We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Venice Suites is wonderful!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Venice Suites

Save Saved
You added Venice Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Venice Suites
2.0 of 5 Specialty Hotel   |   417 Ocean Front Walk, Los Angeles, CA 90291 (Venice / Beach Areas)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Shrewsbury, Massachusetts
1 review
“Venice Suites is wonderful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

Venice Suites is a wonderful place to enjoy the beach and the nearby attractions! The location on Venice Beach is awesome with the beach at your doorstep. Our family found the area to provide many family fun activities. One son continued his workouts at Gold's Gym which was a short walk from Venice Suites while other family members were constant beach lovers. The location of our hotel was also within walking distance to Santa Monica and its wonderful shops, restaurants, and the Pier.
Our beautiful suite slept four and provided us with the amenities of home. It was very clean, well-organized, and the beds were very comfortable. What a great view from our living area and the roof top was something special for relaxing, grilling, or sunbathing. The manager, Randy was always ready to help us enjoy our stay. He took care of the property as if he was the owner. Randy is a real gentleman with a warm and friendly personality who was prompt, courteous and who knows how to deal with people on vacation. I would highly recommend Venice Suites as it a great place for relaxation and fun with your family.

Room Tip: Ocean view!!!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    68
    29
    3
    3
    3
See reviews for
18
38
23
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for 4 nights recently in a one bedroom apartment. The manager was very easy to deal with, always responded quickly to any emails etc when we were arranging our trip. We had a suite at the back of the building on the 2nd floor which was very noisy and I would certainly recommend staying on higher floors and not at the back.
The terrace on the roof was a great place to sit and watch the world go by.
The rooms were clean and there were ample towels and enough linen for everyone. The bed was comfortable but once we had the sofa bed made up in the lounge there wasn't a great deal of room for the 3 of us.
We were able to access the bus easily to explore Santa Monica as well Venice Beach.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queenstown, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

From the very start, Randy the manager made our trip easy and was super-welcoming. I was travelling with a broken leg and Randy did well with getting me and my partner booked in, lots of communication and reassurance, and generally just made sure that our stay was relaxing and enjoyable.

The location is great - right on the beach and just a short walk (without a fractured femur!) for interesting stalls, shops and excellent food.

The room was decent-sized - plenty of space for a 3-night stay - and from a disability point of view, easy to get around. There was also a lift up to the 4th floor where our suite was. The room was furnished decently though the bed was a little concave!

The roof terrace was fantastic (no lift, so two flights of stairs to negotiate on my butt!) but worth the effort. Relaxing and with superb view over the ocean and up and down the beach. Always things going on on the boardwalk to watch.

My partner had a couple of trips out and said it was easily walkable going north up to shops etc.

There was cable TV and wifi (important when you can't walk...) which was a good speed and accessible from the roof terrace too.

There was a little noise from the street but mainly from the LAPD choppers overhead which were fairly busy throughout our stay!!! Not much the hotel can do about that, though!

Overall we'd definitely recommend the place and would stay here again. Thanks Randy!

Room Tip: 4th floor is high enough (away from any street noise) and shorter trip to the roof terrace. Beach vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

Been to l.a. Many times but never stayed in venic e. staying at Venice suites made all the difference! Mgr was friendly and helpful. Room was clean and spacious. Best of all was being able to step out the door all the great things that Venice has to offer! Walked to Abbott Kinney, main street, canals,etc. such a rich experience! At times the room can get noisy because of people sounds and open windows. But that's part of living in Venice. Loved the hotel. Loved venice

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

We have stayed at other places on Venice Beach (3 other locations), but always wanted to stay at Venice Suites. Just something about the building and its location seemed to fit for us. This year we booked a room for 4 days at Venice Suites and we were not disappointed. It was wonderful! We stayed in a studio on the 4th floor and were exceptionally happy with our choice. The room was clean, beautifully decorated, spacious, and we were lulled to sleep by sounds of the ocean. The deck on the roof top was also fabulous. When we were not on the beach, which is literally 5 steps from Venice Suites, we spent time on the deck; it has an unbeatable view. The roof top accommodations, e.g., the furniture and loungers, made spending time there just plain awesome. We also found Venice Suites to be centrally located on the boardwalk so that we could easily walk to the Sidewalk Cafe for lunch, to Whole Foods to grab snacks and wine, or to the Library Alehouse for some great craft beers, but probably the biggest draw for us was that we were on the beach in seconds. It was beautiful. We are already planning our next trip to Venice and there is no question that we will stay at Venice Suites.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sergeant Bluff, Iowa, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

Just stayed 5 nights at Venice Suites. Had an ocean view and it was great. Apartment was very functional, everything included. Terrace was great whether for morning coffee or late night wine. We were a little worried about noise before we arrived. Not an issue. Loved it. Would return in a minute. Beach right outside your door!!!! Randy was very helpful, answered all our questions. Nice to have a local right there regardless of where you travel.

Room Tip: If you can definitely an ocean view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012

My boyfriend and I have recently stayed at the Venice Suites and the location couldn't have been any better. If you know anything about Venice Beach, you'll know it's all about walking the boardwalk, hearing and seeing the action and this property is right in it, right out the front door!
Rooms are charming, and come with comfortable kitchen space, but no oven. The roof top has a great BBQ and cooking outside is great....avoids smelly rooms!
The property manager was very accommodating and helpful with all my needs.
Be sure and get a room on 3rd floor or up if you want good outdoor lighting. Floors below have less. If you are a light sleeper and noises keep you awake, you may think twice. Lots of outside activity, hardwood floors, dishwashers, and a constant running refrigerator right in same sleeping space.
Overall, we loved it!

Room Tip: If outside lighting is important, 3rd or 4th floor is a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Venice Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Venice Suites

Address: 417 Ocean Front Walk, Los Angeles, CA 90291
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Venice / Beach Areas , Westside
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 56 Specialty lodging in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Venice Suites 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Live like a local while staying on the beach! You can experience the action and excitement of Venice Beach and then come home to your own private apartment. Venice Suites isn't a hotel; it's like borrowing a friend's place at the beach. Staying at Venice Suites is like having your own vacation home in a one-of-a-kind beach community. You're just steps from a 25-mile bike and skate path, Muscle Beach, local artists and musicians -- everything that Venice Beach has to offer is right outside your front door! This beautifully-appointed, furnished apartment is in a fully-restored classic Venice Beach building located right on the world-famous Venice Boardwalk. Make yourself comfortable -- relax with a movie on the couch, a hot bath or BBQ dinner on the rooftop deck -- where the ocean and sunset views are incomparable! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Venere, Priceline, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Venice Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Venice Hotel Los Angeles

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Venice Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.