We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Views!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Griffith Observatory

Griffith Observatory
2800 E. Observatory Rd., Los Angeles, CA 90027
213-473-0800
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 382 attractions in Los Angeles
Type: Observatories/ Planetariums, Observation Decks/ Towers
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: A public observatory owned and operated by the City of Los Angeles for the benefit of all. Located in on Mount Hollywood in Griffith Park, the Observatory offers a planetarium, exhibits, public telescopes, cafe, bookstore, and the best views of the Los Angeles basin. Admission and parking are free, and visitors may drive directly to the Observatory and park in its lots and roads.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Amazing Views!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

This should be a must visit on everyones list! You get amazing views of LA and the Hollywood sign. It's also great if you love hiking as they have many trails.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,546 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,302
    1,076
    147
    15
    6
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“A visit at the Griffith Observatory is a must!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

The Griffith Observatory is a very nice place. The building itself is worth a visit if you are in LA: that white dome that stands out against the blue sky is breathtaking. Inside the Observatory there are many interesting sections (like a reproduction of the Focalut's pendulum); outside you can enjoy a wonderful view of LA. From up there you can really understand how huge and spread is this megalopolis!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kailua, Hawaii
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Griffith Observatory, Best Deal in LA”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

If you are going to LA area don't miss an opportunity to stop in at the Griffith Observatory. Even if you are not in to the celestial the architecture and amazing views of Los Angeles including the Hollywood sign are worth the trip alone. The entry is free with the exception of the planetarium shows which are amazing and an excellent value at $3-$7 per person, depending on your age. The actual museum has interactive displays and something for everyone. It is a Class A attraction on my list!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
41 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Breathtaking views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

The views are simply breathtaking and , of course, this is a wonderful place to photograph the Hollywood sign! Unfortunately we visited on a day when the observatory was closed, which was disappointing for my astronomer husband! so do check opening times if you wish to go inside and to the planatarium. This building has been used in so many films that you will instantly recognise it; it is a lovely building from the outside and very well worth a visit.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
51 attraction reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Awesome views!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Like most people, we decided to visit the observatory on our first day in order to get an idea of the dimensions of LA. We are photography lovers, so I probably do not need to tell you how overwhelmed we were by the panoramic views! And we loved being so close to the Hollywood sign! We saw some of the exhibitions - entrance was free! - and my husband was very excited about everything astrology. We would certainly recommend this attraction!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Griffith Observatory also viewed

 

Been to Griffith Observatory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Griffith Observatory, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Griffith Observatory to your Saves list