We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dresden B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Los Angeles
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Dresden B&B
Save Saved
You added Dresden B&B to your Saves list
1623 North Sierra Bonita, Los Angeles, CA 90046 (Central L.A)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 80 Los Angeles B&B and Inns
Wellington, Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Home away from home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

My boyfriend and I were planning our week long stay in Hollywood and were both desperate to avoid disgusting dirty hotels, but with our price range it looked like we were destined to be sleeping wrapped in rubbish bags on top of some gross bed. But I found Dresden's and just HAD to stay there. I couldn't believe all the excellent reviews, and thought that she couldn't possibly be that great, but she was! Dresden made us both feel completely at home, and was helpful, chatty and friendly, without being invasive. By the end of the trip we were lounging by her pool, instead of at the beach, and on our last night in Hollywood the three of us went out for a lovely dinner on Sunset Boulevard. It has been 5 months since our stay but I found myself thinking of her lovely home and ridiculous laugh and realised I had to write a review, as a last way of saying thank you. Dresen helped to make Hollywood our favourite place in California!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    17
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
6
66
21
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Highly recommend Dresden's B&B. Not only the place itself is so well located and in a beautiful quite street and yet so close to everything!
Dresden is an awesome host!! She looks after her guests really well and goes out of her way to assist in any possible way she can. She takes a personable interest in her guests and makes them feel at home. I felt I was coming home every night I stayed at Dresden's B&B after a full day out in LA!
Great service! Great Host!! It should be ranked the number 1 B&B in LA!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012 via mobile

We stayed for 2 days to visit Los Angeles: great location,5 minutes to the Walk of fame and Dresden is great!she was very helpful with a lot of good advices and always smiling!there's also free parking in front of the house and a market not so far. We hope that we can come back soon!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

We are Australians aged in our fifties who recently stayed for two nights in this home in a quiet street in central Hollywood. The house's owner, Dresden, is an interesting and energetic person who knows the local area well. She is very willing to provide information, advice and her company to people staying with her. Our bedroom was clean, homely and very comfortable, as is the rest of the house, but to a relaxed, normal, lived-in home standard rather than a perfect hotel standard. Only minor disadvantages are that there is only one bathroom containing the one toilet for up to five adults to share (there are two guest bedrooms) and breakfast is not provided, just coffee and tea. The price of $90 per night was reasonable. We enjoyed our stay here.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beau12, Owner at Dresden B&B, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
i always appreciate when people take time from there busy schedule to write a review - i usually don't write a response but this one had wrong information and in one area not complete

i don't know why he thought there was only one bathroom in the house but there are two - i started out renting just one room but i now have regular guests that come so i have started on a limited basis to rent a second room - i fine it interesting my regular's enjoy meeting the new guests - if i have a short booking like "two days" and i have a request for a longer booking like "two weeks" i will put them in the second room - i know some b&b will just cancel the shorter booking and to take the longer one - i never do that, once i put you on the book i will keep your reservation

the main bathroom is in between the two bedrooms - that is all there is on that side of the house - the bathroom has a sink, toilet, bathtub, and shower - on the other side i have my bedroom and bathroom - if I'm up a guest is always welcome to use my toilet if the main bathroom is in use, that doesn't bother me at all and rarely happens - i ask anyone styling there hair to do in the bedroom there are mirrors, that way the main bathroom isn't tied up

because i live here i check the cleanness of the main bathroom ever day, i feel if your going to share it, it is my job to make sure it is clean and ever other day in the afternoon when most guests are out i get in the shower and really clean it and take a shower at the same time

when i first started i did a continental breakfast may people have allergies or don't eat sweets in the morning so i stopped - what my guest neglected to put in his review is you can have space in the refrigerator and use of the microwave and stove top, dishes or anything in the kitchen - there are two grocery stores within about 6 blocks of the house - also at the end of the street is one of la "in spots" as far as restaurants go - i eat there myself and the guest that did the review instead of bringing food in had breakfast and dinner for all there meals they liked it so much (as a matter of fact i ran into there one morning)

if your looking for a fancy b&b that is like a fancy hotel, like the Ritz or four season, you will not fine it here - there are more stylist bb in la and they are priced accordingly - Dresden's is like staying at a friends house that is glad to see you and wants you to have a wonderful vacation - it is so expensive to travel today that i wouldn't any one to be disappointed with there trip and if i can in any way help make your vacation better i will try
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Recife, PE
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

The house is very comfortable and is well located. The Dresden lady was very kind and helped us a lot in our journey through LA! I recommend to all those who choose to change the formality of a hotel by the family environment of a B & B.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

We arrived at Dresden's place after a more than 16 hour longhaul flight and stayed for two nights. It was a great place to relax and to explore Hollywood as it is within walking distance. We enjoyed Dresden's hospitality very much. Our room was very nice, clean and quiet, thus, we slept very well. We went for breakfast to two top spots which were recommended by Dresden and which were also within walking distance. Both recommendations by Dresden turned out to be real insider spots and were worth for having a great American breakfast.
Thus, to put it in a nutshell: Dresden's BnB is highly recommendable!

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

This was the first time I stayed at a B&B and the decision to say here was made by other reviews. Dresden B&B is a great place to stay. Dresden is a very warm and welcoming host who is always willing to help. The pool was a welcome relief from the L.A heat. Beau is such a great dog, he was always happy to see us whenever we returned to the house. The B&B is in a great location, walking distance to Hollywood Boulevard, Sunset Boulevard and other famous L.A landmarks and public transport is easily assessable.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dresden B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dresden B&B

Address: 1623 North Sierra Bonita, Los Angeles, CA 90046
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Central L.A , Hollywood
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 80 B&Bs / Inns in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 1

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dresden B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.