We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Old Classic, But Not for Everyone” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Cadillac Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Cadillac Hotel to your Saves list
Cadillac Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   8 Dudley Avenue, Venice Beach, Los Angeles, CA 90291 (Venice)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #148 of 339 Hotels in Los Angeles
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
“An Old Classic, But Not for Everyone”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

This is one of the oldest hotels in LA, and was where many movie stars looking for a beach vacation back in the 1920s stayed. Obviously Venice has changed a lot since then. The scene on the beach outside the hotel can get pretty wild, but that is part of the Venice ambience of today.To me the biggest problem is that the stores underneath the hotel have open fronts and blare loud music all day, so if you're in a room at that end of the hotel you are not going to get much peace. And these are the rooms that have the best ocean and sunset view, so if not for the beach crowds and especially the music, these would be the best rooms in the house.

The issue of noise also applies to several small hotel properties along the promenade. So if you really want to stay along this part of Venice Beach I'd say to stil go for The Cadillac, because no other place has this kind of history.And maybe if you're out all day the noise won't be an issue.

My other caveat is that the hotel has gone through a room updating since the last time I stayed there. It used to be good value to be right on the beach, but I'm not sure if that's still true. If the rates have shut up it might be worth considering one of the more upscale beach front hotels slightly to the north, in the Ocean Park area of Santa Monica.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

483 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    138
    87
    50
    76
See reviews for
69
141
59
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

My wife and I booked this hotel for a short L.A. get away in June and for what we wanted it was perfect. Now we'd seen this place from the outside before when we had stayed at another hotel in Venice and were exploring the board walk so we knew where it was but for those of you wondering about it's location let me be clear. First off, it is right on Venice Beach so if you want to have that ocean view or walk right out and the beach is 20 steps away than this place is for you. If you taking a taxi here than you just need to tell the driver that the hotel is on Speedway which is a narrow street behind the hotel as the front is technically on the boardwalk. If your driving you would of course take the same street but be careful as Speedway is one way. Once you get to the hotel the parking lot is next to the hotel so you would drive past the hotel and when you get to the other side you see the lot. It is small but the hotel has a deal with another lot near by if it gets full so no worries if there's no space when you arrive. Once you check in you'll see a lounge of sorts with a pool table to your left and the elevator as well. Now the building is old so the elevator is small but if you've ever been to Europe than you've seen these tiny elevators before. Once inside our room everything was clean and comfortable for us with a big bed and a modern bathroom. Now it's not going to be a super posh room but it's better than say a motel 6 or some other budget hotel. Of course you simply cannot beat the location as I said before if beach time is your thing than your right there. Remember you are right on the boardwalk so it will be noisy during the day with lots of people walking about. If you have kids this may or may not be the best place for them as there are a lot of, let me say, interesting people about, Now the boardwalk gets empty at night but if you walk over to Abbot Kinney or just drive down to Main street you'll find lots of Restaurants and Bars to keep you happy. I'd suggest Roses's Cafe for breakfast and if you like local dive's Backstage Karaoke Bar is excellent. For those with other tastes I would rent bikes nearby and ride over to Santa Monica for a surf lesson (try www.surfbug.com) or hope in your car and drive up the PCH toward Malibu. There are some great views and a few cute wine tasting rooms to make the afternoon pleasant. Afterwards come back to your room on the beach watch the sunset and listen to the Pacific and forget the rest of the world for a little while. If this sounds like your kind of vacation than I recommend The Cadillac.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harlem, Georgia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

This hotel is comfortable and really well located. We were on the ocean in the heart of Venice Beach. We enjoyed it with 2 twelve year olds, and if you want to feel Callifornia 'funky' this is the place. What fun. Both Santa Monica and Muscle Beach are a short walk away. Good restaurants are close too.

Room Tip: The apt. has a queen bed and bunk beds for the kids.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coolum
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

We stayed one night in Mayand paid $160 for the night and were so disappointed, I have stayed in better back packers, the carpets were stained, bedding grey and were not even advised that there were coffee and tea making facilities downstairs.

Room Tip: I would not recommend anyone stay there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

Scored a room directly overlooking the boardwalk and beachfront, so it was the full Venice Beach fantasy come true! It was noisy, of course, but that didn't matter - we were right in the heart of the place and the entertainment of just hanging out the window and watching the passing parade was brilliant. Great cafes nearby - crunchy fresh salads and California goodies. It was also brilliant to walk the nearby streets and see something that is clearly "old" LA. I can't imagine staying anywhere else.

Room Tip: If you can handle the bustle, ask for a room at the front: it's better than going to the movies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

The hotel looks nice from the lobby but the elevator is tiny and filthy, all the carpets in the hotel are stained and smell. The doors have huge gaps so you can hear everything and flies can easy find access to your room. I felt very unsafe and dirty staying here. I couldn't sleep at all.
The room was tiny, I didn't have room for my suitcase.
There is no Air Conditioning.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012 via mobile

Friendly staff, clean airy bright rooms, comfortable bed, beautiful view! Ask for the Charlie Chaplin room. Cool little bar,restaurant, and mini mart just outside your door.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Cadillac Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cadillac Hotel

Address: 8 Dudley Avenue, Venice Beach, Los Angeles, CA 90291
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Venice , Westside
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #148 of 339 Hotels in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Cadillac Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your Cadillac Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cadillac Hotel Los Angeles
Cadillac Los Angeles

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cadillac Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.