We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For the frugal, not the picky” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Budget Inn Hollywood

Save Saved
You added Budget Inn Hollywood to your Saves list
Budget Inn Hollywood
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Budget Inn Hollywood
6830 Sunset Boulevard, Los Angeles, CA 90028   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #282 of 323 Hotels in Los Angeles
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“For the frugal, not the picky”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

This is a cheap motel in every sense of the word. If you want to save money, are looking for a prime Hollywood location, and aren't picky about amenities, this is a good choice. I found the management to be very friendly and accommodating. However, it is very spartan, and the location on Sunset Blvd. means it can be noisy (doesn't bother me). The bed was actually better than all other cheap motels I've stayed at, the room was clean, and the lights worked (unlike most mid- and upper-mid range hotels. Only about a block from the Hollywood Walk of Fame and Kodak Theater. Lots of food choices in the area, including several 24 hour ones. Not lodging for pampered travelers, though.

Room Tip: If you have any problem with noise, don't stay in the room first-floor room by the office. Manag...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    4
    14
    7
    28
See reviews for
4
16
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
Top Contributor
641 reviews 641 reviews
130 hotel reviews
Reviews in 208 cities Reviews in 208 cities
1,423 helpful votes 1,423 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

We spent only two nights here but we found this hotel very old and above all very dirty but on the other side we have to admit that it's very central, right on Sunset Boulevard. so, to sum up: if u search a cheap place in the center this motel is ok otherwise move a bit far from the city center.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

The location is excellent, however I can't say anything else positive about this hotel. We stayed for two nights, just because of the price (but if it was up to me, we would have paid more and stayed somewhere else). There were blood stains on the sheets, the place was generally really dirty and in the morning we were freezing because there was no insulation around the air conditioning unit! When we finally checked out, we left our luggage behind the check in desk for an hour. When we got back, my friend asked if she could use the bathroom, the man behind the desk said no! Very hospitable indeed.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Thinking of saving some money for our last 2 nights, i booked this place, without checking the reviews. More fool me! We arrived and our hearts sank, when we checked into the room, we were depressed. Truly awful. I don't need to re-iterate the other comments. Everything about it is dirt-cheap. It could have ruined the end of our holiday, but we decied to do the one night, sod the expense and go to Santa Monica(Days Inn) which, comparatively speaking, was luxury. The only plus, was the location to Grauman's etc.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gdansk, Poland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

The location of this motel is awesome, it's a few steps from the Hollywood Blvd. Yet the area is pretty shady and in the evening and at night you can mostly hear police car sirens. I wouldn't go for a stroll after 9 pm. It also felt kinda unsafe that the whole place was open and you could just walk into the corridor straight from the street. I wasn't expecting anything more than a very basic room, so I was ok. No bedbugs for me, luckily. The bed was alright, the shower was alright. When you need to crash for a night in a centrally located place in Hollywood, it's fine. Otherwise you'd need to pay a lot more in this place. Don't expect too much and you'll be fine.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012 via mobile

The beds are uncomfortable, the tv struggle consists in inserting a pencil in a hole to switch chanels or volume, the furnitures are broken, small rooms, the a/c blows hot air and is very noisy, waaay overpriced for what it is!!!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012 via mobile

We had gone to Universal Studios for the day and were looking for a cheap place to stay afterwards...wrong place!! The room smelled like a cigar lounge, the sheets had stains which looked like a combination of mold and blood, and the we had to share the room with a few creepy crawler friends. We ended up leaving after an hour of itchiness and being afraid for our lives! This is a motel I would expect to encounter Norman Bates in (knife and all!). If you are looking to experience Hollywood I would suggest bringing a cardboard box and camping out on the street, you will definitely be better off - not to mention safer!!!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Budget Inn Hollywood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Budget Inn Hollywood

Address: 6830 Sunset Boulevard, Los Angeles, CA 90028
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #282 of 323 Hotels in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Budget Inn Hollywood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Budget Inn Hollywood Hotel Los Angeles

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Budget Inn Hollywood, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.