We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely, charming, homey, and comforting. Amazing place to stay especially right across” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Farmer's Daughter Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Farmer's Daughter Hotel to your Saves list
Farmer's Daughter Hotel
115 S. Fairfax Ave., Los Angeles, CA 90036 (Central L.A)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #47 of 324 Hotels in Los Angeles
Denver, Colorado
1 review
“Lovely, charming, homey, and comforting. Amazing place to stay especially right across”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012 via mobile

Amazing place to stay especially right across from the historic farmers market and grove. Absolutely my favorite part of la. The staff is incredible and ensures a quality stay here. They even have really cute beach cruisers you can checkout at no cost to ride around the area! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

697 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    263
    292
    61
    44
    37
See reviews for
145
197
52
92
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012 via mobile

This was the worst hotel I have ever stayed in. Dirty and uncomfortable bed, sticky floors and moldy bathroom. I would not stay there again for free.

Stayed May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

I was excited to find this gem, after reading up on many places in the vicinity. I see that another traveler complained about the price but in fact all LA hotels will charge tax and parking and this price was very good when compared with others in the area.

You can't beat staying within walking distance of the Farmer's Market and the Grove. We perused Barnes and Noble late at night, had early lattes and fruit and amazing croissants at Shortcake in the Farmer's Market, and had great pickins of restaurants between the Grove and the Farmers Market. Also steps away is Trader Joes and we enjoyed one night of salads a baguettes on the cute outdoor patio outside our room (keeping expenses down!)

The room is nicely refurbished and charming with the farm themed decor. I found it pleasant and totally adequate in amenities. We didn't come to LA after all to hang out in the room!

The pool is little but was perfect for my kids-- they loved the rubber ducks and the ping pong. Nice touches.

We ate breakfast at Tart and it was delicious and the service was courteous and quick. I loved the decor.

My one note to parents: there is a clothes line in the lobby with panties that read "Do It At the Daughter" across the tush, and with a woman's rear being the center piece of the brochure as well I think it's a theme. My 12 year old daughter was offended and looked at me like "How could you bring us here?" As if I had really checked us in to the No-tell Motel. She was quickly distracted by the chocolate chip cookies (free and ample sized!) and the chirping budgies. As a mother of awesome young girls I'd rather they tone down the sex sell... it doesn't need it because it's super cute without!

Room Tip: A room on the second floor above the lobby was both quiet and had access to a sweet outdoor patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

We stayed at the Farmer's Daughter for one night while visiting LA. Location is great... steps away from Farmers Market, Grove and short walk to West Hollywood. The concept is kitchy-country hip.

The concept of the place is cool and fun but they fail to deliver on a few fundamental areas: 1. Beds are hard as a rock. This will eliminate guests from making a return visit to this hotel. 2. Staff at hotel eatery Tart is non-responsive and needs training in customer service and cleanliness Examples: Wait staff were chatting at bar for close to 10 minutes before anyone even greeted us... the place is not that big, so this was weird. One wait person cleared crumbs off next table onto bench seat and left it there... gross! I ordered a Mule drink and it was nearly undrinkable... pretty easy cocktail to make so not sure what that was about. Then wait person short changed me.... when I pointed it out he had a vacant look in his eyes and didn't seem to get it nor did he apologize. 3. The icing on the cake is the price... I know that it is not cheap for a decent place in LA, but when all was said and done with room and parking (not including drinks at Tart or any other food) total bill was $324. This is outrageous!

I hope the hotel owner reads this and at least 1. Adds memory foam to mattresses and 2. trains and adequately gives feedback to Tart wait staff... cleaning house of a few may be necessary.

Sad to say I recommend staying somewhere else... If for no other reason the Best Western has beds more comfortable than Farmer's Daughter!

Room Tip: Ask for one away from Fairfax Avenue
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

We loved our stay at Farmer's Daughter. It was a little expensive, compared to what we usually pay, but we thought the splurge was worth it. The staff was really nice, not what other's have been saying on Trip Advisor. The chocolate chip cookies and lemonade in the lobby is awesome. Rooms were good, although the styling could be improved. The restaurant next door was really good, well priced and fun to eat in. The pool was great and we could see the Hollywood sign from our window!
We tried to find free street parking, but it was tough so we just ended up getting the valet at the hotel, which was a little pricey ($18).
The location was great, lots to walk to (Grove, Farmer's Market, Ross, Whole Foods, Trader Joe's, etc).
Free internet was great and there is a fridge in the room so you can buy your breakfast at one of the grocery stores in the area. We loved our stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

I so wanted to like this hotel and we were very excited to stay there, but I just ended up feeling disappointed. Our original costing was 290GBP for three nights plus tax but we ended up paying well over 400 GBP (including only one evening meal and without breakfast). This was after we had paid for all of the little taxes, parking fee, parking tax, green tax, city tax etc etc. The receipt was endless. I paid up feeling I could have booked somewhere far nicer for around that sum.

The building itself is an old motel which has, quite simply, just been painted over. I like what they are aiming to do and support the ethos but it just struck me as strange that they spent so much time and money putting up pictures of ducks and strange scratchy headboards in the rooms but the paintwork inside and outside is just shabby and undermines their efforts. The bathroom door had an ancient sign half painted over and it just seemed hurried and not well finished or particularly clean. On top of this the place has a strange smell and other than the bed, which was clean, I always felt a bit grubby there, even though the cleaners did the best they could.

The other problem was with getting some sleep. Although the bed was quite comfortable, the air con was ancient and old and made a huge amount of noise. When we couldn't bear it any more we switched if off but we could then hear the unit in the next door room through the paper thin walls. On another night some people stayed up late drinking and talking right outside our door which was also a bit frustrating when there was a whole huge bar area downstairs.

The location is good in that there is great shopping and a wonderful farmer's market just across the road, as well as nice cafes and a particularly good sandwich place down the road on the corner. We ate at Tart once but didn't eat there again, though the staff were great.

I liked the people and the atmosphere and so wanted to like this quirky place, but for the price and with the lack of sleep and feel of cleanliness, I just couldn't appreciate it.

Stayed July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Farmer's Daughter Hotel, responded to this review, July 13, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel and share your feedback. Not much we can do about tax's. It is the nature of doing business in Los Angeles.

They just recently passed a LA TOURISM TAX that we had to add this year, just horrible. we split everything out so the guest can clearly see what we are charging as opposed to the city and state. If you can get our Mayor and Governor to lower the tax all of us business owners in Los Angeles would be happy.

I will be getting with our Maint. staff first thing tomorrow and see what is going on with the room your were in.

I and also disappointed to read that our night staff did not attempt to control the noise outside, we will be going over this in our management meeting this week. Our guests comfort is one of our highest priorities...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodway, Texas
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

The Farmer's Daughter has much to commend it. The location is the best, right across from the Farmer's Market and The Grove. Decorations are whimsical, the cookies and drinks in the lobby each evening are a nice touch available in most hotels. The "high speed" internet was free but faster service cost extra. Did not try it to see if it was worth the price. The free internet was generally draggy. Beds were comfortable and towels changed daily when put in the tub.

What brings the place down is the housekeeping. The most egregious incident was the maid going into clean the room while we were at breakfast although we had a Do Not Disturb sign on the door. We had not picked up. Cameras and laptops and phone chargers were lying around. When we came back in the room, the maid, who was still in the room, had cleaned up and tossed a suitcase onto a chair. Maybe it is too much to expect that the Do Not Disturb sign provides a modicum of privacy but that was my expectation and I felt my privacy was violated. To add insult to injury, it turned out the maid did not speak English and evidently did not know what the sign meant. When I went down to complain to the staff, I got a tepid "sorry". If you hire staff who do not speak the language of the hotel, management has a responsibility to assure that they know what things mean. This was a miserable failure.

Whether or not it is connected to the untrained maid, we had one bar of Ivory soap, in the room when we arrived. This bar of soap had to serve for bath/shower and sink handwashing. In spite of my request, a second bar was not forthcoming. A dirty coffee cup was never replaced. It took three days before a dirty glass was replaced.

Several front desk staff members were friendly but others simply ignored us as we came and went with no friendly hello, a behavior even the largest hotels today have trained their staff. This was our second stay at this hotel but it will be our last.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Farmer's Daughter Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Farmer's Daughter Hotel

Address: 115 S. Fairfax Ave., Los Angeles, CA 90036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Central L.A
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#38 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Farmer’s Daughter Hotel is a unique West Hollywood hotel offering country styled hotel rooms and down-home hospitality right in the heart of Los Angeles. Our location can't be beat: Farmer's Daughter Hotel borders Hollywood/West Hollywood & Beverly Hills. We're across from the Grove, walking distance to Museum Row and the pedestrian-friendly parts of 3rd Street and Melrose, and, of course, CBS Studio where "The Price is Right" is filmed. When you book your reservation at our Los Angeles boutique hotel, get ready for a unique experience. Our Los Angeles boutique hotel rooms are truly inviting, with rocking chairs, hardwood floors, rain showers and plush bedding. Plus, as a pampered guest at our West Hollywood hotel, you'll be invited to join us for our Wine Hour, enjoy some fine cheeses, dine at TART Restaurant , chill at the pool, relax in the courtyard, plan your Hollywood adventure, or just enjoy our fantastic down-home hospitality. At the Farmer’s Daughter boutique hotel in Los Angeles, you are surrounded by many of the best places to visit, dine and play in Los Angeles, Hollywood and West Hollywood. No matter what your flavor of fun you're looking for, whether you're here for business or vacation (or a little of both), you will find it all at the Farmer’s Daughter Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Farmer's Daughter Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Farmers Daughter Motel
Farmers Daughter Los Angeles
Farmers Daughter Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Farmer's Daughter Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.