We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So Bad.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Budget Inn Hollywood

Budget Inn Hollywood
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Budget Inn Hollywood to your Saves list
Budget Inn Hollywood
6830 Sunset Boulevard, Los Angeles, CA 90028   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #283 of 324 Hotels in Los Angeles
2 reviews
“So Bad.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here because we wanted to get a good sense of how Hollywood is, since we might be moving to LA.

The Location of this place is great. It's one block from EVERYTHING, but the room is atrocious.

There are stains on everything. I couldn't believe that there was toothpaste stains on the wall. The cover blanket had stains that make you wonder, and the furniture looks like it's been here since the 60's with it's first stains still on it.

Only thing that was clean, thank God, was the bathroom. We still bought disinfectant from the rite-aid up the street though.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    4
    14
    7
    32
See reviews for
4
17
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Poznan, Poland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

It's looks like typical poor quality typical american motel. The room is quite dirty, the bathroom is literaly claustrophobic (I have 182 cm, and it was problem for me to sit on the toilet because the wall was something like 15-20 cm form the toilet ;) ), the view from the window was on ... the wall(very dark all the time, you must use lamps even at day). Only good things were: cheap price, nice location- Sunset BLVD, free cable TV. All in all I must say this hotel is very poor.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

This is a cheap motel in every sense of the word. If you want to save money, are looking for a prime Hollywood location, and aren't picky about amenities, this is a good choice. I found the management to be very friendly and accommodating. However, it is very spartan, and the location on Sunset Blvd. means it can be noisy (doesn't bother me). The bed was actually better than all other cheap motels I've stayed at, the room was clean, and the lights worked (unlike most mid- and upper-mid range hotels. Only about a block from the Hollywood Walk of Fame and Kodak Theater. Lots of food choices in the area, including several 24 hour ones. Not lodging for pampered travelers, though.

Room Tip: If you have any problem with noise, don't stay in the room first-floor room by the office. Manag...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cesena, Italy
Top Contributor
716 reviews 716 reviews
146 hotel reviews
Reviews in 240 cities Reviews in 240 cities
1,562 helpful votes 1,562 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

We spent only two nights here but we found this hotel very old and above all very dirty but on the other side we have to admit that it's very central, right on Sunset Boulevard. so, to sum up: if u search a cheap place in the center this motel is ok otherwise move a bit far from the city center.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

The location is excellent, however I can't say anything else positive about this hotel. We stayed for two nights, just because of the price (but if it was up to me, we would have paid more and stayed somewhere else). There were blood stains on the sheets, the place was generally really dirty and in the morning we were freezing because there was no insulation around the air conditioning unit! When we finally checked out, we left our luggage behind the check in desk for an hour. When we got back, my friend asked if she could use the bathroom, the man behind the desk said no! Very hospitable indeed.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Thinking of saving some money for our last 2 nights, i booked this place, without checking the reviews. More fool me! We arrived and our hearts sank, when we checked into the room, we were depressed. Truly awful. I don't need to re-iterate the other comments. Everything about it is dirt-cheap. It could have ruined the end of our holiday, but we decied to do the one night, sod the expense and go to Santa Monica(Days Inn) which, comparatively speaking, was luxury. The only plus, was the location to Grauman's etc.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gdansk, Poland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

The location of this motel is awesome, it's a few steps from the Hollywood Blvd. Yet the area is pretty shady and in the evening and at night you can mostly hear police car sirens. I wouldn't go for a stroll after 9 pm. It also felt kinda unsafe that the whole place was open and you could just walk into the corridor straight from the street. I wasn't expecting anything more than a very basic room, so I was ok. No bedbugs for me, luckily. The bed was alright, the shower was alright. When you need to crash for a night in a centrally located place in Hollywood, it's fine. Otherwise you'd need to pay a lot more in this place. Don't expect too much and you'll be fine.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Budget Inn Hollywood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Budget Inn Hollywood

Address: 6830 Sunset Boulevard, Los Angeles, CA 90028
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #283 of 324 Hotels in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Budget Inn Hollywood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Budget Inn Hollywood Hotel Los Angeles

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Budget Inn Hollywood, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.