We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden gem in LA” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Inn at Venice Beach

Save Saved
You added Inn at Venice Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Inn at Venice Beach
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   327 Washington Blvd, Venice, Los Angeles, CA 90291 (Venice / Beach Areas)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 322 hotels in Los Angeles
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Hidden gem in LA”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

This hotel was excellent. They checked us in 5 hours early after a long flight from Australia that put our clocks a little out of wack. The staff were always very friendly and polite. Nothing seemed too much trouble. My partner and I came back to stay here again just a couple of weeks later. We left our plans open and it was a no-brainer to come back.

The rooms are very nicely designed. Fresh and a little quirky as you would expect from Venice Beach; and certainly better than the faux 18th Century chintzy rubbish you get in most American hotels. We felt relaxed and comfortable.

If you want to be near but not on-top of some great attractions, this is a great place. We walked to Abbott Kinney Blvd, first Sunday of each month is a street festival. A good lunch and a walk around leaves you set up perfectly for an afternoon strolling to Venice Beach. Located just a few minutes walk from Cheesecake Factory in Marina Del Rey. You can drive as everyone does, but you really can walk around from here. A Taxi to Santa Monica took just 5-10 minutes, and you're just 20 minutes from LAX too. There's an excellent bar next door (Baja Cantina) which was fun and friendly. Spent a number of nights in there eating tacos, drinking Margaritas and watching sports. The American life!

We will stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the beach. You can't see much but you get to see great sunsets...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice419, General Manager at Inn at Venice Beach, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Dear Arnosx,

It was a pleasure having you and your partner with us! I am happy to know that our staff was able to accommodate your early check-in request. I am especially pleased to know that you returned for a second visit and that your stay was just as relaxing and comfortable! Thank you for sharing your experience with others! We look forward to welcoming you for a third visit in the near future!

Warm Regards,

Maggie Oliva
General Manager
Inn at Venice Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

434 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    191
    185
    34
    12
    12
See reviews for
76
150
35
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

I loved this little boutique hotel. Newly renovated, it was clean with great style. The rooms were a good size and very modern. There was complimentary breakfast everyday which was very nice. There was a lot of charm to this little hotel. There were homemade chocolate cookies in the lobby everyday, a little garden in the middle to have breakfast, and the decor was very interesting! The location is great too, you can walk to venice beach! All of this and a great price...I recommend this neighborhood gem!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

Looking for a place to stay near Venice Beach, this is a great option if you don't need room service or a fancy boutique hotel. Nice rooms, good location, clean, parking available. All I am asking for so close to the Venice Beach action...

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

This place was perfect, a boutique hotel with great decor, with great helpful staff. Martin was the best!!
Three blocks from the Venice boardwalk was super convenient, and half a block from the canals, which I highly recommend walking.
Oh and on top of getting breakfast included, they have fresh baked cookies in the lobby at 3 everyday. Lots of great restaurants in the area, and Abbott-Kinney is a short walk away.
I would stay here again for sure.

Room Tip: We stayed on the alley side, which was good, no traffic. However, we were right beside the breakfast...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice419, General Manager at Inn at Venice Beach, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Dear Shelly M,

Thank you taking the time to comment on your recent stay! I’ll make sure to share your feedback with Martin. Our team strives to make our guest’s stay a memorable one, and I’m certain that Martin will be happy to know that he left a positive impression. We appreciate you for taking the time to comment and look forward to seeing you in the near future!

Warm Regards,

Maggie Oliva
General Manager
Inn at Venice Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Maybe it was the chocolate chip cookie upon arrival, or the Mad Men-esque room decor, but this little gem was a super find. The bed was super comfy and the room really spacious. With its New Orleans' French quarter style, including a small fountain, even the outdoor breakfast area was an unexpected and charming surprise. It was two blocks from the beach (restaurants, yoga, and bike rentals all there), with friendly staff and clean, inviting rooms. It just $11 a day (with in and out privileges) for parking, which coming from the east coast was a great deal. Thanks to Amex Travel's website for helping me find it.

Room Tip: You really have to stretch the meaning of "ocean view" for the rooms on the oceanside of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Hotel has been restored to a kind of 50's kitsch. Somewhat quirky in the best sort of way. Location is very near the water and the canals. Staff was friendly and helpful. My only negative on this property is the bathroom. Who's idea as it to have a walk-in shower with no step in, and the water runs all over the floor? Also, no water pressure and if you take a shower, at say 10:00 a.m,, then the water is lukewarm at best. No counter space to place any of your stuff. There is a really small, stupid stand at the other end and not near the mirror, which is filled with extra toilet paper and some amenities.

That said about the bathroom, I would come back to this hotel. I love that it isn't the usual Marriot catering the corporate clientele and more like a boutique hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Encinitas, California, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

great view and location. clean and friendly. the ocean front view room was great since windows open allowing fresh air and the sound of waves to come in. you can see the pier, surfers and people enjoying the long beach path at Venice beach.

Room Tip: go ocean view if you like fresh air and the sound of waves
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice419, General Manager at Inn at Venice Beach, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Dear Natural A,

Thank you for the positive feedback and for taking the time to share the details of your stay! It was a treat reading your review! Our beach location is something that we certainly don’t take for granted.
We hope to see you again soon!

Warm Regards,

Maggie Oliva
General Manager
Inn at Venice Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Inn at Venice Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Venice Beach

Address: 327 Washington Blvd, Venice, Los Angeles, CA 90291
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Venice / Beach Areas , Westside
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Los Angeles
#24 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#25 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Inn at Venice Beach 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There’s never a shortage of things to amaze you around Venice Beach. And when you stay with us, there’s never a shortage of ways to save, either. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Loews Hotels, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Inn at Venice Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Venice Beach Hotel Los Angeles
Venice Beach Los Angeles

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn at Venice Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.