We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unreliable” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Saharan Motor Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Saharan Motor Hotel to your Saves list
Saharan Motor Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7212 Sunset Blvd., Los Angeles, CA 90046   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #152 of 324 Hotels in Los Angeles
Brasilia, DF
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Unreliable”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I chose the Saharan Motor Hotel because they said they have garage space for the guests. However, what they do NOT say is that you have to be lucky to get there before the other guests, because there is not enough space for everyone. Besides, I asked to be charged on one of my credit cards and they charged the other one, without warning me and without my consent. When I pointed that out, they were extremely rude. I do NOT reccomend this hotel. The service is not good and the management is not reliable.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    133
    103
    32
    36
See reviews for
52
134
30
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aukra Municipality, Norway
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The hotel room was small and dark but mostly clean. Location is very convenient. The biggest problem was high water pressure in the shower, it hurts to get a shower. Also, the cleaning staff could be doing a better job with emptying the trash cans and replacing the toilet paper. And don't expect too much from a breakfast.

Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

great value for money for Hollywood and the staff were very friendly , The pool was very clean, wifi and parking and close to everything you will need,,iam staying there again in 2015,,,,,,,,,,there are lots of great place to eat close by,,,,

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Excellent value for money. Clean, not glamorous but very comfortable.
Bathroom needs a facelift but was very clean. Beds are comfortable and neat.
So inexpensive and we got a simple breakfast included, cool.
When you arrive open the front door for half an hour to let the chemical cleaning smell dissipate.

Room Tip: Ask for the back rooms overlooking carpark. Very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I'll start with the nice things about the hotel. Great location for Hollywood. You can walk to the Walk of Fame and all that offers and many restaurants. There is a large grocery store across the street. Free covered parking although it can be a little tight. The room itself was clean with modern furniture and free wifi. The front desk is staffed 24/7 as well a security guard at night. We never used the pool. Now the negatives and they are specific to my room as I can't speak about all the rooms. The shower had very hard pressure to the point it was painful also the water never got really hot. The water at the sink could get hot though. All the plugs in the room were old and worn out. Anything that you would plug in would just fall out. The street noise can be loud at times.

Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

There's not much to add to the tone of the average review already made before. The rooms are pretty old and getting close to needing a facelift. But they are clean and everything worked. The bed was very comfortable and although it's right on a very busy street I couldn't hear the traffic.Mind you the AC was on the whole time I was there and it was pretty noisy unit which may have drowned out any traffic noise. The one big plus for me was the reception bloke organising for me to get into the room early. I was in before noon and had a shower and a nap by three and strolling down Hollywood Boulevard by 4PM. Just what the doctor ordered after more than 24 of flying, driving and sitting in airports. The bottom line is I would recommend this motel just don't expect five star anything when you're paying for a two star place and you won't be disappointed....

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Upon arrival we were given a room overlooking the car park in the back and noticed that the latch on the door was broken. My husband went back to reception and we were given another room, without any objections or arguments, on the inner courtyard upper level overlooking the pool, which was much better and also seemed more modern. The room was basic and the aircon didn’t do much to cool the room down (to be fair, it was 38 degrees Celsius on the day of our arrival) but it was clean and everything was in good working order. For the price we had low expectations and were pleasantly surprised with the amenities and secure car park in the back. Nice large TV and very fast free wifi, I’ve paid a lot more for a lot less in other cities.

Breakfast was a bit heavy on the starch but there was plenty: bagels, cream cheese, jam, banana and blueberry muffins, diy waffles with syrup and lot’s of coffee and orange juice. It can get a bit repetitive if you stay longer than a couple of nights but the rooms are equipped with a fridge so we bought some snacks and drinks from Ralph’s supermarket across the road to mix it up a little.

We didn’t get a chance to use the pool but it appeared clean and tidy. The best thing about the hotel is the location, less than 15 minutes from the Chinese Theatre and close to Universal studios and other LA attractions. I saw other reviewers were bothered by the traffic noise at night but our room was on the Sunset Boulevard side and we didn’t have any problems sleeping. The side gate of the car park gets locked at night and the night guard does his rounds regularly so we always felt safe. Two times we returned to the hotel after midnight and on one occasion the car park was full, so we got directed to the side of the hotel, where there are an additional few spaces reserved for Saharan guests. I wouldn’t want to park there every night, as it is open to the main road, but it was fine for a few hours – just something to keep in mind if you plan on arriving late at night.

If you are looking for 5 star this is not the place for you but if you are after a budget hotel in an excellent location, I would highly recommend the Saharan Motor Hotel. We booked it for the location and the free car parking, which is an amazing bonus in Los Angeles, the free breakfast was just an added treat for us. Our experience was very positive, the staff was friendly and there was a nice cosmopolitan and relaxed vibe among the guests. You definitely get value for money and we wouldn’t hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Saharan Motor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saharan Motor Hotel

Address: 7212 Sunset Blvd., Los Angeles, CA 90046
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #152 of 324 Hotels in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Saharan Motor Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Hollywood, California, the newly remodeled Saharan Hotel is an oasis of hospitality on world-famous Sunset Boulevard. Our friendly, boutique-style hotel delivers a special blend of contemporary flare with vintage Hollywood service. Whether sightseeing or working, the Saharan is an intimate, comfortable lodging that will make you feel like a Hollywood star! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, HostelBookers, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Saharan Motor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saharan Motor Los Angeles
Hotel Saharan Motor

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Saharan Motor Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.