We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable stay in a very historic building...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Los Angeles Athletic Club

Save Saved
You added The Los Angeles Athletic Club to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
The Los Angeles Athletic Club
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   431 W. Seventh Street, Los Angeles, CA 90014 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 318 hotels in Los Angeles
Hanoi, Vietnam
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Very comfortable stay in a very historic building...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

This hotel is a gem right in downtown Los Angeles and we have stayed there twice and have not been disappointed. The facilities are well kept and are very clubby and from the staff to the management we have received nothing but our fullest attention. We will definitely be back at the LAAC again when in LA. Congrats to the LAAC team and thanks for looking after us.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    106
    81
    22
    8
    4
See reviews for
28
75
21
75
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Princeton, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

I've been staying at LAAC weekly since September as I need to be in downtown LA. Notwithstanding the reasonable price for stay plus a full breakfast, the staff service, across the board--from front desk, bellmen, waitstaff in the grill, gym staff, trainers, housekeeping--is absolutely the best I have ever experienced, anywhere--friendly, efficient, courteous. And as we travel a lot and stay in great places, that's saying a lot. Rooms and bathrooms very clean, if a bit dated and dark. Breakfast delicious and extensive. Athletic facilities are also superb and vast. Yes, like one guy said, the pads in the sauna room could be changed or refreshed, but that's a small criticism--the heat will kill all the germs anyway.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

A flash back to the end of the 19th century private club! The L.A. Athletic Club was founded in 1880 and it plays its history throughout the hotels with many old photos, posters and memorabilia. The hotel rooms are on the last 3 floors and are modern and comfortable. The bed is ultra comfy. The room is equipped with a small fridge, coffeemaker, free WiFi, and a plate of fruit and cheese awaits you. Breakfast is included in the rate and is very good. Cereals, oatmeal, yogourt, eggs, bacon etc. plus an omelet station. Parking is just around the corner, with access from the inside and only 12$ a day.

The sports facilities are amazing - swimming pool, basket ball court, etc. Make sure to visit the ballroom, bars etc. It's so beautiful, like an old English Mansion... feels like your going to run into Captain Mustard or Miss Scarlett from the Clue game!!

We had 2 rooms - 1222 and 1224, connecting and 1224 was much bigger. We loved the hotel, but the only thing is that the area isn't super, especially at night, we were a bit uncomfortable to walk amongst the many homeless and ladies of the night... but during the day, it's fine. Do not miss going to Bottega Louie, just a block over on 7th. The bakery is amazing !

Room Tip: 1224 and 1222 are connecting rooms, with 1224 being slightly bigger with more room, and more seating...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Olivos, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

What a great hotel with all the history of Los Angeles behind it. This hotel is a MUST.

Courteous friendly clerks at arrival desk. All the staff we found to be extremely helpful. Full explanation of all amenities, and what amenities there are!!

Apart from 6 floors of amazing athletic facilities there are 2 floors devoted to ballrooms, conference rooms, dining rooms. All these richly decorated in the style of the last century and kept in immaculate condition.

The rooms on the top 3 floors are elegant, with all one would want included –free internet, free use of all the athletic facilities. A substantial breakfast buffet included. Parking is ideal, at a low daily rate of $12.00. A platter of fruit and cheese laid out in the room on arrival.

Great location 6 blocks from Staples Center and 7 blocks from Dorothy Chandler Pavilion.

I would really recommend anyone staying in downtown LA not to miss this delightful experience.

No question for me - that's where I would return!!!!

Room Tip: We did not try room service - only because we were out during the evening
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thousand Oaks, California
Top Contributor
203 reviews 203 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
257 helpful votes 257 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

Booked one night at the hotel to attend a concert. Parking was a breeze, there is a parking garage around the corner attached to the hotel and being downtown, parking is usually hard to find.

Upon entering the hotel you feel very special and know that you are at a classy hotel with the private entrance and doorman. The staff is very friendly and efficient. Our room was on the 11th. floor with some views of downtown Los Angeles, The room was decorated beautifully and well appointed. Within thirty minutes or so of settling in, housekeeping came by with a fruit and cheese plate.

For breakfast we had 2 passes to their buffet which had an omelet chef and many choices of fresh fruit, cereals, French toast, bacon, sausage, hash browns and waffles. We were also granted free access to all the other amenities for their members.

I highly recommend this hotel to anyone and will use it again the next time we are in Los Angeles.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

I stayed at the Los Angeles Athletic Club for three nights in October 2012 and highly recommend it to any traveler.

I was having trouble finding a reasonably priced hotel downtown when a friend recommended LAAC where you can stay without membership. The location was perfect and within easy walking distance of the offices I was visiting. There are plenty of restaurants nearby and stores to pick up supplies.

Shortly after checking into a lovely deluxe room, I received a call advising me that I been upgraded to a suite! I never get upgrades and have no idea what prompted this very kind offer, but I happily accepted!

The suite was amazing - a generous sized living area with comfortable couch, work space and wet bar with mini fridge, a very spacious bedroom with a comfortable bed and second work space, and a large bathroom. The suite was clean and well maintained. The rate included wifi which was fast. The corner suite views were also fabulous.

It is one of the rare occasions where I can say both the deluxe room I was briefly in and the suite I ended up staying in looked exactly like the photos on LAAC's website. I can even pick out the suite I stayed in from the photos on LAAC website (images 7 and 8 of 10 on the suite description page - http://www.laac.com/Default.aspx?p=DynamicModule&pageid=245369&ssid=101362&vnf=1).

The staff were always friendly and attentive. I needed to check out two days early - it was not a problem and the reception staff took the extra two days off my bill.

I can recommend the included breakfast buffet. A nice touch for any traveler, particularly a business traveller on an expense budget. LAAC do not short change their guests as the breakfast was amazing - both hot and cold buffets with ample tasty selections.

For parking, go around the corner to the public parking garage on Olive Street. You can access the hotel through the garage and obtain the discounted hotel daily rate.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Although not very impressive from the outside, this is really a historical jewel in LA where you can appreciate what were the sport and fineness concept in the early last century. they also have tons of historic materials from UCLA teams. LA athletic Club has also very elegant dining and meeting rooms on the 3rd floor, various floors are dedicated to the superb sport area where you can get a covered Olympic swimming pool, gyms, yoga, pilates, squash and much more. The rooms are also very elegant and well taken care. Place is worth to stay or just for a visit!

Room Tip: The large suits are superb!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Los Angeles Athletic Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Los Angeles Athletic Club

Also Known As:
The Los Angeles Athletic Club Hotel Los Angeles
The Los Angeles Athletic Club Hotel
The Los Angeles Athletic Hotel
Address: 431 W. Seventh Street, Los Angeles, CA 90014
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#32 On the Beach Hotel in Los Angeles
#36 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
#56 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Los Angeles Athletic Club 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you need a private getaway after a long day at work, a hideaway for a romantic weekend, or accommodations for your V.I.P. guests, our 72 elegantly appointed rooms atop The Los Angeles Athletic Club await you. Guest have full access to 88,000 sq ft of athletic facilities, 3 restaurants and a rooftop lounge. Breakfast and discounted parking are also included. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Venere so you can book your The Los Angeles Athletic Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Los Angeles Athletic Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.