! Absolutely unacceptable in a so called 4 stars hotel. The AC is 100 years old too noisy. We are moving today to our favorite sunset hotel and never again stay at the farmers daughter.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

The place welcomes you with pink lemonade and homemade chocolate chip cookies. There is a ping pong table. The restaurant serves wonderful food, especially breakfast. And the vibe is mellow rustic. The location and the price can't be beat.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Farmer's Daughter Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Farmer's Daughter Hotel

Address: 115 S. Fairfax Ave., Los Angeles, CA 90036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Central L.A
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#34 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#71 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Farmer's Daughter Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Farmer’s Daughter Hotel is a unique West Hollywood hotel offering country styled hotel rooms and down-home hospitality right in the heart of Los Angeles. Our location can't be beat: Farmer's Daughter Hotel borders Hollywood/West Hollywood & Beverly Hills. We're across from the Grove, walking distance to Museum Row and the pedestrian-friendly parts of 3rd Street and Melrose, and, of course, CBS Studio where "The Price is Right" is filmed. When you book your reservation at our Los Angeles boutique hotel, get ready for a unique experience. Our Los Angeles boutique hotel rooms are truly inviting, with rocking chairs, hardwood floors, rain showers and plush bedding. Plus, as a pampered guest at our West Hollywood hotel, you'll be invited to join us for our Wine Hour, enjoy some fine cheeses, dine at TART Restaurant , chill at the pool, relax in the courtyard, plan your Hollywood adventure, or just enjoy our fantastic down-home hospitality. At the Farmer’s Daughter boutique hotel in Los Angeles, you are surrounded by many of the best places to visit, dine and play in Los Angeles, Hollywood and West Hollywood. No matter what your flavor of fun you're looking for, whether you're here for business or vacation (or a little of both), you will find it all at the Farmer’s Daughter Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and BookIt.com so you can book your Farmer's Daughter Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Farmers Daughter Motel
Farmers Daughter Los Angeles
Farmers Daughter Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Farmer's Daughter Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.