We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow so this is LA” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Griffith Observatory

Griffith Observatory
2800 E. Observatory Rd., Los Angeles, CA 90027
213-473-0800
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Griffith Observatory like an insider
Top Rated
$52*
and up
Hollywood Hills Hiking Tour in Los Angeles
Ranked #2 of 704 things to do in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: A public observatory owned and operated by the City of Los Angeles for the benefit of all. Located in on Mount Hollywood in Griffith Park, the Observatory offers a planetarium, exhibits, public telescopes, cafe, bookstore, and the best views of the Los Angeles basin. Admission and parking are free, and visitors may drive directly to the Observatory and park in its lots and roads.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Wow so this is LA”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Plain and simple an amazing view of city and do you know who this was named after? Just a spot that you have to be able to say you had the chance to visit and saw what Los Angles looks like from above the city

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,479 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,540
    1,665
    239
    24
    11
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Glad we went here!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

My son and I were visiting for a week. We like the observatory so much the first time we came back again that evening. Its a very short but scenic drive to the top of the mountain. The view of Los Angeles were spectacular. You can get great pictures of the famous Hollywood sign form here. I recommend going here as it doesn't cost a penny!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“great spot for must-photographs of Los Angeles”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

The observatory and science center themselves are great and there are some very informative exhibits. You get to see a real Foucault pendulum inside.

But the real beauty is outside, from the Griffith Observatory you get a splendid view of the city of lights (Los Angeles), if you're there on a clear night of course.

You can also enter one of the adjacent venues and peek into a telescope. The planetarium is also very cool. This review covers a number of aspect about the Griffith Observatory because I've been there several times since 2006, even though the review is recent.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“High on a Hill”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

The Observatory is perched on a hill in Griffith Park and has a great view of Hollywood and downtown. They have recently upgraded the Observatory and it is a really nice place to spend a few hours, particularly with youngsters old enough too appreciate the science.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Beautiful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

The grounds were beautiful. I wasn't able to go inside because i didn't have the time. If you can spare 30mins-1hr then it's worth the drive just to see the beautiful sunset.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Griffith Observatory also viewed

 

Been to Griffith Observatory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Griffith Observatory, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.