We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Positively different” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Los Angeles Athletic Club

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Los Angeles Athletic Club to your Saves list
The Los Angeles Athletic Club
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   431 W. Seventh Street, Los Angeles, CA 90014 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #51 of 339 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
Finland
Level Contributor
169 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Positively different”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Positive place: different from big LA hotels, abundant complimentary breakfast with good omlette (though bad coffee), quite large rooms (with dark brown color), entire building-size roof-top to view LA (and possibility to take sunbath if weather ok), good size pool to swim, nice small steam-bath, many opetion for workout (from yoga to basket as well as the normal stuff). In the early mornings you meet really old time LA people in the gym. Evenings, as everywhere, outside many poor pople but they do not make hassle. Staples about 15 minutes walk away.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    105
    25
    13
    9
See reviews for
33
104
28
98
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Being able to swim in a 25 yard pool and get some good swimming time in was amazing. I come to LA for the fashion district so it is walking distance ( just walk on the right streets as there are some sketchy areas very close by). I am a triathlete so i did not miss any workouts doing a great cycling class in the morning. There are loads of classes (no charge) and machines and an indoor track that is well laid out.The rooms are comfortable and overall the place feels masculine and clubby like worn in leather chairs, sports memorabilia. I would give athletic club an excellent but the food could be better.
I will stay here every time i come to LA for market in the fashion district.

Room Tip: I think the rooms are only on two floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
66 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

Right downtown! Great staff....friendly and helpful! Room was comfortable for downtown. Very masculine color and furnishings. Great breakfast at Dukes with omelets made to perfection. Helped me store my stuff for a day out and getting a car to the next destination. Would certainly return here.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katonah, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This is a clean, spacious, extremely friendly/welcoming hotel in a central downtown L.A. location. Parking is reasonable and very convenient. The use of the somewhat outdated gym is a huge bonus! The bathroom was roomy and clean but due for modernization. The bed was unusually comfortable with excellent quality linens. I plan on making this my "go to" hotel whenever I need to stay in Los Angeles.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the street have a better view but much more early morning noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

The hotel surprises you with a great roof top deck and great breakfast. The staff from the front desk to maids are very nice and helpful. A 15 minute walk to the Staples Center. If you need to stay downtown, stay here. Only negative is getting coffee at breakfast. Dukes has a nice happy hour with little bites to graze on or a nice bar menu.

Room Tip: Rooms have a mini fridge and free WiFi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
57 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

My friend and I stayed at Los Angeles Athletic Club for the first two nights of our stay in Los Angeles and also on the last night of our visit to the USA. Overall we very much enjoyed our stay. The staff were friendly and helpful at reception. The Lobby and Reception area was very pleasant and welcoming. Our bedroom was clean and comfortable and good internet connection. However the décor the bedroom was extremely dark and dull and very depressing, with dark chocolate colour walls and very dark furniture. The bathroom in both rooms that we stayed in were extremely small and old and need immediate upgrading.

This is not a cheap hotel to stay in and breakfast, which was included in our rate was very average.

However the location of the hotel is Excellent and very close to restaurants and shops and this is what we liked very much.

When we booked this hotel and read other people comments, about the neighbourhood, we were very uneasy, even thinking about cancelling our reservation. However we can assure other guests that this was not a problem.

It is correct to say that from 10.00 pm onwards there are a lot of people begging in the vicinity of the hotel, but this did not cause us any problems. We were able to get to where we wanted to and did not feel threatened in any way and there was also plenty of Police in the General Area.

We also took normal precautions and did not stay out very late at night.

So, our overall experience (despite the dark rooms) was very positive and we also felt safe and comfortable staying in this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle CA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

The Los Angeles Athletic Club offers an elegant alternative to the conventional hotel experience for travelers who plan to nest downtown. The neighborhood is no place you'd want to go strolling after dark, but since I was attending a conference at the nearby Union Station, the location was ideal. Staying at the club is an extraordinary opportunity.As a guest, you enjoy access to all of the club's facilities -- pool, spa, running track, gymnasium, squash courts, you name it. And not just the athletic facilities. There is a beautiful bar, grill room, library, and fancy restaurant, all ideally suited for a business meeting in the sumptuous and heretofore exclusive setting that one would expect of a club designed for the elite of Los Angeles' business and legal communities. The hotel rooms are very handsomely decorated and well appointed although the style is definitely masculine running to slate grays with burgundy highlights. And for a room rate that is quite reasonable for downtown Los Angeles, the unexpected extras make this a great bargain -- a plate of fresh fruit and cheese waiting in the room, discount parking, a free, full breakfast in the morning. This is probably not the place to bring the kids, but for couples and business travelers, this would be my first choice in the downtown area.

Room Tip: Be sure to check the phone in your room to make certain the ring tone is turned on. Guests who want...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Downtown
Luxe City Center Hotel
Luxe City Center Hotel
#32 of 339 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 stars 579 reviews
Downtown
Hilton Checkers Los Angeles
Hilton Checkers Los Angeles
#58 of 339 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 stars 832 reviews
Downtown
Ace Hotel Downtown Los Angeles
Ace Hotel Downtown Los Angeles
#72 of 339 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 stars 163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Courtyard Los Angeles L.A.LIVE
Courtyard Los Angeles L.A.LIVE
#9 of 339 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 stars 115 reviews
Downtown
O Hotel
O Hotel
#154 of 339 in Los Angeles
3.5 of 5 stars 312 reviews
Downtown
The Standard Downtown
The Standard Downtown
#100 of 339 in Los Angeles
3.5 of 5 stars 944 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Los Angeles Athletic Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Los Angeles Athletic Club

Address: 431 W. Seventh Street, Los Angeles, CA 90014
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Downtown , Central L.A
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#46 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Los Angeles Athletic Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you need a private getaway after a long day at work, a hideaway for a romantic weekend, or accommodations for your V.I.P. guests, our 72 elegantly appointed rooms atop The Los Angeles Athletic Club await you. Guest have full access to 88,000 sq ft of athletic facilities, 3 restaurants and a rooftop lounge. Breakfast and discounted parking are also included. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, BookIt.com, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your The Los Angeles Athletic Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Los Angeles Athletic Club Hotel Los Angeles
The Los Angeles Athletic Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Los Angeles Athletic Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.