We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close....but so far” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Los Angeles Airport

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Westin Los Angeles Airport to your Saves list
The Westin Los Angeles Airport
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5400 W. Century Blvd., Los Angeles, CA 90045   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #117 of 324 Hotels in Los Angeles
Towson, MD
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Close....but so far”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Arrived at this location on a Thursday afternoon for a 3 night stay (A conference here).

Lobby from Parking lot had a very heavy scent like men's after shave. A Ghost? Same scent every day....was it their cleaning products?

Room was ready and staff was friendly and HELPFUL, Bellman who brought luggage to the room asked if we needed suggestions for restaurants in the area and advised us the Space Shuttle was going to complicate road travel.

Room #922 had an odd odor that my roomie described as 'peepee'. I did not catch it but it was not a pleasantly fragranced room.

Why do they build hotels without exhaust fans???? Had to shower with the door open.

HORRID water pressure in sink and shower. Very poor hot water.

Rose at 6 for my swim - pool is not heated it was a while to get used to it. After my laps went to the hot tub - of the 10 jets, 5 did not work.

Returning from our Thursday activities at 10pm our keys did not work.... and then made new keys. (Each evening of our stay we had to have keys recertified.... OUR room was provided as part of the conference we attended so we were concerned we were being effected by the conference's finances.

Workout room was basic....very basic, missing equipment was common.

Continental breakfast was common, Starbucks coffee was almost bitter, but the pastries were fresh.

Looks pretty outside but is just a place to sleep....there would be no reason to 'go there' unless you were in the travel business.

Room Tip: all are quiet even though you are near the airport.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,951 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    501
    693
    434
    208
    115
See reviews for
304
496
261
655
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (281)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

Stopped here on the way home as we had a midnight flight to Melbourne. Very nice hotel with spacious rooms and a good bath. Wi Fi isn't free, except for a limited time in the lobby.
Over all a good experience, my only gripe was the inedible soup special. We went down for a light dinner (we were offered the same soup at lunch, so I assume it may have been in a bain marie and had stewed down) and the soup was WAY to salty to eat. It is a real shame that my last food experience in the country was a bad one. Apart from that the other meals were fine and the staff helpful.
A good pool, spa and workout centre is available.
Despite being at the airport, the rooms are remarkably quiet, the soundproofing contractor must make a fortune in these places.

Room Tip: Don"t forget to add the state taxes - it added over $30 to the bill
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed there one night.Our room was very clean.Bathroom was clean and fresh.Staff was friendly and helpful.Concierge was very helpful as well. We were in the restaurant/bar in the hotel.Lounge girl/waitress was very friendly.We had a great stay.Definitely recommended this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012 via mobile

Lobby looked nice and like a Westin property but as soon as I got to the room that changed. Old, bathroom needed to be redone, one bed had dirty sheets. Wi-fi didn't work, remote was broken. It wasn't cheap either. Would not stay here again.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lubbock, Texas
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

My sister and I stayed here one night (have done so before) the day before boarding a cruise ship. It has a nice bar and dining room with outside seating also. Very comfortable. Room is pleasant but somewhat noisy from the aircraft. They have a complementary shuttle and it is easy to get back to the airport to get the cruise ship shuttle to the port.

I try to stay at the Westins often because of their complementary pet policy. This is very important to me.

I am always satisfied with Westin.

Room Tip: ask for a quiet room as far from aircraft noise as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Union City
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

I was at this hotel for a conference last weekend and last Saturday while I was having breakfast in a meeting room a man sneaked in pretending to be a manager and while I was busy having breakfast with friends sneaked away with my handbag. The approach from the authorities for his event was very disappointing. They acted as if it was not their problem to file a complaint or do something about the issue, even though it happened in their hotel meeting rooms. I can't believe someone can just walk into a hotel so boldly and steal stuff without the authorities feeling suspicious about it. I wonder if this hotel has any policy in place to make sure this does not happen again. I would never recommend westin hotel as a secure place for customers!!!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012 via mobile

Stayed in Westin Hotels around the world before and this did not disappoint, not the most modern of rooms but I am recently more used to the more contemporary modern European Hotels, but clean, comfortable and luxurious feel, the heavenly beds were fantastic as usual and had the best sleeps ever! Requested a room overlooking the runway at LAX which was great. Lobby was huge, smart and modern, did not try the restaurant but the menu looked good. Only faults I would say are the expensive parking ! 25$ per day, no free wifi in the rooms only the lobby and on checkout they tried to overcharge me by some 150$ the account print out was also super confusing with all the taxes and additional fees, the lady at the front desk spoke to the manager and although it took some time waiting around the problem was resolved. Just need to check my credit card bill when I get home! Overall a great stay.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin Los Angeles Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Los Angeles Airport

Address: 5400 W. Century Blvd., Los Angeles, CA 90045
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#26 Luxury Hotel in Los Angeles
#28 Best Value Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Los Angeles Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 740
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Los Angeles Airport, just four blocks from Los Angeles International Airport, offers easy access to major corporations, marvelous shopping, sunny beaches and fine restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Starwood, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your The Westin Los Angeles Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Los Angeles Airport Hotel Los Angeles
Los Angeles Westin
Westin Lax
Westin Los Angeles Airport

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Los Angeles Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.