We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Samesun Venice Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Samesun Venice Beach to your Saves list
Samesun Venice Beach
1.5 of 5 Hostel   |   25 Windward Ave., Los Angeles, CA 90291 (Venice / Beach Areas)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Los Angeles, California
1 review
“Great value!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Great location, only a minute to the beach, and relatively clean rooms. Very close to Big Blue Bus stops. But a little noisy area. Better to know about TEN dollar cash for a key deposit. Also, it will be cold during winter because the window is old.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    92
    43
    25
    33
See reviews for
1
59
67
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013 via mobile

The staff made our stay as lovely as it was. The location couldnt get better, outside of the typical LA crap nestled literally on the beach, as close as you can get, in the awesome neighbourhood of Venice Beach. We paid roughly $60 each and my bf and I had a beautiful private room with luxury bathroom. Cant recommend it enough.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

Absolutely loved the hostel and the staff. Comfortable and clean beds, well equipped bathroom and spacious room overall(though the lockers are pretty small but thats okay, you have plenty space to keep your stuff around).
The staff was very friendly and helpful. Jay helped me in planning my day. Location wise, i think nothing can beat this(not even H.I Santa Monica). Located right on the most happening beach around plus a minute walk to the bus stop.
One thing i loved about the hostel was the activities they had planned for people staying in hostel. There were Pub crawls and Club hopping(major clubs in Hollywood) with a big LIMO and at a very nominal price. I would definitely recommend Samesun! The best hostel i stayed in during my visit to States.

Room Tip: The one with view of the beach is the best ! You can see the broad walk and beach from your window...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Cool, quirky hostel right in the thick of it at Venice Beach (100m from the ocean) For a night or 2 in LA it's a good option. The staff are great and organise a range of events and pub crawls. Large, clean enough rooms and a decent kitchen. Overall a good stay!

Stayed October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Had a great time here, did not think I was going to enjoy LA but had an amazing time at venice beach. All the facilities were above par for a backpackers, nice beds, great ensuites, cool commone room and kitchen. Got great advice from Abbey at the front desk about what to do and where to go! Had a blast would definately go back there.

Room Tip: Only stayed in the ensuites, thought they were top of the wazza!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

This hostel Has an incredible locations. If it were a hotel it would be charging hundreds per night for that view.
However it gives the feeling that the staff are riding on this and don't really make the extra effort.
They don't offer a lot of information on arrival and it is more of a place to sleep than somewhere that offers a social experience as many hostels do. They do have an event timetable but it is more of a recommendation list than events lead by the hostel so that guests can meet each other.
Overall the hostel is fine and if you want to be by the beach then it is perfect. But it lacks a good atmosphere that many hostels have which is a shame because the location is so good they would have a lot of people up for events every night around Venice beach and Santa Monica but alas they do not do this and so the great atmosphere of Venice beach is lost.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

I had an amazing time at samesun and would recommend it to anyone. There are so many different things to do and the location is unbeatable. I met so many awesome people during my stay too! Would definitely stay again next time I'm in Venice!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Samesun Venice Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samesun Venice Beach

Address: 25 Windward Ave., Los Angeles, CA 90291
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Venice / Beach Areas , Westside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 52 Specialty Lodging in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Samesun Venice Beach 1.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Samesun Venice Beach is the best place to stay in Los Angeles. Located in beautiful Venice Beach, our hostel is friendly and affordable, perfect for international travelers. Swim, party, and live it up while you’re in LA.Located in the St. Charles Hotel building, the oldest hotel in Venice, Samesun Venice focuses on meeting new people, interacting with other backpackers and lots of fun. Our vibrant atmosphere brings people together from all over the world and you can expect good times and new friends to come out of your experience. Our friendly staff, including many who are travelers themselves, work hard to make sure your stay is as easy and perfect as possible. Our Los Angeles International Hostel’s main idea is to bring people together and introduce them to LA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Samesun Venice Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Venice Beach Cotel Hotel Los Angeles

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Samesun Venice Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.